• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

RDFNL 2018 Season discussion

I agree they should be meeting with them as they should all clubs. How do you know this hasn’t happened? Maybe it has? How much financial assistance should they be given in your opinion Dave? How would those funds be best allocated? I’m not privy to how much money was spent in the past while Hall and Holland and co were there but I can only make assumptions.

I agree that Kyneton climbed themselves out of a hole and they are to be commended for it but that was on the back of influential administrators coming back to the club. Not so long ago Macedon and Riddell have come back from the brink. Look at them now!

For Broadford to be successful again they need “buy in” literally and metaphorically from the community. Expecting Goldfields to step in and save them is unrealistic and unsustainable in my opinion Dave.

I wish them all the best in this tough time and as we all know it can be turned around with the right people at the helm and to use one of your lines “a business plan”.

After being a part of the club for two years committee fund raising and footy department and privy to the reasons they wanted to move last time also privy to rod ward and co gtees that staying was beneficial long term well this is now the second season they will run minus one side.There are a lot of tired people at this club and good people but they are fighting a battle they can’t win on there own.
To answer as best I can some of the questions you put up Kyneton was assisted by the league when in the position they found them selfs similar to the BFNC.
Yes they had to find good leaders to put a plan together and rally the community the BFNC have this but by cutting some slack financially and also not having to field a Snr side getting smashed each week, would release some pressure to achieve a business plan moving forward.
Re the holland and co days this was off the back of a lot of hard work from many people including myself that as I mention raised much funds that otherwise wouldn’t have been raised and I believe that the issue is not financial
The growth prediction for broadford is minimal and the rdfnl is not the place for this club hence the want to move ( Kilmore ).
Besides that there have been some internal issues that took place that created some angst.
Jack Bauer before you throw the ball up and start picking apart things perhaps be constructive and not critises as this club like yours has a history and one I’m sure would like to continue for the next 100 years well past when we are all gone .

After being a part of the club for two years committee fund raising and footy department and privy to the reasons they wanted to move last time also privy to rod ward and co gtees that staying was beneficial long term well this is now the second season they will run minus one side.There are a lot of tired people at this club and good people but they are fighting a battle they can’t win on there own.
To answer as best I can some of the questions you put up Kyneton was assisted by the league when in the position they found them selfs similar to the BFNC.
Yes they had to find good leaders to put a plan together and rally the community the BFNC have this but by cutting some slack financially and also not having to field a Snr side getting smashed each week, would release some pressure to achieve a business plan moving forward.
Re the holland and co days this was off the back of a lot of hard work from many people including myself that as I mention raised much funds that otherwise wouldn’t have been raised and I believe that the issue is not financial
The growth prediction for broadford is minimal and the rdfnl is not the place for this club hence the want to move ( Kilmore ).
Besides that there have been some internal issues that took place that created some angst.
Jack Bauer before you throw the ball up and start picking apart things perhaps be constructive and not critises as this club like yours has a history and one I’m sure would like to continue for the next 100 years well past when we are all gone .

Ease up Dave! How did I criticise the club??? Thanks for answering my questions and as I said I wish them all the best

The point is there is no seniors so it's a bye for the opposition and the 18s and reserves move forward so the club can function ie day still runs as normal till end day for functions etc
The point is the thirds don't always follow the seniors/reserves so hard for other clubs to have two teams playing the same time at different venues.

RDFNL SENIOR FOOTBALL
FULL TIME
Diggers Rest 7.7.49 defeated Macedon 5.11.41
Melton Centrals 6.10.46 defeated Sunbury Kangaroos 5.7.37
Rupertswood 10.12.72 defeated Woodend Hesket 4.10.34
Riddell 29.23.197 defeated Broadford 0.2.2
Romsey 19.18.132 defeated Lancefield 0.2.2
Wallan 30.22.202 defeated Rockbank 2.3.15
#RDFNL2018
#AFLGoldfields2018

On iPad using BigFooty.com mobile app

Surely these continued lobsided results are a massive concern for the RDFL? 4-5 sides that continue to get 100+ point beltings week in week out is not good for the competition. Wallan going well sitting pretty on top but really have played nobody, they have a plum draw this year but doing what they have too and you can only play who’s in front of you. This must surely be high in the league’s concerns? The way it’s going the RDFL will be a 7-8 team competition within 5 years, not sure on the solution but it’s a worry.

