• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

RDFL Thread 2010 (Part 2)

Are you talking about 35 from kilmore the goose running round sniping blokes all day after theyd kicked it, got his right whack to which was good, take the win and be humble you squeezer

Bit rich seeing as u pick out one player whos a kid just backing his teammates in whilst the crap started to go on in the last quarter...was definately a solid performance by the boys but i saw what happened and while at times the bluers retaliated it was just that, the hawks got undiciplined and across the ground tried starting spotfires...and from reports on the wallan game a few weeks ago sounds like this isn t an uncommon thing from the hawks when they are down and getting a hiding.

not rich at all mate seeing as though he was running round like a hero sniping blokes, sniped atleast 4 times in the last qtr when you blokes where up convincingly, whether he is a kid or not he got what he deserved for throwing cheap ones in and under the packs and behind play and the woodsy boys were only flying the flag for their mates, dont know about becoming undicipline when where getting beaten either, especially against wallan, only spot fire that day was between the wallan coach and the town drunk,

I totally agree, the umpires did do a good job. They only paid the obvious free kicks & let the game flow. As it should be. :thumbsu:

I did not see the touchy feely incidents you speak of. But if they did in fact occure, I agree they should not have. It is totally inappropriate. Perhaps the club or player in question should make a complaint to the league so action can be taken to modify the umpire in questions umpiring technique ?

Our umpires did a great job yesterday too omni, and yes semmo was one of them. Only paid the obvious frees, and let the game flow. Cant ask for more than that:thumbsu:
Are u still keeping a lid on things down at bomberland pal? How much do u think your team would win the BFL grand final by????;)

Our umpires did a great job yesterday too omni, and yes semmo was one of them. Only paid the obvious frees, and let the game flow. Cant ask for more than that:thumbsu:
Are u still keeping a lid on things down at bomberland pal? How much do u think your team would win the BFL grand final by????;)

Ha Ha Ha, God your unreal pal.....Look... Officially, yes Riddell are playing some very very good footy. But at this point rather spruik the virtues of the Bombers I'd like to focus on Rockbank. -
To all those from the Rams that thought yesterday was just another usual Rockbank defeat, let me say this. I think Riddell are playing better footy than they did in their all conquering year of 2008 !(and I will elaborate on that when I have more time, so stay tuned) You were always going to be up against it, when a side is playing that well. And if it continues a few other sides in the Comp' are in for that sort of that treatment too. For what its worth I think Rockbank has significantly improved. Make no mistake they get plenty of the ball, but turn it over all to often with basic skill errors.
But what did really impress me about the Rockbank FNC was how the club as a collective is conducting itself. Yesterday all the senior players, in their Ram colors (great new strip too) went in and supported the netball girls.... Just fantastic !
On field, Rockbank have a red hot crack. And it is with great discipline that they do this. Even yesterday, when they were being belted, there was no cheap shots or sniping, they played the game out right till the end. A lot of credit has to go to Lee Spry & Adam Brooker & the coaching staff & committee down there. You are definitely on the right track there fellas, keep up the great work, & the results are there for all to see. :thumbsu:

Oh & the umpiring at Riddell yesterday was first rate. We really are spoilt at the moment with the way the men in control are going about their business !

Now, I was just passing on what I was told from my reliable source, hey IMS?! :eek::D

Meh... I only pass on the rough heat of the moment scores I get from around the grounds, the margins are of little consequence.. As long as they are around the mark :p

PS. One of the wrong scores I got was straight from you!!! :p

Got to see a fantastic game of football at Boardman Reserve on Saturday as the traditional Calder rivals battled it out.
The Burra were clearly undermanned in the contest, missing Cole Laurie, John Ryan and Daniel Poynton, as well as losing both Steve Ruane and Daniel McCabe before half time. The first quarter saw the Kangaroos jump to an early lead with Leigh McInerney and Darragh McGovern dominating around the clearances, the Roos were putting great pressure on the Burra backline, repeatedly putting the ball deep inside forward 50 where Chris Meacham and Jamie Cuffe looked very dangerous, while Adam Fenton had a couple of very important early touches which resulted in goals. The intensity and speed of the game were right up there as the quarter went on with the ball pinging from one end to the other. Jeff Heritage was the most influential Burra on the ground while Shane Marchewka looked dangerous up forward. The second quarter flattened out for the Roos as the Burra got on top, they were clearly out doing the Roos in the intensity stakes and used the ball much better. Troy Wilson was creating all sorts of headaches up forward and kicked 3 for the quarter, while Heritage was racking up possession at will. The Roos were flat and it showed, the Burra keeping them goalless for the quarter and going into half time with a 6 point lead. The Roos bounced back in the third, completely dominating from the first bounce, Leigh Fischendon was suddenly marking everything around the ground and his dominance over Lindsay Black was a telling factor for how the game was travelling. Brenton Sutherland who was looking dangerous in the opening half became unstoppable in the 2nd half, he was in everything taking big marks and providing a key target for the Roos to attack through. Again, Meacham's forward pressure allowed the Roos to create turnovers and they kicked 5.6 to 1.0 for the quarter to take a 4 goal margin into the final term. The Burra were up and about at the start of the final term, kicking the first 2 goals to have themselves right in the game. But again it was Sutherland and Fischendon that came to the fore, the pair taking several towering marks and with Jamie Cuffe floating across the half back line cutting off the Burra's foray's forward, the Kangaroos were able to settle and on the back of a ripping Sutherland goal take control and run out 24 point winners. In the end, it was an impressive but inaccurate win for the Roos, I might cop some negative feedback from some Burra fans, but I thought the Kangaroos genuinely had the best 3 players on the ground in what was a game that they certainly didn't have their own way, while the Burra would certainly not be too unhappy with the result, they really took it up to the Roos while obviously depleted. Both of these sides have a big couple of weeks ahead of them and I will certainly be interested in the Burra's game against Riddell next week.

