AFLW 2024 - Round 10 - Chat, game threads, injury lists, team lineups and more.
All my post are on holidays from yesterday as well. Obviously the moderators dont like the truth being posted on a public site.Mmmmm obviously missed somthing on here few posts missing
League need to step in they should alow broadford to play reserve and 18s to re build not seniors this is proven to work look at Kyneton playing Snr each week costs more and being thrashed weekly won’t fix this let’s see what help these guys get
All the best to skip and the soldiers down there hope you turn it around]
Don’t think mate it’s a financial issue it’s more getting the players to committ players two years ago left in droves it wSnt money but if this is for the season playing seniours benefits no one operations at the goldfields need to look at this seriouslyYeh no one wants to see this, but maybe the old “due diligence” and a fair dinkum business plan after the Barry Hall season wasn’t established as well as many thought?
Hopefully it’s only a once off due to something unforeseen, surely the Footy Ops person is aware if you roll up with a certain amount of 3rds the opposition are only allowed to match it on the field.
Not sure how many off they are/were but 16 a side at 10am mighta got them another 5-6 players, double a couple seniors up perhaps?
Don’t think mate it’s a financial issue it’s more getting the players to committ players two years ago left in droves it wSnt money but if this is for the season playing seniours benefits no one operations at the goldfields need to look at this seriously
Agree to a point but now the past has past this is now so the gold fields take there $$$ and represent the clubs part of this is supporting them in times of need and direction etc they can’t just sit on thete hands and say tuff luck.To be perfectly truthful now, this isn't a GoldFields repsonsibility in full. The BFNC "chose" in part to bring itself to this region, for some pretty baseless reasons at the time.
The RDFL was already well and truly established so none of this can be an RDFL issue as such ... it may be time for AFL Vic in full to again have a closer look across the entire state, maybe re-jig several boundaries, reduce travel and who knows interest may spark up.
In order to do that, the right heads need to be the driving force in such conversation, incorporate neighbours and other potential stakeholders and see where it runs.
A lot of "what ifs" but there is a pretty good landscape up around this way if someone wants to explore it, especially given the uncertainties around AFL Goulburn Murray clubs and where they may sit soon. What's the worse that can happen, AFL VIC says tough t***ies, but on the off chance it was to become "Hmmm maybe" then it's a free throw at the stumps to ask a few questions.
Agree to a point but now the past has past this is now so the gold fields take there $$$ and represent the clubs part of this is supporting them in times of need and direction etc they can’t just sit on thete hands and say tuff luck.
The BFNC isn’t about like any club a few moments in there history so at this momment positive thoughts and direction should be soughted .
I still believe strongly the kyneton model can work and worth trying
Dave I thought differently about a heap uve said before but totally agree here, I witnessed the Kyneton senior recess and saw them only field ressies and 18's and albeit doubted it they came back and bigger me have a fairly good senior team now, are growing depth and things are looking positive. The league should be looking at letting Broadford do the same here.League need to step in they should alow broadford to play reserve and 18s to re build not seniors this is proven to work look at Kyneton playing Snr each week costs more and being thrashed weekly won’t fix this let’s see what help these guys get
All the best to skip and the soldiers down there hope you turn it around
View attachment 495531
Dave I thought differently about a heap uve said before but totally agree here, I witnessed the Kyneton senior recess and saw them only field ressies and 18's and albeit doubted it they came back and bigger me have a fairly good senior team now, are growing depth and things are looking positive. The league should be looking at letting Broadford do the same here.
Having played against Broadford on heaps of occasions over the journey, there seems to be something deeper at play. Since leaving the WNEFL in 76, they have won only one flag for memory. The 96 team, and I suspect I’ll be corrected, was chock full of imports -Steve Pannel, Eddie Brizzio etc. I also recall them winning 8 or 9 U17 flags in the HDFL in the 90’s. Where did it go wrong, this should have been the base for a dynasty. My recollection is that they invariably chased imports to the detriment of their jnr development. Where did all the good kids go ? Seymour / Kilmore etc. Is it as simple as taking the hits for a cpl of years whilst you develop a team that truly represents the town ? Just throwing it out there.
Yeah, always hated playing Broadford but always respected them. Fond memories of Butch, Cags, Wits, Ez, Clifto etc. The town needs a vibrant footy club.
I only played 2 season in the Heathcote league but had some great contests against the Doona coached Broadford side that had my old foe Chris Dunne in it!!!' Still think that it was the worst thing that happened to the club was being talked into moving
I only played 2 season in the Heathcote league but had some great contests against the Doona coached Broadford side that had my old foe Chris Dunne in it
Will never forget a game at Toolleen in that time that we pinched late in the wet with our entire 21 having represented Broadford at under age level.
For that reason alone, that day is right up there with my fondest/proudest of footy memories.
I believe they need to be pro active in finding a way forward for broadford so if I was involved from a leadership position I would arrange a meeting with the club next week discuss where there at offer assistance for 12-24 months ie admin financial etc . Then most importantly offer them to play reserves and 18s for this year and perhaps the following playing at 12pm and 2 pm time slots so they are competitive with a plan to lure back players and people who can see them in two years time have a side that could hold its own and the club has heaps of talent they could work on.What do you suppose Goldfields should do to support them Dave?
12 and 2 time slots cant work with a draw of 3rds not following the seniors.I believe they need to be pro active in finding a way forward for broadford so if I was involved from a leadership position I would arrange a meeting with the club next week discuss where there at offer assistance for 12-24 months ie admin financial etc . Then most importantly offer them to play reserves and 18s for this year and perhaps the following playing at 12pm and 2 pm time slots so they are competitive with a plan to lure back players and people who can see them in two years time have a side that could hold its own and the club has heaps of talent they could work on.
The point is there is no seniors so it's a bye for the opposition and the 18s and reserves move forward so the club can function ie day still runs as normal till end day for functions etc12 and 2 time slots cant work with a draw of 3rds not following the seniors.
I believe they need to be pro active in finding a way forward for broadford so if I was involved from a leadership position I would arrange a meeting with the club next week discuss where there at offer assistance for 12-24 months ie admin financial etc . Then most importantly offer them to play reserves and 18s for this year and perhaps the following playing at 12pm and 2 pm time slots so they are competitive with a plan to lure back players and people who can see them in two years time have a side that could hold its own and the club has heaps of talent they could work on.
If they continue to play seniours a get smashed by 200 plus each week it does nothing to build any confidence as there seniours would probably be beaten by 3-5 of the reserve sides currently. Doing nothing is negligent and in regards to there past just move on this time is a opurtunity to reach out to those like Donna etc and get some help from others back to the club, or perhaps there may be no club going forward