• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

RDFNL 2018 Season discussion

Strange old game, Sharks started well and were about 3 goals up at half time and just under that up at 3 qtr time. Diggers good all day and let into it by a sometimes undisciplined Rupo lineup. Geez the umpiring ruined the day and was terrible for both teams I'd say. Also unsavoury fans who can't keep their mouth shut ruin the experience for people. If u win do it with dignity, if ya lose take ya medicine and shut the eff up. Enuff said

Scores in the reserves game?

Diggers by 30 points, but does it matter, who cares who wins the reserves? Rupo won the 19's by plenty which is a troubled sign for an outfit like diggers who were good in the 19's last year and need a good young group.

Sorry mate, I coach the Wallan 2s so there is some that do take an interest in it.

Oh I take an interest also mate, Rupo had two senior players come back thru the twos today and did well, also saw some blokes that could play some roles in the seniors, but again I say who cares who wins the twos, surely twos footy is about developing ones players not winning a twos flag mate.

Firing again too mate. Boys are playing a high quality game and ensuring the senior group are kept on their toes.

Good result today. Chris Barton was great against his old side, and good to see Atkinson start. Huge plus. Davies is a gun and played well again, while Sal was good and Layley strong around the goals. Stewart provides high quality delivery off the HTB, and Muldoon was good too. Getting R. Schraven back from Coburg was a huge plus.

A big win was needed and got.

Oh I take an interest also mate, Rupo had two senior players come back thru the twos today and did well, also saw some blokes that could play some roles in the seniors, but again I say who cares who wins the twos, surely twos footy is about developing ones players not winning a twos flag mate.
Do I sense a smitten of cocky ness coming out of the Tank

I wouldn't think so Dave tbh, just stating what most others have said on here before, not sure any of these teams rate Rupo Dave anyway, I know u have a wager but the attitude seems to be can't wait till Rupo fall over, they weren't great yesterday and got the 4 pnts so that's a plus I guess. So no Dave it doesn't seem like cockiness is creeping in.

To there own detriment not to rate Rupo they are the pace setters in 2018 good footy people would understand this I consider as I do and believe myself to have a smudge of knowledge, I’ve always believed if you want to be the best than act like the best and believe you are being a little cocky shows that, I think they have harden up a little the old sharks and even a loss caused by a bit os cocky flambouyant attitude will only make them stronger. Why do you think people hate romsey and broadford etc it’s because when there at there best the club shows that cockeness I guess that comes with people who drive success and when there not it shows people with a lack of confidence .
I BeLIVE THE TANK have had enough and want success then all should get on board and let the rest know about it and make it happen :)

To there own detriment not to rate Rupo they are the pace setters in 2018 good footy people would understand this I consider as I do and believe myself to have a smudge of knowledge, I’ve always believed if you want to be the best than act like the best and believe you are being a little cocky shows that, I think they have harden up a little the old sharks and even a loss caused by a bit os cocky flambouyant attitude will only make them stronger. Why do you think people hate romsey and broadford etc it’s because when there at there best the club shows that cockeness I guess that comes with people who drive success and when there not it shows people with a lack of confidence .
I BeLIVE THE TANK have had enough and want success then all should get on board and let the rest know about it and make it happen :)

I’d be very interested to know if anyone on here actually gives a shit what you believe Dave.

You try to stir so much shit i’m sure you get the taste of it in your own mouth.

I’m glad all the second hand information you get is enough for you to form what you think is the most informed opinion on the RDFNL.

Next time you post, maybe have a genuine think about the crap you are about to spill, turn spell check on and reread it so we don’t all have to try and decifer what ever it is that you are trying to say.

I’d be very interested to know if anyone on here actually gives a shit what you believe Dave.

You try to stir so much shit i’m sure you get the taste of it in your own mouth.

I’m glad all the second hand information you get is enough for you to form what you think is the most informed opinion on the RDFNL.

