RDFNL 2023 Season discussion

Can’t see Kilmore ever returning

If anything more chance of wallan joining the nfnl before Kilmore return

Wallan could be outgrowing the comp just like Sunbury lions melton blood and gisborne did and craigieburn to a certain point
That’s why a club like Kyneton will help them stay now for more competition. Now you have Kyneton, diggers, Riddell, Woodend, romsey, Wallan all fighting for too 5 spot, then Macedon, centrals and great improvement from lancefiele also trying to make improvements.

Can’t see Kilmore ever returning

If anything more chance of wallan joining the nfnl before Kilmore return

Wallan could be outgrowing the comp just like Sunbury lions melton blood and gisborne did and craigieburn to a certain point
I can never understand this type of thought process with Wallan, what have they actually won?

I’ll say it again like I do every year this time of year.

No plans for Wallan to go to the NFNL.

We are happy with the way the netball and football is setup and are liking what we have seen with how the comp is run now since we took back control.

To be fair, covid probably cost them two flags and they've won twos and 18/19.5 flags too in the last few years.

Congrats to Woodend btw. A GF appearance.

To be fair, covid probably cost them two flags and they've won twos and 18/19.5 flags too in the last few years.

Congrats to Woodend btw. A GF appearance.
Cmon Auck u musta been drinking bro, Rupo won 19 by the length of the length of the Flemington straight and then had a better side sorted for 20, not sure they missed two flags tbh bro.

I don't drink, bro.

I did say probably, but then we'll never know about 2020. In 2021 they were a class above the others. In 22 they finish 3rd and in 23 2nd. I guess it's how you classify winning.

21 is all they’ve missed and cudos to the riddell league for not giving a half yeah medal out. The rest they’ve fall n short like the rest. They’ve had good 18’s and ressies teams but they haven’t converted to senior flags, and to think Rupo used to cop it for choking in finals in that league. 😂

Nobody was going to get near them in 21.

I don't know about Rupo's history prior to 2016. How many RDFNL flags did they win?

If you determine winning by senior flags only, then you may as well have only one team.

All Club’s success is determined by senior premierships, not runners up, not playing finals, not performing better than last year. Reserves and under 18/19 premierships are great for building the future success of the Club and are nice to win. The ultimate success of any club is determined by senior premierships.

I think success is determined by many things. Development, growth, flags from that development, and so on. Ultimately Wallan was very unlucky not to have at least 1 flag due to covid.

Interestingly going back to page 2 you questioned Davies and a host of others leaving and I wondered how that would impact. 2nd on the ladder and a PF. For me, that's a successful year all things considered.

Sorry Aucklander that wasn't a wack at you mate about Wallan. I thought exactly the same thing when Rupo left, It wasn't like they'd won 3 out of 5 years etc
It's all good mate. I do get a bit protective of them. LoL. A bit like my 1st love really.

When was the last time Woodend played in a GF? They seemingly have been cannon fodder for stronger teams for the last 10 years at least so this is a great footy story, not really much being said on here about that.

2007 was their last appearance in the big dance. Great to see them cracking along this year. I think it will be a ripping game but Diggers to get the choccies.

Wouldn’t of thought cannon fodder.Have been middle of road but not bottomed out.Sensibly have never paid overs for dud recruits and happy to stick with locals.Current list has a few Firies who work with some ex and current players hence part reason of turnaround.Would think the spend is minimal and well behind atleast 4 other clubs.Up against if this weekend but wont be too surprised if an upset occurs.

Woodend home and hosed everybody playing for 2nd

Hawks are 1 good day off this being a prophecy (post quoted from round 1). Does anybody think they can do it? Personally I think Diggers are the superior team, but they do have an ability to keep teams in it with poor goal kicking, and if the Hawks get the game on their terms they can score quickly. Leaning to Diggers but expecting a cracking contest.

A great effort from Woodend to be there today but unfortunately all out of steam. Well done Diggers.

3 average games of footy today.

The 19s was a shocker with Macedon always in control. With there 17s going undefeated in the As and there Bs coming runner up, they may well be the team to beat the next couple of years.

In the 2s, Diggers were all in control after 1/4 time and 5 minutes in to the 3rd Qtr the game was over.

Seniors, Diggers always looked in control. Great effort by Woodend to get to the GF but Diggers did look a class above everyone else all season.

Looking forward to next year with the inclusion of Kyneton.

Should make for an even better year.

Congratulations to Woodend/Hesket - what this club has had to endure in recent weeks and still get two teams into a Grand Final is an act of courage that can't be replicated in any other capacity .. to say goodbye to 2 members of The Nest on Friday and Saturday; and then to back up and get focused for two Senior Grand Finals; winning one - in extra-time, it showcases such tremendous strength within the club and community - and to take its first A Grade netball flag and the community embracing those stars, the story should be turned into a movie.

I’d watch it, if they cast you in it great man.