RDFNL 2019 Season discussion

Probably signed knowing Riddell have picked up and recruited exceptional well this off season and have landed more than just one big fish. The loss of Walsh is more than covered!
I think we all know why Patterson signed, working for a riddell owned business, gotta play for Riddell. Not sure whose the big fish outta him n Foreman though?

Who said anything about those two? Perhaps they’ve got more recruits to announce this week

Ethan is a good get but a 15 touch player. Think there is a CHB coming with him who is a handy type as well.

I hope Uquart is not the big fish as he hasn’t finished top ten in his previous clubs bnf for the last few years. Good experienced player though.

Never doubt the bombers as they are just such a well run club but it’s always managing what’s coming in and what’s coming out that is the issue.

Both walshes are already gone, allen and robbo have retired, reid gone to VFL, Power gone to Sunbury and there is talk of tarcson and sugar training at Werribee. That is a big list with a few of their current players meeting with other clubs this week.

Looking at them this year it seemed their backline was the biggest issue. Losing walshe and Allen out of an already weak area would be my concern.

Good on Belleville for putting his hand up to have a crack. Most coaches will say your first year is never your best so having Elliot there might be a good thing for a year or so as long as the players are on board with it.

was wondering if someone from rockbank could give us some information on their new coach ?

Is that all the coaching positions filled now?

Woodend have kept its list from 2018 together and added Marcus Stapleton strathmore, James sansom old scotch and a chb and a w/hf from oak park, Melton recruiting well and wallan also and Blair back to romsey making for an even and exciting 2019

Agree, things are looking up. Woodend, Melton and Romsey will only get better.

Its one thing to recruit, its another to do it well. I hope your right or they may as well start the season with the top 5 in mid august next year if these teams cannot improve. With Sunbury gone, lancefield broadford Rockbank to finish bottom three, these three sides are fighting with each other for a spot in the 6 unless they change it.

You have to always back Riddell in, losing their FB, CHB, onballer, fwd and ruckman trying out at VFL if that's true is a fair divot in your team that was full of younger players as it was. Foreman was always classy and will add some x factor you would think but yes they will be challenged to cover. You have to back them in as they have in the past. They just need hope no more walk as the word around the traps as another poster wrote is a couple more are in ongoing chats with other clubs from other leagues in the region. Issue for Redi is he will play still a lot of local footy with no development league in the VFL, and going by recent history if he is fair dinkum about playing VFL footy or trying to he will not be able to nominate Riddell as his home club he will have to nominate a BFL or EDFL club. Points system has been in now for a few years so you would think it has to start having real impact on ability to recruit for all teams.

I believe it is on 5 December. Not sure of venue

• Date: Wednesday, December 5th
  • Time: 7:00pm
  • Venue: Arnolds Creek Reserve, 20 Long Tree Drive, Melton West
  • Deadline: RDFNL Board Nominations: 5:00pm Monday, November 16th

• Date: Wednesday, December 5th
  • Time: 7:00pm
  • Venue: Arnolds Creek Reserve, 20 Long Tree Drive, Melton West
  • Deadline: RDFNL Board Nominations: 5:00pm Monday, November 16th

16th is this Friday?

Where’s the Ledg going to? Wonder what happened there although hopefully we see a return to a more open form of commentary now that he won’t have to toe the company line :p:D

Tell us what u really think Chris, or an inkling on the what long game outcome actually is for footy round here

Huge loss! Wish him all the best in what he decides to do
My comment above was obviously tongue in cheek but have to agree Waddington, very passionate RDFL person is the Ledg hopefully he's not lost to the competition entirely.

totally agree!
Positive people are hard to come by these days and he is definitely one of those. Huge contribution in more ways than one.
I'm sure he won't be able to stay away and will be involved in some way

A couple of years into the point system and salary cap and was wondering if anyone thinks it is working?

I know it was implemented with the best intentions but there needs to be some work done and a few things tweaked to improve the system. These changes need to involve the people who are on the ground working with in the system.

For me the only thing it has done positively is decreased the amount of players moving clubs.

It was brought in to support equalization across competitions and to make sure competitions are strong and as equally matched as possible. I might be on the outer here but has it changed anything? There is just no way it’s equal if clubs have different points, different salary caps, different junior numbers and different advantages with just the area you live in. All clubs and volunteers work bloody hard and yes there are some clubs that are run better than others and some that are just lucky with their geographical area but how is it promoting equalization?

It has closed the gap between the top teams but it has only widened the gap between the bottom teams.

The people in power say build from your juniors which is just an absolute croc. A lot of our clubs barely have a junior system and with all due respect to the majority of our 18s they are just not up to senior standard. The ones that are, are already playing seniors.

The players who are most likely to move imo are the 3 or 4 juniors you put a lot of time into and get them to a senior standard and then they bugger off anyway.

If anything it has weakened our competition. If a club loses 3 quality one point players through no fault of their own as it could be work, retirement, injury, moving areas etc you just can’t replace that and if you manage to then you’re not improving you’re staying the same. So if you’re not in the top couple of clubs you are not going anywhere. So the lower placed teams are now stuck in a cycle that is even harder to get out of.