Next time you post, maybe have a genuine think about the crap you are about to spill, turn spell check on and reread it so we don’t all have to try and decifer what ever it is that you are trying to say.
Psycho on Eno gevis a carp no a first tmie psoter lkie yuo any way work that out first read as they say those that can have great minds reckon take you a dozen try's obviously your just some one who’s unloaded on me before to scared to use your real ID so starts up another identity

Actually got to two games saturday just to let you know probably two more than you did and paid at both

Psycho on Eno gevis a carp no a first tmie psoter lkie yuo any way work that out first read as they say those that can have great minds reckon take you a dozen try's obviously your just some one who’s unloaded on me before to scared to use your real ID so starts up another identity

I see what you did there but you still got it wrong. Doesn’t surprise me though.

How about something constructive out of your mouth. What was the best things to come out of the games you watched this week?

As for me, maybe i’ll tell you who i am but then again, as most people on here are behind an alias, maybe i won’t.

What I would like to know from Jack Bauer. When you don’t when a premiership, you are obviously missing a piece to the puzzle. What do you think that piece was last year and what has rupo done differently this year to rectify it?

I see what you did there but you still got it wrong. Doesn’t surprise me though.

How about something constructive out of your mouth. What was the best things to come out of the games you watched this week?

As for me, maybe i’ll tell you who i am but then again, as most people on here are behind an alias, maybe i won’t.

What I would like to know from Jack Bauer. When you don’t when a premiership, you are obviously missing a piece to the puzzle. What do you think that piece was last year and what has rupo done differently this year to rectify it?

Sometimes the opposition are just too good on the day, which Macedon were all 4 times we played them last year. It’s not as simple as just finding a piece to the puzzle. To answer your question regarding what are we doing differently this year....
Firstly I would say that our entire playing group have learned and developed from last year. Last year was definitely a step in the right direction but a big part of our improvement has come from within.
Secondly, I think we are really settled as a club. Locking Nick away early meant that he could get on with the task ahead of him. Not to say we weren’t settled last year but it helps to have a few consecutive years of being settled.
Thirdly, the players we have brought in have all had an impact. Kayne Murphy has been on fire as has Johnny Barnard. Leigh Wellington has only played 2 games but he was impressive in both. Cam McRorie has been very good although I reckon he can still go to another level. Daragh McGovern played his first game in the twos this week. If we can get him fit he will add a lot of smarts around the contest.
Hope that answers your question.

Jack Bauer

If you read what I wrote it was constructive or did you just read David G :)

Are your ladders starting to take shape as expected, or will we have a more definitive indication in another month?

At senior level, obviously Riddell with their traditional slow start, but percentage wise no damage done yet and will make finals as their long time model works for them.
Reserves generally a bit longer to take shape but once sides drop off the pace at senior level they'll begin to cast an eye towards a 2's flag.
3rds for me already a two horse race, Wallan v Rupo again look the two standouts.

Anything taken blokes by surprise in the first month of footy?

Are your ladders starting to take shape as expected, or will we have a more definitive indication in another month?

At senior level, obviously Riddell with their traditional slow start, but percentage wise no damage done yet and will make finals as their long time model works for them.
Reserves generally a bit longer to take shape but once sides drop off the pace at senior level they'll begin to cast an eye towards a 2's flag.
3rds for me already a two horse race, Wallan v Rupo again look the two standouts.

Be interesting to see with the draw who gets sixth woodend have a good draw and how will Wallan go reckon they will improve as season goes on but Ruppo is the team to beat and will improve will injuires play a part also

Anything taken blokes by surprise in the first month of footy?[/QUOTE]

Been surprised by the clouded opinions of umpires re tackles.Last weekend player tackles player and awarded free kick for good tackle,then ump from further afield over ruled saying sling tackle free reversed and tackler sent off and given 2 week suspension.Player wanted to appeal but was advised best take 2 than risk 4.Same thing occurred weekend just gone (different clubs)player got free then ump from afar reversed and player sent off and given 2 weeks.That player is going to appeal so I await with interest the outcome and do hope he gets off.Seems wrong when a bloke can get 1or 2 weeks for blatant punch and a fella gets 2 weeks for what most see as a fair tackle.