Who are the 4-5 sides getting 100+ point beltings every week???

Three sides have major issues and need to move comps full stop people can argue till the vows come home or there will be one or two less teams alive in next three years rockbank div 3 wrfl just do it

Some massive networking opportunities missed on the back of said era’s Rod, in the way of reunions etc but to read your reference and names brings some warmth as it’s nice to know there are people out there (albeit past opposition) aware of some important times in the BFNC History

Again ... anyone know what time is the 3rds game being played at Bford tomorrow?
Networks,exactly.We all understand it is who you know ,not what you think you know.Football clubs need to stay connected to people outside their own little world.

Obviously nobody knows.I presume the league dont make the suspensions and tribunal readily available beacause it will be plain for all to see the joke that it is.

The only one up on the Goldfields website is from 2017 and there's no link on the RDFL website. Surprising.

I believe they need to be pro active in finding a way forward for broadford so if I was involved from a leadership position I would arrange a meeting with the club next week discuss where there at offer assistance for 12-24 months ie admin financial etc . Then most importantly offer them to play reserves and 18s for this year and perhaps the following playing at 12pm and 2 pm time slots so they are competitive with a plan to lure back players and people who can see them in two years time have a side that could hold its own and the club has heaps of talent they could work on.
If they continue to play seniours a get smashed by 200 plus each week it does nothing to build any confidence as there seniours would probably be beaten by 3-5 of the reserve sides currently. Doing nothing is negligent and in regards to there past just move on this time is a opurtunity to reach out to those like Donna etc and get some help from others back to the club, or perhaps there may be no club going forward
Unlike others on this forum DavidG I often agree with you,however suggesting Broadford receive financial assistance is farcical.
One reason I admire Rockbank so much is for years they have struggled and continue to do so yet keep battling and maintain their respectability.
I do agree Broadford would be better placed away from Rdfl but thats the path the members chose.I only feel sorry for the young blokes coming through who are on a hiding to nothing due to others doing.
Its not isolated to Rdfl either look at O&M,Gvfl,O&K or most comps across the state and its clear the game is struggling.Its not just Goldfields but more Afl vics problem to find solutions.
Look at Kyabram in Goulburn Valley theyve won about 50 games straight playing around 25 points each week and smashing sides with high 30s to 40 points.

Unlike others on this forum DavidG I often agree with you,however suggesting Broadford receive financial assistance is farcical.
One reason I admire Rockbank so much is for years they have struggled and continue to do so yet keep battling and maintain their respectability.
I do agree Broadford would be better placed away from Rdfl but thats the path the members chose.I only feel sorry for the young blokes coming through who are on a hiding to nothing due to others doing.
Its not isolated to Rdfl either look at O&M,Gvfl,O&K or most comps across the state and its clear the game is struggling.Its not just Goldfields but more Afl vics problem to find solutions.
Look at Kyabram in Goulburn Valley theyve won about 50 games straight playing around 25 points each week and smashing sides with high 30s to 40 points.
When. I say financial I mean reduce subs only field two sides not pay for players etc

The gap is getting bigger and bigger and unforunately with the points system being bought in its not going to change.
I have no doubt thst these clubs on the recieving end have some very hard working people doing everything they can behind the scenes, but the reality of it is , is that if you dont have the cash behind you these days your going no where and fast.
I've read on this forum plenty of times that rockbank have a plan in place (again not a dig at anyone at the club ), how long is this plan going to take to kick in ?
Lancefield are try to run a side with mostly homegrown players , good in theory for player payments etc but in reality they are going to get pumped week in week out.
Broadford are in the same situation and their current situation has hit critical stage, i see a real possibilty of them shutting the doors next season.
These three sides are lucky to kick a combined total of 5 goals a round.
Players grow tired of the continuous hidings and will lose interest real quick.
Lets be honest here if your playing in any of those sides and are playing against a rupo, diggers, macedon and wallan you pretty much know what the result is going to be before training on tuesday night.
Local footy across the board is in a bad way right now and the points system has a lot to answer for quite easily one of the worst things bought into local footy ever.
If a side loses say 8-10 players ( all good senior footballers) then now with the points system they are instantly screwed, no club can be expected to bounce back the following year or two from a player exodus now with this system.
And before anyone gets on their high horse about mentioning the struggling clubs this is not a dig at any of them personally its facts.
The clubs mentioned would no doubt have a crew that are working their asses off to change the fortunes of their clubs and all those people and the players from these clubs deserve a huge pat on the back for getting out on the park week in week out regardless of the predictable final outcome.