These are the points taken from the policy for why the point system was brought in

1. support equalization of community football Competitions;

2. ensure teams fielded in the Competitions are strong and as equally matched as possible;

3. provide the best opportunities for players to develop and display their skills;

4. provide opportunities to compete at a community level within an orderly and fair system;

5. enable team spirit and public support;

6. encourage community and corporate sponsorships of Community Clubs;

7. reduce the inflationary nature of player payments to assist clubs survive financially and reduce financial burden/stress on Clubs;

8. promote player loyalty and junior development;

9. support the role volunteers undertake in managing their Clubs by; - minimising the need to fundraise for player payments - providing a more competitive environment on field, that encourages more volunteers to support at Club level - providing incentive to spend more time and effort in the development of football, a welcoming Club environment and growing the game within the local community. This PPS Policy sets out a framework of rules and guiding principles in relation to a player points system which should be

Some of that is just absolute rubbish. Good players are still getting paid well and players who aren’t that good are still getting paid overs to move clubs. Volunteers are still working as hard as ever and if anything there is more pressure on administrations with audits, contracts etc than there once was.

Again I know it was brought in with the best intentions but surely there needs to be some changes made

100% spot on waddington. I have not been shy in my criticism for it. The powers at be can say what they like, one of the key motivators for it being brought in was a line in the sand that the Worksafe Championships were becoming a croc. In our region, the Ballarat and Bendigo admins wanted to stop the move of players to district leagues on what they believe is a demotion of standard but for more money. Make no mistakes the so call district comps were getting more crowd and more relevance and the standard at the top of those as good as the what they call major leagues. To me community footy is community footy, under the VFL who cares what your playing really and I think players had that view. AFL Vic and some regions specifically did not like that as the district comps threatened their empires. The points is exactly as you said it, it has weakened the comp as there is not as much player movement in and out. The concept of investing in your juniors is sound, but what strong club is not investing in their juniors. The RDFNL has truly now become the district comp that the powers at be wanted it to be, that why it has less points and salary cap associated with it. Players should be allowed to play anywhere imo as my fear is that some players choose to stand out all together at times. Your spot on about the bottom teams, and is evidenced by how has it helped Rockbank Broadford and Lancefield. They are worse than they were 3 years ago.

Thanks for the wonderful, kind and thoughtful words guys .. I'm really grateful .. I am forever grateful to work with such talented people at club land and across football and netball along the journey.. I've worked with some incredible talent at Goldfields who have great skills and ambition that overshadow anything I could ever do.

As for the videos .. a big thanks to Tara for jumping on board and helping out .. I wanted a small project to finish my journey at AFL Goldfields on.. with the RDFNL.. and with her great drive and enthusiasm.. she jumped on board and we smashed out 11 videos on Wednesday.. I have the last one going up tomorrow .. and fittingly, my home club :D

Looking forward to being a spectator and lover of football and netball in the competition

100% spot on waddington. I have not been shy in my criticism for it. The powers at be can say what they like, one of the key motivators for it being brought in was a line in the sand that the Worksafe Championships were becoming a croc. In our region, the Ballarat and Bendigo admins wanted to stop the move of players to district leagues on what they believe is a demotion of standard but for more money. Make no mistakes the so call district comps were getting more crowd and more relevance and the standard at the top of those as good as the what they call major leagues. To me community footy is community footy, under the VFL who cares what your playing really and I think players had that view. AFL Vic and some regions specifically did not like that as the district comps threatened their empires. The points is exactly as you said it, it has weakened the comp as there is not as much player movement in and out. The concept of investing in your juniors is sound, but what strong club is not investing in their juniors. The RDFNL has truly now become the district comp that the powers at be wanted it to be, that why it has less points and salary cap associated with it. Players should be allowed to play anywhere imo as my fear is that some players choose to stand out all together at times. Your spot on about the bottom teams, and is evidenced by how has it helped Rockbank Broadford and Lancefield. They are worse than they were 3 years ago.
Will say this in regards to the last sentence rockbank are in wrong comp Div 3 WRFL is where they should be and would be competitive. Lancefield is a tuff one small town hard working folk perhaps need to sorry merge or find another comp and travel can’t compette with the likes of rupo/Diggers / Riddell etc. Broadford lack growth and location 100% country club and KDFL is the right spot. Unless big $$$ are spent these clubs won’t improve and the big $$$$ spend without continued financial support from outside sponsors or donations
could lead to there demise . Take this as you will but moving now will make them competitive and adleast reward the loyal club people with some form of success, thus is not knocking these clubs it’s some constructive thoughts.

The notion of clubs just changing leagues to fix their issues is ludicrous.

RDFL is the correct league for Rockbank and they are doing a lot right. Things will turn for them. They played finals a few years ago and their region is growing.
Yes they did spent quite a bit doing it and favourable draw
let’s see how they fair over the next 3-5 years I reckon we will have the same conversation top 6-7 clubs getting stronger gap getting bigger