Oppo Camp Regular Non Eagles Discussion

interesting 4 of the 5 is us.

all featuring non vic sides too.

4 of the 5 results were switched from QF.

Good signs for Brissy making a GF but not good signs for a Brissy flag.

Richmond at the moment remind me of Sydney FC in the A league. A good team but not awesome but winning and no one really ready to step up to challenge them.

On SM-G925I using BigFooty.com mobile app
Sydney FC are an awesome team by A League standards. The only team, talent wise, that should've really beaten them was the Glory in 2019 :mad:

Talent wise most teams should beat Richmond but they're tougher and smarter than most especially when the whips are cracking.

This is how much interest has dropped for me in AFL in general.

Geelong have a guy playing his 50th game tonight and I have literally NEVER EVER heard of him. Mark O'Connor.

Talent wise most teams should beat Richmond
I think that’s severely underselling Richmond’s top end of talent. They comfortably have more than most.

I think what separates them is how they extract more from their bottom half of the 22. Compare it to how many passengers Port had last night, and how many we carried against Collingwood.

I think that’s severely underselling Richmond’s top end of talent. They comfortably have more than most.

I think what separates them is how they extract more from their bottom half of the 22. Compare it to how many passengers Port had last night, and how many we carried against Collingwood.
No passengers, we lost to the pies by a point with 6-8 passengers.

Port - Tigers last night. Both teams defended well, tigers won the midfield and ruck outcomes and ports fowards failed.
To be brutal - Lynch to a mark or two and Charile choked. Port had a few passengers some with big reputations, lost a player effectively although he stood in a forward pocket.
Take away Ports passengers and the would have won comnfortably.

Perhaps a few proochoial west aussies can cut the crap about home GF as well.

Maybe Hartlett should have kept his thoughts re: Lynch to himself pregame. You don’t slag someone off in the media then play like he did last night.
This. I don’t know why some players sledge pre game, you look like an absolute turnip if you lose. Just stay silent pregame and sledge all you want on the field.

Maybe Hartlett should have kept his thoughts re: Lynch to himself pregame. You don’t slag someone off in the media then play like he did last night.
That was Hartlett as normal last night, he routinely has 2 or 3 massive brain fades per game, Port would be well shot of him.
Sad to see Ebert finish his career barely conscious but his last act was heroic, laid it all on the line for his team. I hope things healthwise go well for him in his retirement.

Sad to see Ebert finish his career barely conscious but his last act was heroic
+1 was very courageous, would have been an uncontested mark to ringhole.

hope he has no lingering effects.

as for ringhole. one goal from a free kick , strutted about like a peacock after, he had 6 dispoals at 16%, and spend most of the night pushing defenders in the back, can’t stand him.

So I believe the years are:
2003 - Collingwood beat Brisbane; Brisbane beat Collingwood
2005 - West Coast beat Sydney; Sydney best West Coast
2006 - Sydney beat West Coast; West Coast bear Sydney
2015 - West Coast beat Hawthorn; Hawthorn beat West Coast
2018 - West Coast beat Collingwood; West Coast beat Collingwood

That’s 5 times since the current format started in 2000 (didn’t ever happen in the previous top 8 format). If Brisbane win tonight I think Richmond roll them next week. :/

I actually think Geelong would have a better shot.
Interesting, but not a huge sample size. I still think Brisbane are a better chance than Geelong to beat Richmond next week.

2 Horrendous umpiring decisions leading to 2 richmond goals in a really tight wet match. Kissed on the ******* dick yet again.
Vic bias is like the bermuda triangle . So much happens that is unexplainable and it supposedly is a myth , yet it continues to happen . When I saw a Richmond player walk out of bounds and not deliberate I thought of . . Well it doesnt matter its like we play in the Bermuda Triangle .

This is what seperated us in 2018 from our 2019/2020 seasons. We didn't carry any passengers that season.

Port are a bunch of useless chokers. Expect them to drop away completely next season. Dixon only kicked two goals all finals series, what a shit time to return to form.

Sadly, Richmond are outright favourites now. What annoys me with them is they've built an amazing gameplan of ugly footy that pushes the boundaries of legality (throws, holding up play on free kicks, pushes in the back etc). I respect that they have worked it out, but it just makes for ugly, ugly footy.

At least when Geelong and Hawks were on top, there were times when they played beautiful, breathtaking footy and were clearly a skill level above the rest. I feel like Dimma just managed to make the Ross Lyon/Paul Roos scrapper style sustainable.

Very very glad we took our opportunity in 2018 when it came up. Thankyou Mason Cox and Collingwood for the 2018 prelim.

100%. Very rarely do they bring in a first/second year player and you think ‘gee they’re a liability’. Aarts, Ross, etc.

The eagles used to be like that.

Simpson is a great coach but I can’t help but feel that it is difficult for new players to come in and find their feet under this system

And I don’t just mean recent draftees either

100%. Very rarely do they bring in a first/second year player and you think ‘gee they’re a liability’. Aarts, Ross, etc.

The eagles used to be like that.

Simpson is a great coach but I can’t help but feel that it is difficult for new players to come in and find their feet under this system

And I don’t just mean recent draftees either
Yep, Redden, Jetta and Kelly have all come into the system and been below their best in the first year. I used to hope this meant that at its peak, it was a level above the rest, now I'm worried it is overly complicated and in-flexible.

+1 was very courageous, would have been an uncontested mark to ringhole.

hope he has no lingering effects.

as for ringhole. one goal from a free kick , strutted about like a peacock after, he had 6 dispoals at 16%, and spend most of the night pushing defenders in the back, can’t stand him.
He surely has the most punchable head in footy.

Very very glad we took our opportunity in 2018 when it came up. Thankyou Mason Cox and Collingwood for the 2018 prelim.
Its weird, I reckon we'd have rolled Richmond in the grand final that year had we met. Just a feeling!

The line that Tigers do not have plenty of top line talent is a furphy imo. Dusty, Cotchin, Edwards, Houli, Prestia, Grimes, Vlastutin, Reiwoldt & Lynch is an impressive list. They also have a few younger players who have really stepped up like Baker, Balta & Bolton. After that the rest go from being very good players like Short & Lambert to solid players who play their roles. To cap it off they also have a Rioli, so premierships are all but guaranteed.

What's also annoying is that they can let someone like Butler walk and keep Castagna/Rioli and still waltz in premierships.

Meanwhile we played Brendan Ah Chee for 16 games last year and struggled to field a forward line