Also I see Broadford 3rds have about 25 registered however they also have 2 overage players given allowance to play.Nothing wrong with that except when the eligible u18s players missing out on 3rds game are sent to play 2nds and the overage players remain in 3rds.Wheres the sense fairness in that?

Been surprised by the clouded opinions of umpires re tackles.Last weekend player tackles player and awarded free kick for good tackle,then ump from further afield over ruled saying sling tackle free reversed and tackler sent off and given 2 week suspension.Player wanted to appeal but was advised best take 2 than risk 4.Same thing occurred weekend just gone (different clubs)player got free then ump from afar reversed and player sent off and given 2 weeks.That player is going to appeal so I await with interest the outcome and do hope he gets off.Seems wrong when a bloke can get 1or 2 weeks for blatant punch and a fella gets 2 weeks for what most see as a fair tackle.

Also I see Broadford 3rds have about 25 registered however they also have 2 overage players given allowance to play.Nothing wrong with that except when the eligible u18s players missing out on 3rds game are sent to play 2nds and the overage players remain in 3rds.Wheres the sense fairness in that?[/QUOTE]

Hey Barfly
Your comment not entirely correct
Yes we do have exemptions for 2 players in the u19s
But to put it into context
Broadford are desperately short on numbers so much so that the u19s only had 2 on the bench on Saturday v your mob the rest of the 25 were unavailable or injured hence the team playing 2 short

Our reserves only had 17 players with no bench v rockbank and 1 of the mothers is our senior trainer so her underage kid helped the 2nds out rather than forfeit the game which isn't fair to Rockbank and we had 1 u19s kid double up
If truth be told, for a struggling club having our u19s at Wallan and our seniors at Rockbank how the hell are we supposed to get lads to help out and double up. Plus we had a 60 year old play and myself at 52

IMO the league should of had 2 byes so all clubs play at the same venue and we have a chance to promote some kids up into the seniors when the u19s have a bye

We only just had 18 for the seniors after dragging Jai Heers away from his new born baby and wife on match day

Yeah things are tough and we don't want any favours
But rather than forfeit games we are just trying to spread what we have numbers wise across the 3 teams and try to be competitive

Things are all rosey when your club is travelling well hey

Risk 4 for a tackle? Surely gameday footage is available to support any argument or defence?

At least the league will be represented, but it brings me back to one of my gripes, why is it not (at least) the lead story on the RDFL webpage?

RDFNL Senior Football Interleague Training Squad Announced

Link
It was when it went up.. we have a lot of news going through our pages each week.. we could have five or six stories each day..

Hey Barfly
Your comment not entirely correct
Yes we do have exemptions for 2 players in the u19s
But to put it into context
Broadford are desperately short on numbers so much so that the u19s only had 2 on the bench on Saturday v your mob the rest of the 25 were unavailable or injured hence the team playing 2 short

Our reserves only had 17 players with no bench v rockbank and 1 of the mothers is our senior trainer so her underage kid helped the 2nds out rather than forfeit the game which isn't fair to Rockbank and we had 1 u19s kid double up
If truth be told, for a struggling club having our u19s at Wallan and our seniors at Rockbank how the hell are we supposed to get lads to help out and double up. Plus we had a 60 year old play and myself at 52

IMO the league should of had 2 byes so all clubs play at the same venue and we have a chance to promote some kids up into the seniors when the u19s have a bye

We only just had 18 for the seniors after dragging Jai Heers away from his new born baby and wife on match day

Yeah things are tough and we don't want any favours
But rather than forfeit games we are just trying to spread what we have numbers wise across the 3 teams and try to be competitive

Things are all rosey when your club is travelling well hey

So the overagers boys playing 3rds n younger ones playing 2s was a first and only?Not by team sheets.Certainly should not be allowed again IMO.
Yes logistics are a battle but atleast the kids get to play so no need for 2 extra byes.
Things may be rosey at my club you say.Thats your opinion not mine.I dont judge a successful club purely on win, loss as others do.Also I am in no way involved just a spectator at times.

Last edited by a moderator: