RDFL Thread 2011 (Part 2)

Debate between standards of leagues is harmless but really not of great consequence. Both leagues no doubt have defined attributes and negatives. However, comparing RDFL sides with a side like Golden Square is ridiculous, any informed follower would agree. Mooted as the strongest outfit goin around country vic (5 representatives in division1 VCFL SIDE, G.Weeks, S.Rosa, J.Bristow, N.Bell aand Jack Geary. Stars on every line, slick and fit. Not trying to offend but severly doubt that few (if any) from 2011 RDFL would get a game at square. And if they could, look out theyve probably already spoken to them, going forward.

Touche' !

Saw those boys regularly first hand with the Bombers. it would seem they NOW know how to win !........ & aint going back !

Lets just watch the draft over the next 2 years and see how many RDFL boys get drafted. If good enough for AFL surely they would get games in any Metro or VCFL clubs. Before you jump BB not counting Gissy and Sunbury Lions boys. I think no one here will try to compare GS with RDFL clubs as you say they are one if not the strongest clubs in Vic at the moment. This all started with Kyneton, so compare them with the RDFL clubs and not bring in RDFL Vs BFL. We all know the depth of players at most BFL clubs runs deeper than RDFL clubs end of story.

Once again, this isn't an argument about the best or worst player, it's about the sides as a whole. That argument doesn't stack up.. So turn it up (seems to be the thing to say)

Boys,Boys,Boys Im a massive fan of the RDFL but PLEASE PLEASE let me tell you I love the Redbacks and the Kangas and am still tipping Riddell to win it but these 3 sides wouldnt get anywhere near the likes of Eaglehawk,Gisborne,Sth Bendigo or even Strathfieldsaye let alone a Golden Square who are regarded by footy experts as the BEST SIDE IN COUNTRY VIC!! Is the RDFL a good comp? Absolutely! But its a looooooonnnngggggg way off being in the same class as the BFL and having coached in both leagues in the past 3 seasons i reckon i qualify to say so. and as far as the Filo comment goes.. yeah it was wrong to use the words he did but he is without doubt one of the best coaches victorian footy has had and his incredible record shows this! Kyneton are on struggle st but coulndt have a better possible person to get them back on track over the next 2 or 3 years.... and trust me they would more than hold there own against the top 5 rdfl sides dont know if they could beat them but would definantly take it up to them!!!!:)

You can't really use Golden Square as an example at the moment as they would probably beat most, if not all, country footy sides going around.

If you compare the second-tier teams of Gisborne, Eaglehawk, South Bendigo and Strathfieldsaye to the upper echelon of the RDFL - Romsey, Riddell and the Sunbury Kangaroos - then the BFL is stronger by a few goals.

The current Gisborne side would probably beat Romsey, although not by a massive margin as some would have you believe.

In the last five years the RDFL has gone from strength to strength, The fact that 10 clubs can still make the finals this season is a good indicator of a good competition.

The RDFL and BFL both have weak clubs in Lancefield and Kyneton, although I would expect and predict both to improve in 2012 and in the years after that.

Originally Posted by Blacky18
Shane Harvey & Saul Caddy have been offered a heap of money from struggling Riddell Football League club Lancefield next season. No idea if they are actually going but they have definately been offered a truck load of cash.. You heard it here first

????????? from NFL.

You can't really use Golden Square as an example at the moment as they would probably beat most, if not all, country footy sides going around.

If you compare the second-tier teams of Gisborne, Eaglehawk, South Bendigo and Strathfieldsaye to the upper echelon of the RDFL - Romsey, Riddell and the Sunbury Kangaroos - then the BFL is stronger by a few goals.

The current Gisborne side would probably beat Romsey, although not by a massive margin as some would have you believe.

In the last five years the RDFL has gone from strength to strength, The fact that 10 clubs can still make the finals this season is a good indicator of a good competition.

The RDFL and BFL both have weak clubs in Lancefield and Kyneton, although I would expect and predict both to improve in 2012 and in the years after that.

Maybe the RDFL interleague side would get within 10 Goals of Gisborne, but saying that Romsey would get within 3 0r 4 goals is rubbish. Matt this isnt directed at you, but the morons who believe the RDFL IS of decent standard. Golden Square would beat Romsey by 40 goals, then i believe Gisborne Eaglehawk Strath would beat them by 100 points. Yes Romsey have 5 or 6 very good players who would play seniors in good BFL sides but the depth is just not there. Hopefully in years to come the strength of the league improves, but quite simply now its just not of high quality!

Utter rubbish.

OMNI'S (new & improved) Final Ladder Prediction.

Version - 5

Romsey...........72
Riddell.............60
Sunbury..........60
Diggers...........52
Macedon.........48
Woodend.........28

Wallan..............28
Melton..............24
Kilmore..............24
Rockbank...........20
Broadford...........16
Lancefield.......................................................................................

Seems to be a gathering of "intelligence" taking place, maybe we could work together to get you all posting on the Bendigo FL board...

It gives them a warm fuzzy feeling thinking they play in a superior competition. ALL on the back of ONE really good side up there. Must do wonders for their collective teams self esteem's getting flogged by them.... Not to mention knowing WHO is gunna win the Premiership at the start of the season ! :confused:

The thing that really never fails to amaze is the fact that any player that comes from our "lower" league seldom fails to make an impact... Not bad for a competition where the top of the ladder side would lose by 100 points to a not bad side..

So you think Rockbank are done for the season pal?? Given up the ghost so to speak?

