RDFL Thread - 2013

Any other results? Like Rupo and Sunbury?[/quote

Great day, huge crowd at Boardman, to see the unfurling of the 2012 premiership flag.

Sunbury beat Rupo by about 5 goals, in a fairly convincing win. Jamie Cuffe, Lucas Dowson, Bobby Johnson were outstanding. 8 players missing from last years premiership team, Fish, Murphy, A. Leonard, T. Cuffe, Kaufmann, Opie and Strieff. Luke Walker the only one who won't be coming back into the team. Several new inclusions and young players coming in today all played well, and showed the Kangas will have good depth this season.

On today's showing I'd reckon Ruop will be aroud the 6th to 8th position come end of the home and away. Sunbury at full strength could finish anywhere in the top four.

Great day at boardman yesterday to celebrate the unfurling of the premiership flag kangas did enough to win with alot of improvement to come. I thought Leigh Brennan showed he will be a big player in the league this season, while McGovern really lifted in the 2nd half. Kangas face diggers at diggers which is always a big game Bring it on

Will the big "Fish" be making an appearance ???

Hopefully, As I am sure you are aware, fish has only just returned to training a couple of weeks ago after shelving plans to travel overseas. He along with several others will be in line for a recall over the next 2 weeks.

Well done to wallan getting there first win for the year on Saturday. both teams looked extremely young and to be fair kilmore had enough of the play but couldn't put the score on the board. Neither coach yelled and screamed which when dealing with youngsters is good and heard doona after the game and thought he tried to keep it positive. frost was dangerous and Collis good again for wallan. Wallan have got romsey this week which will be a good gage.

Kilmore Central Murray Football Netball League Butterworth, Thomas Pending 2013-04-14
Yarra Valley Mountain District Football League Kilmore Butterworth, Thomas Approved 2013-04-10 2013-04-11

What's going on here Doona?? Cleared last Wednesday, plays one game, then moves on on the Monday.

Does he think he's Akermanis??

Kilmore Central Murray Football Netball League Butterworth, Thomas Pending 2013-04-14
Yarra Valley Mountain District Football League Kilmore Butterworth, Thomas Approved 2013-04-10 2013-04-11

What's going on here Doona?? Cleared last Wednesday, plays one game, then moves on on the Monday.

Does he think he's Akermanis??

Hardly

Fantastic day to start the season out at Maccy Park on the weekend. Centrals put on a fantastic day and it was a really strong turnout from the community to support the two sides.

After an even first quarter, Centrals controlled the 2nd quarter and were able to capitilise on their opportunities, they did so all day, whilst the Rams boys fought the game out in the second half and had an excellent 3rd term, but inaccuracy hurt a lot.

Well done to Centrals though, the work of Liam, the committee and Wheels over the past 14 or so months really has that club heading in the right direction...

Thought I would start something new this year...

IMS' Player of the week.

So each week, I will select a group of nominations for players whose impact on the final result of a game has resulted in his teams end result.

I will no doubt cop some flak for missed contributors, but here goes ;)

Round 1 Nominations
Barry Hall (Broadford) - Who could deny the fact that the Big Bad one had a massive say in the final result in the clubs Round 1 match up. He booted 10 and was the clear difference between the two sides, but only just pipping teammate Chris Dunne for the nomination.
Rhys Frost (Wallan) - The young up and coming small forward booted 6 goals, including 4 in a blistering patch in the 3rd quarter. Frosty is still only 19, but is a real boost to the future of the Wallan FNC.
Jamie Cuffe (Sunbury) - From all reports, the grand old star of the Kangaroos is flying again, he played a dominant role in the Kangaroos victory over Rupertswood, the way he is travelling, he could play until he is 42 ;)
Adam Fenton (Centrals) - Fenno bagged another 7 this week against the Rams and was a constant threat, if he continues to receive isolated one on one contests, the defenders of the league are going to be facing a very real threat.
Ricky Elliot (Riddell) - In a tough low scoring contest, the importance of a non key forward bobbing up with 4 goals cannot be underestimated. Elliot has been an important part of the Riddell line up for several years now.
Jason Davies (Macedon) - I haven't heard much out of this game, but being named BOG is enough for me, there is no doubting that the drive Davies has provided the Cats through the middle of the ground in the past couple of seasons has been extremely important.

Winner:
I could easily go with the easy option here and give it to Big Baz for his dominant performance against the Tigers, but I actually thought that young Scott Swindells did a fantastic job on the big man who should almost be a lock for 8 in every game he plays, just through sheer size alone. So the Rd 1 IMS player of the week will go to Rhys Frost, who's burst in the 3rd quarter put space between Wallan and thier rivals Kilmore that could not be pegged back... Nice work Frosty.

Fantastic day to start the season out at Maccy Park on the weekend. Centrals put on a fantastic day and it was a really strong turnout from the community to support the two sides.

After an even first quarter, Centrals controlled the 2nd quarter and were able to capitilise on their opportunities, they did so all day, whilst the Rams boys fought the game out in the second half and had an excellent 3rd term, but inaccuracy hurt a lot.

Well done to Centrals though, the work of Liam, the committee and Wheels over the past 14 or so months really has that club heading in the right direction...

I don't think you give yourself much credit mate, without the help of yourself in promoting the game in the local papers we may not have got the crowd that we did! :thumbsu: Besides the fact that Centrals won, it was a great day all round! The crowd was amazing, the banter from both supporter groups in front of the clubrooms was tame (from what I've been used to in the past) and it seemed that the majority of people enjoyed the day. I've been saying this for years but this rivalry is one of the greatest in the league, it just doesn't get as much recognition as the others because of where we have been on the ladder in the past. Something both clubs will continue to promote. I'm sure the Rockbank boys enjoyed the new spacious changerooms too, I know the umpires enjoyed theirs! ;)

I asked Browny once how much work he had put in the years Lancefield won those premierships... He told me he had put in the same amount of work when the club finished last. He just happened to be lucky when they won! Those who volunteer for their clubs don't work any harder than anyone else in any given year. Getting the right mix of people... quality, passionate, great people will make a difference. That is what we have focussed on over the last few years and will continue to focus on for many years to come. Its about building something for our families. When the club is successful on the field/court it's an added bonus but we do it because we love our club. Ask any volunteer! Rockbank are heading in the right direction too, it was evident on the weekend and a team that will be hard to beat once the players get more games under their belts.

Hopefully, As I am sure you are aware, fish has only just returned to training a couple of weeks ago after shelving plans to travel overseas. He along with several others will be in line for a recall over the next 2 weeks.

Well,.... I wasn't aware ! But thanks for filling us in with that.
Good win on Saturday, congratulations. :thumbsu:
Where do you see Rupo' finishing on the ladder by seasons end ?
Short retirement of yours. Are you playing all year ?
........& WHAT is the old bloke on that allows him to get B.O.G's in front of the EVERY other younger Kangaroo player ??? :eek:

Well,.... I wasn't aware ! But thanks for filling us in with that.
Good win on Saturday, congratulations. :thumbsu:
Where do you see Rupo' finishing on the ladder by seasons end ?
Short retirement of yours. Are you playing all year ?
........& WHAT is the old bloke on that allows him to get B.O.G's in front of the EVERY other younger Kangaroo player ??? :eek:

My apologies i thought you knew more about what was going on with Fish than some others? Retirement again looks like happening for as I only lasted 5 minutes before suffering a cork in the calf and it is still killing me know, having seven players miss the game and a few of them tall targets I pulled the boots back on to provide some help deep fwd, really enjoyed being out there but I highly doubt it will happen again.
Rupo looked really good in stages, if your team has a quality full back to stop Brennan you will go a long way to winning. Mitch Gaunt #1 for them is a very dangerous player will be right up there in the Bowen come seasons end. I see them finishing 5th or 6th to be honest.
On the big man Cuffe, if I knew what he was on I would bottle it and become a millionaire by selling it.

My apologies i thought you knew more about what was going on with Fish than some others? Retirement again looks like happening for as I only lasted 5 minutes before suffering a cork in the calf and it is still killing me know, having seven players miss the game and a few of them tall targets I pulled the boots back on to provide some help deep fwd, really enjoyed being out there but I highly doubt it will happen again.
Rupo looked really good in stages, if your team has a quality full back to stop Brennan you will go a long way to winning. Mitch Gaunt #1 for them is a very dangerous player will be right up there in the Bowen come seasons end. I see them finishing 5th or 6th to be honest.
On the big man Cuffe, if I knew what he was on I would bottle it and become a millionaire by selling it.

On Cuffe - does anyone know how many senior games he has played? Incredible player that has been elite in every comp he has played in.

It would have to be a large amount without question, has been playing senior footy since he was 15 or 16 with Romsey, Gissy, Keilor and Sunbury Kangaroos... Think he has missed 2 or 3 seasons in that time maybe, so almost 25 years of senior footy plus finals... That's alot of footy. 25 years of 18 games a year alone is 450 games!!!! :eek:

Maybe he will be one of those blokes that plays well into his 50's & racks up, like 8 or 900 senior games ??? :eek: :eek:

OMNI's R.D.F.L. Top 20...............or so.

