Oppo Camp Regular Non Eagles Discussion

Port Brisbane was my ideal GF, I think that would have been a good game but after Richmond won then Geelong was probably the best option for a neutral point of view. Richmond would have pumped Brisbane in a GF for mine and while I will despise seeing either of these sides win the flag, it will probably be a good game.

This must have been the weakest top 2 of all time. I can't recall both losing their home prelims in the same year.

What an awful GF matchup. Don't want either team to win, but will back the cats. