RDFL Thread 2011 (Part 2)

What are they for then???, light stands i mean?, and as far as the big Gum goes, every Hawk win is for him, Go hawks
A LIGHT TOWER BLEW DOWN 2 WEEKS AGO TOWERS BEEN UP SINCE 1983.. 2 OUT OF 4 TOWERS HAD CRACKS IN THEM SO WE HAD TO PULL THEM ALL DOWN.. AS PER M. S. C. SO I MADE COUPLE OF CALLS TO A FEW MATES AND COATES HIRE CAME TO THE PARTY:thumbsu: THEY ARE A GREAT CREW THAT MOB, DONATED THE TOWERS FOR THE KIDS AND US FOR TRAINING WE ARE WORKING VERY HARD WITH THE M.S.C. TO ERECT NEW ONES VERY SOON:thumbsu:SO WATCH OUT NEW ROOMS AND NEW LIGHTS STATE OF THE ART VENUE IN 18 MONTHS? WHICH WILL BE GOOD FOR EVERYONE OF OUR SPORTING TOWN GOLF,FOOTY,NETBALL,TENNIS,BOWLS,CRICKET, LITTLE ATHS,AND BASKET BALL, SO BRING IT ON I SAY:) WAS GOOD TO SEE THE BIG GUM TODAY GOOD MAN:thumbsu:

Talking to an old wise man on the weekend about the final 6 and i think he has the answer. There is not much advantage for finishing in the top two other than the winner going into a second semi. I think all agree that 3rd has the best scenario if played out correctly.
The top six he says should play as follows
1 versus 6
2 versus 5
3 versus 4
With the two highest winners to play in a second semi final
and the other winner plays the highest loser in the first semi final.
the advantage going to the top two teams playing the weaker of the final six and also the top team gets the double chance (possible twice) regardles of the results

Any thoughts on this beacuase i think it would actually benefit the higher teams all round. Maybe this scenario is too easy. It doesnt change the leagues finals because they would still host a first week of three finals !!!

Talking to an old wise man on the weekend about the final 6 and i think he has the answer. There is not much advantage for finishing in the top two other than the winner going into a second semi. I think all agree that 3rd has the best scenario if played out correctly.
The top six he says should play as follows
1 versus 6
2 versus 5
3 versus 4
With the two highest winners to play in a second semi final
and the other winner plays the highest loser in the first semi final.
the advantage going to the top two teams playing the weaker of the final six and also the top team gets the double chance (possible twice) regardles of the results

Any thoughts on this beacuase i think it would actually benefit the higher teams all round. Maybe this scenario is too easy. It doesnt change the leagues finals because they would still host a first week of three finals !!!

Cant work, if first and second win the first week, then 3rd and 4th play each other the first two weeks of the finals.

That's correct.

The best way to do it, is by simply awarding 1st and 2nd a week off in the first week of finals, then elimination finals of 3V6 and 4V5.

The two winners of the elimination finals play each other in the following week in the first semi final, on the same weekend that 1st and 2nd play each other in the second semi final.

The winner of the Second Semi advances straight through to the Grand Final, with the loser of the Second Semi taking on the winner of the First Semi in the Preliminary Final. The winner of the Preliminary Final plays the winner of the Second Semi Final in the Grand Final.

The only small problem with this system is that the winner of the Second Semi final will have had byes in the first and third weeks of the finals (although, despite some people's views, I reckon this is an advantage).

That's correct.

The best way to do it, is by simply awarding 1st and 2nd a week off in the first week of finals, then elimination finals of 3V6 and 4V5.

The two winners of the elimination finals play each other in the following week in the first semi final, on the same weekend that 1st and 2nd play each other in the second semi final.

The winner of the Second Semi advances straight through to the Grand Final, with the loser of the Second Semi taking on the winner of the First Semi in the Preliminary Final. The winner of the Preliminary Final plays the winner of the Second Semi Final in the Grand Final.

The only small problem with this system is that the winner of the Second Semi final will have had byes in the first and third weeks of the finals (although, despite some people's views, I reckon this is an advantage).