1. Brent Tuckey..........(Diggers Rest) - Simply the Best !
2. Jarrod Silvester.......(Riddell) - Very very hard to match.
3. Cameron Woods......(Diggers Rest) - Premier mid-fielder of competition.
4. Matt Davidson.........(Romsey) - Freakish goal kicking power forward.
5. Jamie Cuffe.............(Sunbury) - The RDFL's "Dustin Fletcher"......Only Better !
6. Leigh Fishenden.......(Sunbury) - Premier ruckman of the competition.
7. Adam Fenton............(Melton) - Very good player in an average side.
8. Blake Henderson.......(Romsey) - Very good ordinary player.
9. Darren Goodwin.........(Macedon) - A very good powerful mid-fielder.
10. Brenton Sutherland...(Sunbury) - Under rated & always gives 100%.

11. Mitchel Streiff...........(Sunbury) - Tough, hard at it mid-fielder.
12. Brad Mitchell............(Romsey) - Very efficient ball magnet.
13. Matt Sammut............(Riddell) - On baller who always get a lot of the pill.
14. Steve Burlak.............(Romsey) - Inspirational captain that leads by example.
15. Brayden Allen...........(Riddell) - Athletic, versatile & uncompromising talent.
16. James Wright...........(Macedon) - Dangerous & inspirational linchpin for the Cats.
17. Matthew Krul............(Rockbank) - Another very good player in an ordinary team.
18. Peter Robertson........(Riddell) - The sky's the limit for this talent spasm.
19. John Ryan................(Diggers Rest) - Dour rebounding defender.
20. Mitch Farmer............(Romsey) - Explosive speed & exceptional talent.
21. Alistair Meldrum........(Macedon) - Always does enough to make these lists.
22. Leigh Erwin..............(Romsey) - Outstanding attacking defender.
23. Ash McNaughton.......(Romsey) - Big & strong mid-fielder, very hard to match.
24. Matt Welsh..............(Sunbury) - Fast, smooth & deadly. A real handfull.
25. Brett Caton..............(Diggers Rest) - Running, attacking tall defender that never takes a backward step.

OMNI's R.D.F.L. Top 20...............or so.

1. Brent Tuckey..........(Diggers Rest) - Simply the Best !
2. Jarrod Silvester.......(Riddell) - Very very hard to match.
3. Cameron Woods......(Diggers Rest) - Premier mid-fielder of competition.
4. Matt Davidson.........(Romsey) - Freakish goal kicking power forward.
5. Jamie Cuffe.............(Sunbury) - The RDFL's "Dustin Fletcher"......Only Better !
6. Leigh Fishenden.......(Sunbury) - Premier ruckman of the competition.
7. Adam Fenton............(Melton) - Very good player in an average side.
8. Blake Henderson.......(Romsey) - Very good ordinary player.
9. Darren Goodwin.........(Macedon) - A very good powerful mid-fielder.
10. Brenton Sutherland...(Sunbury) - Under rated & always gives 100%.

11. Mitchel Streiff...........(Sunbury) - Tough, hard at it mid-fielder.
12. Brad Mitchell............(Romsey) - Very efficient ball magnet.
13. Matt Sammut............(Riddell) - On baller who always get a lot of the pill.
14. Steve Burlak.............(Romsey) - Inspirational captain that leads by example.
15. Brayden Allen...........(Riddell) - Athletic, versatile & uncompromising talent.
16. James Wright...........(Macedon) - Dangerous & inspirational linchpin for the Cats.
17. Matthew Krul............(Rockbank) - Another very good player in an ordinary team.
18. Peter Robertson........(Riddell) - The sky's the limit for this talent spasm.
19. John Ryan................(Diggers Rest) - Dour rebounding defender.
20. Mitch Farmer............(Romsey) - Explosive speed & exceptional talent.
21. Alistair Meldrum........(Macedon) - Always does enough to make these lists.
22. Leigh Erwin..............(Romsey) - Outstanding attacking defender.
23. Ash McNaughton.......(Romsey) - Big & strong mid-fielder, very hard to match.
24. Matt Welsh..............(Sunbury) - Fast, smooth & deadly. A real handfull.
25. Brett Caton..............(Diggers Rest) - Running, attacking tall defender that never takes a backward step.

My Top 25

1. Barry Hall..........Broadford
2. Brent Tuckey......Diggers Rest
3. Matt Davidson.....Romsey
4. Cameron Woods..Diggers Rest
5. Jamie Cuffe.........Sunbury
6. Leigh Fishenden...Sunbury
7. Mitchell Farmer....Romsey
8. Matt Sammut.......Riddell
9. Peter Robertson....Riddell
10. Leigh Erwin.........Romsey
11. Jarrod Silvester...Riddell
12. James Wright......Macedon
13. Blake Henderson..Romsey
14. Jake Powell.........Sunbury
15. Brayden Allen......Riddell
16. Brad Mitchell.......Romsey
17. Darren Goodwin...Macedon
18. Daniel Gregory....Sunbury
19. Mitchell Gaunt.....Rupertswood
20. Brett Caton.........Diggers Rest
21. Ash McNaughton..Romsey
22. Steve Burlak........Romsey
23. Steve Sims..........Diggers Rest
24. Bobby Johnson.....Sunbury
25. Brenton Sutherland..Sunbury

sorry to get off the topic of Top 25.

