3-Sidebottom
4-Ziebell
5-Rich
6-Suban
7-Hurley
8-Yarran
9-Beams
10-Ballantyne
apologies to 1&2 and they will get there, but i dont think watts or nicnat have had enough time to reach their potential.

Hanneberry is nothing short of a star mid. Hill is very similar but i think Hanneberry is more a complete package.
Sidebottom is very versatile and his confidence continues to grow.
Ziebell and Rich had stellar first seasons
Suban has been very good as well
Hurley and Yarran were very good early on but i think they are yet to get to their best.
Beams was another steal. excellent kick, good awareness, hard at the ball. exactly what you want in a kid.
Ballantyne has really come on this season too. cant underestimate a smart ass small forward. very handy.

For the rookies:
1-Varcoe
2-Broughton
3-Picken
4-McKenzie
5-Gartlett

People still can't find a spot for the biggest possession winner and one of the best leaders coming out of that year.

because people tend to forget about players who aren't high draft picks :rolleyes:

rockliff would be top 5 based on output

Your taking the piss right...

On both of these points...

Bloke who nearly wins a norm smith and an AA small forward capable of kicking more than 50 goals a season arent as good as a bloke who hasnt gotten on the pitch...

please describe what logic has brought you to this conclusion

West Coast have been talking up their kids for donkey's. At the beginning of the year they thought Swift would win the RS. They thought Ebert was the next Hird. Masten was a great get at pick 3. Naitanui will revolutionise ruckwork ...

It's only logical that they now hang their hat on a player that isn't greatly exposed after two years. They don't have much left.

At least as the reigning wooden spooners they now get the best picks in the draft.

Don't they ?:eek:

West Coast have been talking up their kids for donkey's. At the beginning of the year they thought Swift would win the RS. They thought Ebert was the next Hird. Masten was a great get at pick 3. Naitanui will revolutionise ruckwork ...

It's only logical that they now hang their hat on a player that isn't greatly exposed after two years. They don't have much left.

At least as the reigning wooden spooners they now get the best picks in the draft.

You just made me run off crying to my 2006 premiership cup ;)

Interesting question.
Would i trade shuey for sidebottom. No.

If Shuey went home to vic would i expect to get given the equivalent of side-bottom as exchange no.

Shuey isnt worth much because he's had some terrible luck with injuries etc so hasn't really been able to get on he pitch.

But if you asked any wce supporter if their was anyone in this draft they would swap for shuey the answer would probably be no (that includes hill). Every wce supporter knows shuey is going to be a champion all he has to do is get onto the park consistently.

I would rather give up lecras than shuey i reckon.

Thats one hellava man crush you got goin there Patron! :p:D:p

So far:

1. Hannebery
  2. Sidebottom
  3. Hurley
  4. Rockliff
  5. Hill
  6. Broughton
  7. Anthony
  8. Rich
  9. Ballantyne
  10. Ziebell
List will most likely change and be more accurate in 2 years, and I expect/hope Shuey to sneak in there. NicNat wont break top 10 neither will Watts.

NicNat wont break top 10 neither will Watts.

I suspect your predictions for Watts are about as close as your predicted ladder position for West Coast in 2010.:)

Melb wouldn't change their selection given their time over. I can't say that I disagree about Naitanui.

Given Naitanui finished 5th in the Best and Fairest as a ruckman in his second year whilst nursing a torn shoulder muscle all year - it's safe to say West Coast would select no differently.

Quite simply, if a Hill or a Rich played 2 Grand Finals as immense as Sidebottom just did, the debate wouldn't even be there. Sidebottom's reputation suffers here b/c he plays for the most hated side in the AFL & neutrals cannot give the credit where it's due.

Sidebottom has shown more than Bartel at the same age & is a big chance to be a better player over their respective careers. Haters going to hate.

Sidebottom looks a great player, but you are kidding yourself if you think anybody would pick him in front of Hill.

Given Naitanui finished 5th in the Best and Fairest as a ruckman in his second year whilst nursing a torn shoulder muscle all year - it's safe to say West Coast would select no differently.