Just have a final 5 and be done with it:D

Re: RDFL - Round 4

Still waiting on your comments about this one too

6 Woodend Hesket 15 6 9 0 0 0 1053 1309 80.44 24
The Hawks have nailed the "6" wins and a still very much a top 6 chance...
\
So was i pretty close IMS or what? 6 wins but a % of only 76 suggests they were a fair way off the mark this year. But they are on front foot for next year allready and have some jets in 18's ready to step up next year. I have heard some good vibes about next years coaching team. This weeks 18's game v Bombers should be a beauty and i reckon they will cause an upset.
Also wrapt for Cats who have the chance to take redbacks out in straight sets. I said a few weeks ago that redbacks have always been a bit shaky in big finals so it might be closer than everyone thinks this week.

Anyone confirm where this week's finals will be? Kilmore Saturday aint it? What about Sunday?

Keep it to a top six, the extra gate and tender money is handy ;)

anyone confirm where this week's finals will be? Kilmore saturday aint it? What about sunday?

Keep it to a top six, the extra gate and tender money is handy ;)

week 2 sat at kilmore riddell v sunbury,macedon vsunbury , riddell v woodend
sunday at romsey romsey v macedon, riddell v rockbank , sunbury v lancefield

It was great to see the roo boys kick away in the 2nd half Wallan just didn't look like finals quality.They had some good players number 28 played his role well as did cornish just didn't punish the roos enough, The big unit 57 was just a step ladder 4 the big fish all day.In my opinion Hatty and Fishendon were best Joeb played a good game.I also noticed the lack of intrest from the crowd until a fight started,thought i was at the golf.That baker boy can play ive watched him 3 times he's kicked over 20 goals, can kick.

Id love to be able to give a winner for the flag but i havn't seen The bombers or Romsey
but i will say is it the 1st year riddell havn't got bomber besanko that quality finals experiance can't be replaced:D.Also any team getting Leigh grub into it will be hard to beat:D

Macedon won't win it ive seem them once Not that great

Kangaroos i hope win it they have a team full of guns,the biggest test will be keeping all those egos in check and just run and play footy,Clearances wil be crucial id love to be recieving taps from leigh idont think the roos mids realise what they have.The only team to beat em will be themselves

Kanga all the way

Do they still have Half time sprint??

maybe the odds just shorten just a little bit more with 2 home finals now maybe anyway good odds across the board x box x

Not a bad reward for Romsey losing the Qualifying Final, a home final, followed by another home final (assuming the get up against Macedon).

Macedon's recent form suggests that if I were Romsey I'd be thinking they've really got a game on their hands on Sunday ! Should be a close one.

Riddell v Sunbury, Riddell go in favourites, Sunbury very close to full strength will be no push over. Should be another great contest, good luck to all four sides remaining in the hunt.

Great time of the year !

Not a bad reward for Romsey losing the Qualifying Final, a home final, followed by another home final (assuming the get up against Macedon).

Macedon's recent form suggests that if I were Romsey I'd be thinking they've really got a game on their hands on Sunday ! Should be a close one.

Riddell v Sunbury, Riddell go in favourites, Sunbury very close to full strength will be no push over. Should be another great contest, good luck to all four sides remaining in the hunt.

Great time of the year !

Amen to that :thumbsu:

It was great to see the roo boys kick away in the 2nd half Wallan just didn't look like finals quality.They had some good players number 28 played his role well as did cornish just didn't punish the roos enough, The big unit 57 was just a step ladder 4 the big fish all day.In my opinion Hatty and Fishendon were best Joeb played a good game.I also noticed the lack of intrest from the crowd until a fight started,thought i was at the golf.That baker boy can play ive watched him 3 times he's kicked over 20 goals, can kick.

Id love to be able to give a winner for the flag but i havn't seen The bombers or Romsey
but i will say is it the 1st year riddell havn't got bomber besanko that quality finals experiance can't be replaced:D.Also any team getting Leigh grub into it will be hard to beat:D

Macedon won't win it ive seem them once Not that great

Kangaroos i hope win it they have a team full of guns,the biggest test will be keeping all those egos in check and just run and play footy,Clearances wil be crucial id love to be recieving taps from leigh idont think the roos mids realise what they have.The only team to beat em will be themselves

Kanga all the way

Do they still have Half time sprint??

