RDFL Thread 2011 (Part 1)

i was out with one ex lancefield players on the weekend and he gave me his reasons why he left and also his opinion of the club.

he said it never really felt like a close knit club with club functions being poorly attended

also said that there has not been any big drama that has caused the exodus of players

said that he has no problems with the lancefield fc

said that it was bad timing/ coincidence that so many players are leaving at once

said also its 16 of their starting side leaving

he has taken a pay cut by leaving too

Re: 8 teams, 8 comps, 2 grounds, 1 day- melbourne metros best of the best!

I am keen as mustard to see a full strength Riddell FC give the Preseason Comp a shake.

My mail is the standard of the RDFL has risen talent wise over the past 3 or 4 years. I reckon some of the other RDFL players can give some of the individual player competititions a go!

Be great to have many of the RDFL supporters there.
South Barwon, Old Carey and Marby Park may go in as slight favorites.

Any thoughts?

Yes pal, your mail is spot on. But we here already knew how good our comp' is ! We are very fortunate & privileged here in the RDFL to have an extremely strong &
vibrant junior competition, which over the years has seen a deluge of young players, ready & eager to make the step up to the senior ranks. This influx of ready made quality loyal local footballers has meant that the RDFL competition is routinely subjected to a talent inundation the likes of which is the envy of many other so called "Superior" Competitions.
So it is no mystery to us, that our Clubs senior players are all too often targeted ($$$$$$) by other league Clubs in a desperate attempt by them to "recruit" the talent with which they hope will enable them to be a success.

In the end, they all come back ! ............. a little richer too ;)...... & good luck to em. :thumbsu:

Have just moved up the highway and thinking of following the RDFL, what sides are looking good, and who looks like struggling this season, from all reports Riddle Sunbury, and Romesy look the goods.

Dont forget Kilmore, Diggers Rest, Macedon & Wallan.
Looks like a very even comp this year, to early to make predictions but Riddell will be the yard stick once more.

Antonovich from South will be joining Riddell. Formally on the West Coast Eagle's list will dominate if he can get fit. Looks like Riddell may get a few from Melton South.

OK pick up for Riddell, but by all reprts has struggled with knees for 10 years, hope they don't pay him as much as other clubs, dangerous.

In the RDFL he can sit in the goal square and will be very hard to match up on. Darko did it at Woodend and won a flag and his knees were shot.

Scoble has signed and if they get McMahon it would be a great signing. McMahon would tear this comp apart.

I am keen as mustard to see a full strength Riddell FC give the Preseason Comp a shake.

My mail is the standard of the RDFL has risen talent wise over the past 3 or 4 years. I reckon some of the other RDFL players can give some of the individual player competititions a go!

Be great to have many of the RDFL supporters there.
South Barwon, Old Carey and Marby Park may go in as slight favorites.

Any thoughts?

C'mon it would of needed to improve by 20 goals to be competitive, Sth.Barwon, Marby Park at fullstrength would destroy most sides espeially Riddell, 1 hope the shortened format and sides not at full strength

In the RDFL he can sit in the goal square and will be very hard to match up on. Darko did it at Woodend and won a flag and his knees were shot.

Scoble has signed and if they get McMahon it would be a great signing. McMahon would tear this comp apart.

McMahon will be good, but tough to have him and tonna and whoever else they had before close to goals, Scoble will be handy, pick up a lot of the footy, coz he'll be fitter than most

Which highway tiwis? If it's up the Hume continue thru to Seymour much better footy, if it's up the Northern Highway get thru to Heathcote, if it's up the Calder vear off to Sunbury or Riddell/Romsey coz from all reports she's a three horse race already :thumbsu:

The Burra still going along nicely under the radar, believe that a former midfielder might be returning to Diggers Rest that will provide some extra depth and some grunt..

Name??.. And when does Registrations start , to see what rumours are true and what were far fetched...

1st Feb...

As for names, all will know soon enough I suppose...

1st Feb...

As for names, all will know soon enough I suppose...

Sounds like youll be fairly busy this year ims if rumours are true. Life member at the Kangas, Assistant coach at melton sth, Going to Romsey with pedo and now protecting diggers secret recruits:D

On a serious note i was reading the Ballarat thread and the talk was the Melton sth were struggling and should have gone to a MUCH WEAKER COMP in the rdfl..... What are peoples thoughts on that? I know the bfl is a stronger competition than the rdfl, but is it that much difference between the two comps? I know the rdfl clubs would get mauled by the top few sides, but how does everyone think sides like Riddell etc. would go against the middle order sides in the bfl. I think Riddell, Sunbury et. would beat both melton sides and quite a few others:confused::confused::confused:

Sounds like youll be fairly busy this year ims if rumours are true. Life member at the Kangas, Assistant coach at melton sth, Going to Romsey with pedo and now protecting diggers secret recruits:D

On a serious note i was reading the Ballarat thread and the talk was the Melton sth were struggling and should have gone to a MUCH WEAKER COMP in the rdfl..... What are peoples thoughts on that? I know the bfl is a stronger competition than the rdfl, but is it that much difference between the two comps? I know the rdfl clubs would get mauled by the top few sides, but how does everyone think sides like Riddell etc. would go against the middle order sides in the bfl. I think Riddell, Sunbury et. would beat both melton sides and quite a few others:confused::confused::confused:

Going on finals in the BFL last year, the top sides are quite away from the RDFL sides but bigger budgets will do that for you... The sides that sit outside the top say 4 sides, would be lucky to be ahead of the top RDFL sides...

Ps. Don't forget I am going to help out at Coburg Districts and possibly 2 or 3 other places too :p

What have you got against Tonna Pathfinder? I believe the tempo of the Riddell league will suit him down to the ground , if he decides to play this year.

I think you tried to recruit him in a past life if I'm not mistaken!!!

Kings you must have been talking to our little mate freckle , tufty , Scobes with all these old names getting thrown into the mix highly doubt Rob will go down to Riddell but stranger thigs have happened.

How was the form on the golf course at Torquay golf day heard the handicap was a bit dodgy you trophy hunter!!!

What have you got against Tonna Pathfinder? I believe the tempo of the Riddell league will suit him down to the ground , if he decides to play this year.

I think you tried to recruit him in a past life if I'm not mistaken!!!

They have just signed big Woodsey at Modda so they don't need Tonna.

You saw some BFL games this year and have played in it as well. What is your thoughts on how Riddell would go in the BFL - finals last year? Melton South V Riddell teams in 2010 - prediction?

Will be interesting to have a chat to Scoble at years end and see what the difference between the 2 leagues are.

You saw some BFL games this year and have played in it as well. What is your thoughts on how Riddell would go in the BFL - finals last year? Melton South V Riddell teams in 2010 - prediction?

Will be interesting to have a chat to Scoble at years end and see what the difference between the 2 leagues are.
Melton Bloods V Romsey should be an interesting Praccy match.

Kings you must have been talking to our little mate freckle , tufty , Scobes with all these old names getting thrown into the mix highly doubt Rob will go down to Riddell but stranger thigs have happened.

How was the form on the golf course at Torquay golf day heard the handicap was a bit dodgy you trophy hunter!!!

The Melton South boys were very generous with the handicaps. It took Power and myself to get Scoble to win his first trophy ever. Best day of his life.

The difference is the pace . I have no doubt that riddell would of beaten the 2 Melton sides last year!

Who will be the standout ruckman in the RDFL this season then ?