Really?? he finished 5th?? :eek: wouldn't have picked that

still;
Naitanui, Watts and Hill = most upside from the draft

two great athletes and prodigiously talented juniors, one freak athelete who's skills are a bit inconsistent atm

AFL fans are so impatient, you look at how Naitanui is playing and think... how were Cox and Sandilands doing at the same age?... thats right he dominates them

Same with Watts, he played 9 more games than Reiwoldt at the same age, and averages reasonably better numbers.... FFS he's averaging better numbers than Jono Brown when he was 21!!!

Patience is the key... not all players can be guns from the offset ala Judd especially the key position players

Finishing 5th if your best and fairest is more an indication of your current list than his ability.

I think his upside is still huge, but at this stage hasn't done enough to warrant the 2nd pick, time may prove me wrong.

Finishing 5th if your best and fairest is more an indication of your current list than his ability.

I think his upside is still huge, but at this stage hasn't done enough to warrant the 2nd pick, time may prove me wrong.

Finishing 5th is more an indication of our B&F voting system (was one of only 4 players to play all games) and Nic doing what the coaches asked of him.

Not much has changed since 2008 for Naitanui except maybe reinforce that he is an amazing raw talent, bring on 2011.......... stinking spoon!

Too many people are forgetting this was Nic nat's second year of senoir footy and he is still learning our game. He has to ruck behind cox, who is the best ruckmen (when fit) in the league. he is still a kid and has a lot of potential but needs to continue to work hard on marking and making his presence felt around the ground. also, why all the Zieball bashing? its because he plays for north he doesnt get the credit he deserves. this kid goes in as hard as anyone and has good skills and is a natural leader. he will be a star, as will yarran

Ziebells been too injured. Similiar to Shuey in a way. Yarran gets a hard time because people think he is lazy.

No wce supporters have ever liked ebert but he is ohk. Would be a very solid player if he improved his kicking.
Masten has been good when he has strung games together. However i personally have begun to loose patience.
Everyone rated the crap out of swift at the end of last year. He had a bad year due to injury, form + confidence. I still have hope he could be a great player but am now concerned.
Did you watch the essendon game? Naitanui has already revolutionized ruckwork in a way in his second year. Nobody has ever taken the ball out of the ruck like that before.

Your just upset you took blease with your priority pick instead of shuey.

Nic Nat and Sheppard are both highly rated by most BF posters and supporters.

There is a reason Wce supporters all rate shuey above both of these players. He is and will be a gun.
If he plays 22 games next year you will all see what we see.

I wouldn't trade shuey for sidebottom. Thats not to say that sidebottom isn't a great young player because i think he is and he played very well on the weekend. I would love to have sidebottom at west coast but the whole process of losing shuey to do it just wouldn't be worth it. However i wouldn't be trading lecras for anyone.

Now obviously in this situation i'm not pretending to act on club preferences or on what is realistic from a trade situation. However it's just personal feeling as i'm sure patrons comments were as well. Situations like this are the views of club supporters rather than trading teams.

I see what your saying and im obviously not able to see whats going on behind the scenes with him and the club ect, all we have to go on is their form at AFL level

and ive seen a lot of shuey in his junior days, hes a great talent and can be a good player, but to say that he would currently be in any way be more desirable to a club compared to steele sidebottom and Lecras!! (The best small in the game right now) just doesnt fit.

He may well one day be better than both of them put together, but right now, if someone offered me either of those two blokes for shuey i'd trip over in my excitement.

And dont see that as a knock against him or his ability but from what he's shown thus far, hes certainly not in the top 10 of the 08 draft

Think we need some perspective when assessing WC's young midfielders.

Not all midfielders burn it up in the first three years.

My short assessment

Masten - Has proven disappointing at this stage. Wouldn't give up yet - Does need to improve his kicking.

S.Sellwood - Good hard at it midfielder. Not silky smooth but provides a contest. Can see him becoming a good role player.

Ebert - Like him big time. Can play inside/outside. Not the best kick but then again, neither is Swan.

Shuey - Potentially will be the best of the midfielders. He is the one midfielder who is an effective kicl. Lets hope he gets his body right.