But as a fellow u18 coach, I was just wondering if there was a forum or a database of coaches numbers, mainly for u18's that if for some reason the team is short for the week, you could contact the opposition club and let them know.

Talking to a number of other clubs, the numbers seem to be struggling a little bit for the u18s.
A lot of it could be just rumours, but to have the possibility of contacting a coach so that they know if the other team is struggling would be a great idea, instead of turning up Saturday morning and not playing a full team.

I know there is always the possibility of find a few spares from Thursday night to Saturday morning.

Just an idea, but wasn't sure if something was already put in place.

could the league maybe provide the coaches with each others contact details?

sorry to get off the topic of Top 25.

But as a fellow u18 coach, I was just wondering if there was a forum or a database of coaches numbers, mainly for u18's that if for some reason the team is short for the week, you could contact the opposition club and let them know.

Talking to a number of other clubs, the numbers seem to be struggling a little bit for the u18s.
A lot of it could be just rumours, but to have the possibility of contacting a coach so that they know if the other team is struggling would be a great idea, instead of turning up Saturday morning and not playing a full team.

I know there is always the possibility of find a few spares from Thursday night to Saturday morning.

Just an idea, but wasn't sure if something was already put in place.

could the league maybe provide the coaches with each others contact details?

I think the best way to do so is to go through your club, they will have access to the contact details for the opposition for the week and could facilitate any conversations, they would also have an easy contact line to the league to gain contact information for any clubs they may not have.

Tips for this week.

Diggers Rest Vs Sunbury Kangaroos
Kangas still a couple short as are the Burra, much could depend on Brent Tuckey
Diggers Rest by 4 points
Woodend/Hesket Vs Melton Centrals
The Fenton show to roll on, but the Hawks will give it a red hot crack
Melton Centrals by 28 points
Rockbank Vs Lancefield
Rockbank
Kilmore Vs Broadford
A rough start to the year for the Blues, while the Roos are up and about.
Broadford by 25 points.
Romsey Vs Wallan
The Redbacks get their first crack at the season, the Magpies will go in confident after their big win, but the Redbacks have too much quality.
Romsey by 70 points.
Rupertswood Vs Macedon
Rupo certainly not disgraced last week and will be primed for their first game at home, the Cats had a solid win last week, but nothing ground breaking, should be a ripping contest.
Macedon by 10 points.

OMNI's Tips for Round 2.

Diggers at home by 24pts over Sunbury.
Woodend to be better than last week, but still go down to Melton by 30pts.
Rockbank to get their first win of the season at home by 15pts over Lancefield.
Kilmore to come up short once again, with Broadford to get their second win by 22pts WITHOUT big bad Bazza !
Romsey to ease into the year with an effortless win over Wallan by 66pts.
Rupo' will find Macedon way too strong & physical in this clash & will go down by 17pts.

Well people, I find myself in a bit of a quandary tomorrow with the Riddell Bombers having the bye and all.

The Mrs has said I gotta choose between her and the RDFL footy !!!
Well,.......Therein lies my dilemma.
Anyway...................................................................................Which game should I choose ??? :thumbsu::footy:

Maybe you could do the tour.. Start at Rockbank for a quarter and a bit, shoot over to Diggers for a bit and close out the day at Rupo..

Not a bad idea pal. :thumbsu:
Could get a wee bit expensive though.......Not all of us mere mortals out there have an RDFL season pass !!! :(
What you think I am.....An Umpire ??? :eek: ........................Or a board member !!! :eek::eek:

Mitch Gaunt must be the clubhouse leader for goal of the year with the overhead shot last week. Looked great on the vid. Should be a great day at Rupo tomorrow, first home game and then the big CF night. Hats off to Macedon for getting behind the night.

Not a bad idea pal. :thumbsu:
Could get a wee bit expensive though.......Not all of us mere mortals out there have an RDFL season pass !!! :(
What you think I am.....An Umpire ??? :eek: ........................Or a board member !!! :eek::eek:

Haha! I'm off to Bacchus Marsh tomorrow, do you want my pass Omni??? Even better, take up umpiring, do an u/18 game or 2 and get your own "special privledge" pass.

I think macedon vs rupo could be a great game. Most of the talk is about Rupo's running game and not matching the toughness of RDFL teams. With guys like Gaunt and Morrice rupo have the necessary grunt to match and surprise a lot of teams! They were within 10 points of sunbury in the last quarter before the jared pretty show blew out the margin.

Any idea if the live scores will be working tomorrow IMS?