My votes for the game

3 - Brenton Sutherland (SK)
2 - Leigh Fischendon (SK)
1 - Darragh McGovern (SK)

What I learned from Round 6
  • Woodend/Hesket are out of the finals race. While they have the ability to shape the finals as they are a competitive unit, they aren't good enough to make it.
  • Riddell continue to prove they are the team to beat, with several players out, they demolished the Rams.
  • We are down to 8 sides that can fill finals spots. Riddell, Sunbury, Lancefield, Macedon, Diggers, Romsey, Wallan, Kilmore.
  • Romsey had a big win, but from all reports they still have some work to do, only 3 goals up at 3 qtr time and looked shaky before that.
Performance ladder - Round 6
Riddell
Macedon
Kilmore
Sunbury Kangaroos
Lancefield
Romsey

Wallan
Diggers Rest
Melton Centrals
Woodend/Hesket
Rockbank
Broadford

The poor form from Woodend continued yesterday. An offical from Woodend who was goal umpiring in the under 16's game yesterday got upset with some supporters who was giving advice to the players from behind the goal. The Woodend umpire lost it and started throwing punches at the opposition supporters.

Anyway he picked the wrong person and ended up on his backside. Tip toe into Gisborne!

The poor form from Woodend continued yesterday. An offical from Woodend who was goal umpiring in the under 16's game yesterday got upset with some supporters who was giving advice to the players from behind the goal. The Woodend umpire lost it and started throwing punches at the opposition supporters.

Anyway he picked the wrong person and ended up on his backside. Tip toe into Gisborne!
You get off on violence at Junior footy KA?, tool.

This is a complete and utter joke.. Yes, what the goal umpire did was stupid and shouldn't happen, but what is wrong with the Gissy people, in junior football baiting kids and a volunteer.. Thank god they play senior football in the Bendigo FL.

Bait? The bloke was behind the goal telling the FF when to lead - the umpire told him he could not coach from behind the goals and to shut up. 1) he can tell the player when to lead 2) it is none of the goal umpires business 3) the goal umpire threw the 1st punch.

You want to bring the Gisborne culture up against Woodend? Please they are miles apart. Only 1 team is trying to sweep this under the rug!! Kilmore and Wallen in recent weeks??

Thank god they play senior football in the Bendigo league.

Here he is, MR all things RDFL. WTF would you know about the incident - were you there ?
No one was baiting anyone - the goal umpire was a nuffy and got what he deserved.

Bit ruff you having a crack at Gisborne people - You are from the club formerly known as the Sunbury Rovers

Bait? The bloke was behind the goal telling the FF when to lead - the umpire told him he could not coach from behind the goals and to shut up. 1) he can tell the player when to lead 2) it is none of the goal umpires business 3) the goal umpire threw the 1st punch.

You want to bring the Gisborne culture up against Woodend? Please they are miles apart. Only 1 team is trying to sweep this under the rug!! Kilmore and Wallen in recent weeks??

The goal umpire was spot on... The coach sits in the coaches box.. Not totally sure, but haven't seen any coaches sitting behind the goals in any league recently... Granted, there should never have been a punch thrown, but I am sure the guy behind the goals didn't respond in a "no sir, I will not shut up" kind of way, there would have been the typical Gissy type response in the manner of complete and offensive abuse...

Now go and troll elsewhere pest...

PS. I have spoken to the people in the know at Gissy, they believe you to be a clown and are embarrassed that you link yourself to their club.

Here he is, MR all things RDFL. WTF would you know about the incident - were you there ?
No one was baiting anyone - the goal umpire was a nuffy and got what he deserved.

Bit ruff you having a crack at Gisborne people - You are from the club formerly known as the Sunbury Rovers

Oh here they are, call each other up did we and look for some support..