Swift - Progress slowed this year but may have suffered from second year blues.

One midfielder may become elite shuey, Ebert very good, Swift, S.Sellwood and Masten good.

Like to revisit this in three years.

Think we need some perspective when assessing WC's young midfielders.

Not all midfielders burn it up in the first three years.

My short assessment

Masten - Has proven disappointing at this stage. Wouldn't give up yet - Does need to improve his kicking.

S.Sellwood - Good hard at it midfielder. Not silky smooth but provides a contest. Can see him becoming a good role player.

Ebert - Like him big time. Can play inside/outside. Not the best kick but then again, neither is Swan.

Shuey - Potentially will be the best of the midfielders. He is the one midfielder who is an effective kicl. Lets hope he gets his body right.

Swift - Progress slowed this year but may have suffered from second year blues.

One midfielder may become elite shuey, Ebert very good, Swift, S.Sellwood and Masten good.

Like to revisit this in three years.

Masten
Looked really good at the end of 2009, but in 2010, had injuries and was given opportunities in the midfield. I don't think he will ever be anything more than "ok" but hopefully he proves me wrong. Definitely not worth pick 3 though.

S.Sellwood
Completely agree. Won't be a star but will play a role and will play it well. You need guys like him to win premierships.

Ebert
He would be so much better if he had better kicking. I disagree with you that his kicking is ok, like Swan. Swan's kicking doesn't detriment the team while Ebert's does. If he can get his kicking to at least acceptable, he will be a very good player.

Shuey
Easily our best midfielder though it's not that hard when you look at the rest of them. He is one of our only players who can kick well and on both feet. If he stays uninjured then he will be easily top 10 from the 2008 draft.

Swift
Probably has the most potential of any of our midfielders but has gone backwards this year. He seems to have lost speed or awareness and like most of our midfielders, needs to work on his kicking.

I think it's fair to say that a lot of West Coast supporters overrate our players especially Masten and Swift. However, I can honestly say that Shuey is our best midfielder by far and that it would be stupid to trade our best young midfielder for anyone (unless for a better young midfielder whom I don't think Sidebottom is)

I would still take the draftees in orginal order... simply because its their second year and judgements shouldn't be made especially with KPP's like Watts, Naitanui, Davis, Lynch, Cordy all being 1st round picks
The mids have certainly exploded out of the blocks, but history has shown KPPs and Ruckmen do take a lot longer to start impacting games.

The draft will continue to look better and better as the years go on when these KPPs start to show their talent. It really has been an amazingly productive draft.

Here is an interesting way to look at it;

If I had the choice of any10 players from the 2008 draft to form the new (and well overdue) Tassie Devils AFL team, who would I take. Taking into acount what they have shown, potential and what they would bring to the team over the distance.

Here is mine;

1. Hill
2. Sidebottom
3. Anthony
4. Hannebery
5. NicNat
6. Shuey
7. Brown
8. Rich
9. Beams
10. Watts

Hartlett is close but I haven't seen enough of him to judge. I think Brown will develop into a great backman, probably better than Hurley.

What a midfirled it would be if you could get all those guys in the same team with NicNat tapping dwon to them!!!

Anyway, enjoyed the thought process!!!

Mez

I see what your saying and im obviously not able to see whats going on behind the scenes with him and the club ect, all we have to go on is their form at AFL level

and ive seen a lot of shuey in his junior days, hes a great talent and can be a good player, but to say that he would currently be in any way be more desirable to a club compared to steele sidebottom and Lecras!! (The best small in the game right now) just doesnt fit.

He may well one day be better than both of them put together, but right now, if someone offered me either of those two blokes for shuey i'd trip over in my excitement.

And dont see that as a knock against him or his ability but from what he's shown thus far, hes certainly not in the top 10 of the 08 draft

I agree. Shuey aint worth what sidebottom or lecras are. But i reckon he will be a better player than both. Its kinda like trading watts for rich.obviously rich is better now and the safer option but you would expect that in the long run watts will give more benefit than rich would.

Re-do the 2008 draft (Part 2)