Fishendon was best on the ground by a mile on Sunday. I recon he won 100% of the hitouts all day an was 95% effective. Sunbury will need performances like that from him if they r to go further into September. It was really impressive to watch him dominate.

I did watch Saturdays game Riddel v Romsey and I do feel both sides would comfortably put Sunbury away. Their defensive pressure would simply be too good for Sunbury to penetrate.

Sunbury did have a lot of front runners on Sunday who didn’t really work to hard defensively which may let them down next week. All the midfield and wings were streaming forward to kick goals. But when ya 10 goals up I guess it wasn’t really much of an issue. There were patches during the game when Wallan got away but didn’t capitalize inside their forward 50, if Sunbury give Romsey n Riddel those opportunities u can guarantee they wont blow it.

I think Sunbury would have preferred to play Romsey next week though. It seems if u can stop Davidson kicking goals u will stop Romsey. Whereas Riddel have 5-6 quality avenues to score goals.

I feel it’s a two horse race this finals series. I hope the best two sides Romsey an Riddel get through to the big dance because we as spectators deserve to see the best possible match up. Iv seen Riddel 4 or 5 times this season and iv been really impressed. I think they will take home the silverware this season and I hope they do.

Hi guys my apologies if you have spoken about it in past pages but I would like to know how Ryan Connellan went this year for Romsey? ive noticed he has missed some games and is not involved in finals can someone inform me about his year?

Its a bit early to be trying to poach players.

Would like to congratulate and say huge thank you to Glen 'FITZY' Hopkins on his outstanding service to the Diggers Rest Football club over the past 6 years. His commitment to each and every player and individual was second to none. All the best with your future challenges and we look forward to seeing you down the burra for a beer in the future.

Spot on NDY :thumbsu: I had the priviledge as a kid to watch Glen when he was running around in the HDFL, then also had the priviledge of havign a yarn after our Diggers game in 2009. Has always said hi since which I truly appreciated......all the best Fitzy :thumbsu:

Haha so obviously you have never been good enough to be approached this time of year mate?

Nah we have enough height brother just interested in Yaks years that's all.

Yeah sure you are. Obviously your not good enough to play Finals this time of year mate.

Just answer his question or ignore it mate no need for the smart arse remark. I am interested in how Yak is going but am a former team mate. I know he was injured. Has that not come good or what??

Haha so obviously you have never been good enough to be approached this time of year mate?

Nah we have enough height brother just interested in Yaks years that's all.

Yeah sure you are. Obviously your not good enough to play Finals this time of year mate.

Look mate when I woke up today and thought to myself gee I wonder how Ryans year went I might ask someone on big footy because I don't have his number, I did not expect it would be so difficult to get a straight answer.

If you dont know or don't care don't answer. It's not faking hard. And just so you know I actually had the week of to rest up for the preliminary final so go finger your self.

Now can someone tell me how Ryan Connellan went this year please?

Spot on NDY :thumbsu: I had the priviledge as a kid to watch Glen when he was running around in the HDFL, then also had the priviledge of havign a yarn after our Diggers game in 2009. Has always said hi since which I truly appreciated......all the best Fitzy :thumbsu:
Surely a few clubs will speak to him and try to get his services to their clubs.:thumbsu:

Look mate when I woke up today and thought to myself gee I wonder how Ryans year went I might ask someone on big footy because I don't have his number, I did not expect it would be so difficult to get a straight answer.

If you dont know or don't care don't answer. It's not faking hard. And just so you know I actually had the week of to rest up for the preliminary final so go finger your self.

Now can someone tell me how Ryan Connellan went this year please?

Guardian,

The big Yak went down in Round 5 with a pretty bad knee injury and only made it back into the Senior side in Round 18.

The knee still appears to be giving him some grief and was dropped back into the 2's last week. All going well he is still a chance to play one's but we'll have to wait and see.

For the first time in a few years, Romsey had another ruckman to give the big fella a chop out and decrease his workload. Hopefully next year he can get back to his best and be one of the premier big men in the comp. (if you don't poach him of course)