Look I was really impressed with the Rams when they played at Riddell in Rnd 4, but their form of recent weeks has been patchy. They have to get 3 wins outa the last 4 rounds I reckon, & THAT is gunna be a very tall ask......... But then again I should know more after Saturday I guess. Ask me again on Monday pal I may have a version 6 ! :rolleyes:

The thing that really never fails to amaze is the fact that any player that comes from our "lower" league seldom fails to make an impact... Not bad for a competition where the top of the ladder side would lose by 100 points to a not bad side..

Ahhh people get carried away a little bit when there is a side in their League that is travelling along very well. They have a very very good forward in Weeks who is taking all before him & the coach has obviosly got the side playing some exceptional footy. So what happens ? Every other shit kicker side in the comp', jumps on board for the ride, like as if they are part it. Pityful really ! But the reality of it is, they dont have "special water" up there that makes you super human when you drink it. They dont have a machine up in Bendigo that can turn out Captain America type footballers. What they do have up there is a greater population to gather their players from !............... & Have you ever been up to Bendigo pal ? There really aint a lot of things for the young blokes to do up there apart from,..... well, masticating & ........... you know ???

Here's my two cents worth on the standard of the RDFL compared to the Bendigo Football League.

I know it was only a practice match, but last year Kyneton (finished second last), beat Macedon (one of the better RDFL teams) at the Showgrounds, so that should put things into a bit of perspective.

I'd be confident that last year's Big Four power forwards (Weeks, Maddern, Condos and Gretgrix) would all perform better than the likes of Davidson, Allen and co.

If Golden Square came up against Romsey, I'd expect Romsey to lose by about 15 goals. That's taking nothing away from Romsey, but Golden Square are a phenomenal team, and have been for at least the last three years.

Kyneton would sneak into sixth in the RDFL, despite being winless so far this year. They've got some very good kids like Foreman, Redpath, Page and Ellis who would all be star players if they played for the likes of Romsey and Riddell, and the next rung of young players like Saliba, Romer, Gunter, Boyer and Clancy would all get games for any RDFL side. Then you've obviously got Nathan Thompson too.

OMNI'S (new & improved) Final Ladder Prediction.

Version - 5

Romsey...........72
Riddell.............60
Sunbury..........60
Diggers...........52
Macedon.........48
Woodend.........28

Wallan..............28
Melton..............24
Kilmore..............24
Rockbank...........20
Broadford...........16
Lancefield.......................................................................................
romsey......72
riddell........60
sunbury.....60
diggers......52
macedon....48
wallan........28
kilmore.......28
woodend.....24
melton........24
rockbank.....20
broadford.....16
lancefield..........................................................................................

Originally Posted by Blacky18
Shane Harvey & Saul Caddy have been offered a heap of money from struggling Riddell Football League club Lancefield next season. No idea if they are actually going but they have definately been offered a truck load of cash.. You heard it here first

????????? from NFL.
If Lancefield could sign Caddy & Harvey for next year that would be great for them and great for the RDFL, Caddy is tough and very good, Harvey would feed him up forward all day, they wouldn't come cheap but worth every cent, if this is true then Lancefield would certainly be in the mix next year as they would certainly attract others to come to the club. If the league continues to attract these sought of players, then we will be up with the Bendigo League one day!!

No senior games to be played on a Sunday from here on in so it wont detract anything from the junior finals. Romsey out of luck- Cousins not to play anyway a big furphy !!

Please excuse my ignorance, but why is the RDFL on the Vic Metro thread and not on Vic Country thread you would be geographically in a similar position to Mornington Peninsula FL and they snag a country birth.

Ahhh people get carried away a little bit when there is a side in their League that is travelling along very well. They have a very very good forward in Weeks who is taking all before him & the coach has obviosly got the side playing some exceptional footy. So what happens ? Every other shit kicker side in the comp', jumps on board for the ride, like as if they are part it. Pityful really ! But the reality of it is, they dont have "special water" up there that makes you super human when you drink it. They dont have a machine up in Bendigo that can turn out Captain America type footballers. What they do have up there is a greater population to gather their players from !............... & Have you ever been up to Bendigo pal ? There really aint a lot of things for the young blokes to do up there apart from,..... well, masticating & ........... you know ???

Cut it mate, bottom line is the the top bfl sides would destroy the top
rdfl sides, bfl are div 1 interleague in the vcfl while
Rdfl are at best a tier 3 or 4 metro league, there are blokes running round at the cattery in the 1s that just played 2s at gissie, the step is massive,

If Lancefield could sign Caddy & Harvey for next year that would be great for them and great for the RDFL, Caddy is tough and very good, Harvey would feed him up forward all day, they wouldn't come cheap but worth every cent, if this is true then Lancefield would certainly be in the mix next year as they would certainly attract others to come to the club. If the league continues to attract these sought of players, then we will be up with the Bendigo League one day!!

shane harvey has signed for swan districts about 2 monts ago, caddy will stay at heidelberg for one has a growing plumbing buisness and two why would you bother playing there!!

Cut it mate, bottom line is the the top bfl sides would destroy the top
rdfl sides, bfl are div 1 interleague in the vcfl while
Rdfl are at best a tier 3 or 4 metro league, there are blokes running round at the cattery in the 1s that just played 2s at gissie, the step is massive, ,

I have seen quite a bit of the cats and dogs over past 3 years and i cant think of any players at cats who 'just' played 2s at gissie. i know christensen was on fringe between 1s and 2s but that was when they were at strongest. The best 6 at the cattery would make gissie a better side for sure but the last 6 in each team is where the real difference is.
I have seen romsey twice this year (v cats and v hawks at wood) and gissie twice (v maine and e'hawk on sat) imo the dogs would win....just. The main diff is dogs are a much better drilled unit. Throw cousins into mix tho and i would have to pick redbacks.