Happy to have a civilised discussion about football any time.. Unfortunately, it will never take place with you.. KA, sometimes can venture into the realm of actually discussing the game, you sir, unfortunately will never be able to make such a claim..

Now.... Troll, go and do your trolling elsewhere..

Thank you...

The goal umpire was spot on... The coach sits in the coaches box.. Not totally sure, but haven't seen any coaches sitting behind the goals in any league recently... Granted, there should never have been a punch thrown, but I am sure the guy behind the goals didn't respond in a "no sir, I will not shut up" kind of way, there would have been the typical Gissy type response in the manner of complete and offensive abuse...

Now go and troll elsewhere pest...

PS. I have spoken to the people in the know at Gissy, they believe you to be a clown and are embarrassed that you link yourself to their club.

Trolling? I commented on a situation in an RDFL game. The bloke was not a coach and at every game I have been to the people behind the goals give advice - not much is constructive - but there is no rule against it.

Well it looks like we have something in common then with your standing at Sunbury.

The goal umpire was spot on... The coach sits in the coaches box.. Not totally sure, but haven't seen any coaches sitting behind the goals in any league recently...

I go to local junior footy most weeks and hear the crowd yelling at kids what to do all the time. Whether from the wing, the forward line or the car window telling a kid to lead and where to lead isnt a capital offence. I find it amazing that an actual punch on started over yelling advice to kids. I watched abit of the Gisborne V Lions game yesterday and parents going nuts yelling advice.

Show me a local junior game that doesnt have parents yelling and encouraging their kids. Coach sits in the box and supporters surround the ground but doenst mean they arent all yelling the same advice. Cant see why yelling at the kid to lead is such an issue.........unless the bloke involved is the parent of the full back and getting chopped up?

I watched Romsey game Saturday and was surprised to see Romsey had dropped 4? of their Under 18's back from seniors all in the same week. I would have thought a couple would be more challenged playing senior football even though they were getting beaten most weeks.
Romsey won but would have with their juniors anyway. Is this a sign Romsey may have shut up shop for the year and the 18's may have a decent team to play finals as the seniors cant?

Trolling? I commented on a situation in an RDFL game. The bloke was not a coach and at every game I have been to the people behind the goals give advice - not much is constructive - but there is no rule against it.

Well it looks like we have something in common then with your standing at Sunbury.

Yeah its true.. Everyone at Sunbury Kangaroos hates me.. They get on all the time to tell everyone that I have nothing to do with the club..

Oh well, guess I will have to deal with it...

Ps.. It is really cute how you two call each other when you want to start a beat up on a thread.. Kudos..

I watched Romsey game Saturday and was surprised to see Romsey had dropped 4? of their Under 18's back from seniors all in the same week. I would have thought a couple would be more challenged playing senior football even though they were getting beaten most weeks.
Romsey won but would have with their juniors anyway. Is this a sign Romsey may have shut up shop for the year and the 18's may have a decent team to play finals as the seniors cant?

If it was the boys who played interleague there was a request from the Interleague coaching staff that they avoided playing in the senior sides for this week due to playing Wednesday and again Wednesday week, not everyone would have complied with the request, but this may be what Romsey did.

The goal umpire was spot on... The coach sits in the coaches box.. Not totally sure, but haven't seen any coaches sitting behind the goals in any league recently...

I go to local junior footy most weeks and hear the crowd yelling at kids what to do all the time. Whether from the wing, the forward line or the car window telling a kid to lead and where to lead isnt a capital offence. I find it amazing that an actual punch on started over yelling advice to kids. I watched abit of the Gisborne V Lions game yesterday and parents going nuts yelling advice.

Show me a local junior game that doesnt have parents yelling and encouraging their kids. Coach sits in the box and supporters surround the ground but doenst mean they arent all yelling the same advice. Cant see why yelling at the kid to lead is such an issue.........unless the bloke involved is the parent of the full back and getting chopped up?

No problem with people yelling over the fence.. I would suggest that there was more to it than someone just yelling advice... Common sense would also suggest that...

But irrelevant of what happened, as there is an obvious "nuffy" (as KA and BB so elegantly put it) element from both parties, violence at a junior game of football is completely unacceptable.. It becomes an individual tarnishing the name of an entire football club, as has become blatantly obvious in KA's assassination of the culture and behaviour of the Woodend Football Club, that is unfair on the clubs involved, both individuals should be removed from junior football.

If it was the boys who played interleague there was a request from the Interleague coaching staff that they avoided playing in the senior sides for this week due to playing Wednesday and again Wednesday week, not everyone would have complied with the request, but this may be what Romsey did.

Ok. Good point. Didnt know that but makes sense. Was their better players

None of the u/18s from Romsey dropped back. They all played in the same sides as they have the last two weeks. The two boys that played on wen night only played about half a game each in the ones.One of them spent a bit of time on the pine wen night also.

What happened at wallan and with Kilmore in recent weeks??? Can you please elaborate KA??