The gap is getting bigger and bigger and unforunately with the points system being bought in its not going to change.
I have no doubt thst these clubs on the recieving end have some very hard working people doing everything they can behind the scenes, but the reality of it is , is that if you dont have the cash behind you these days your going no where and fast.
I've read on this forum plenty of times that rockbank have a plan in place (again not a dig at anyone at the club ), how long is this plan going to take to kick in ?
Lancefield are try to run a side with mostly homegrown players , good in theory for player payments etc but in reality they are going to get pumped week in week out.
Broadford are in the same situation and their current situation has hit critical stage, i see a real possibilty of them shutting the doors next season.
Lets be honest here if your playing in any of those sides and are playing against a rupo, diggers, macedon and wallan you pretty much know what the result is going to be before training on tuesday night.
Local footy across the board is in a bad way right now and the points system has a lot to answer for quite easily one of the worst things bought into local footy ever.
If a side loses say 8-10 players ( all good senior footballers) then now with the points system they are instantly screwed, no club can be expected to bounce back the following year or two from a player exodus now with this system.
And before anyone gets on their high horse about mentioning the struggling clubs this is not a dig at any of them personally its facts.
The clubs mentioned would no doubt have a crew that are working their asses off to change the fortunes of their clubs and all those people and the players from these clubs deserve a huge pat on the back for getting out on the park week in week out regardless of the predictable final outcome.
Jack Bauer what's your thoughts here

Hard to argue with any of that hacksaw, again it's going to be an intriguing period going forward for leagues/clubs alike across many pockets of the AFL VICc landscape.

Enjoy the week off guys, rest up sore bodies, take a deep breath if things aren't going to plan to realign the goalposts and decide how you/we want to assess things by the end of 2018. Most importantly let's remember it's only community sport for most part, and keep doing what you're all doing as we know up the foodchain support aint great so withouht you all the game is rooted at grassroots level.

Far too often we only hear/read/see of the bad things, so I want to send thanks to those who choose to work/assist/play at clubs doing it tough because you are contributing to this game far more in spirit and heart and soul than many players who just bounce around to the joints who are always sitting pretty ... not to mention people like me who don’t get their hands dirty and help.

And spot on on recovering from a mass exodus ... points make it near impossible to remain competitive in those type circumstances.

Keeping the front door open is getting harder and harder in lesser populated, economical communities so finding other ways to stay in the game is tricky. One of my most enjoyable years at a club was 2013 at Kilmore when we didn't win a game, yes more often than not we knew our fate so we found other ways to tick off small "wins" .... be it qtr's, halves, senior debut's. Christ 25+ at training on a Tuesday was big ha ha

Fair to say it didn't pan out well for me ha ha but a lot of them lads are still playing footy, be it at Kilmore or wherever life has taken them which is pretty cool to know. Impacting young people, making friendships and trying to contribute to this awesome game however we can still has to take some preference as only one team gets to win a senior flag each year.

On another topic, whilst I admit interleague hasn't grabbed me this year, to Skip and his crew all the best, also to Hollywood who I assume is doing the 3rds? Here's hoping the buy in from the best available is prominent and the RDFL can again be represented in positive light.

Well said Hacksaw, the points system is only benefiting clubs with huge junior participation or country towns with huge growth areas. So in fact it’s only helping the “bigger” clubs.
It’s also restricting the better coaches from taking other jobs as it’s harder to take or recruit 5-6 players to build up a side to take them from bottom into finals. Yes money plays a part but I’ve known many cases where players play together as a package for less..

I can’t see how we can blame the points system for clubs struggling. As you said if 8 players walk you are stuffed but I would ask the question why are they walking? The points system is their to encourage clubs to invest in their junior development. The salary cap means you can pay players but too a limit. If you remove the points system the rich clubs will just get stronger and spending will get even more out of control and the poor clubs will die.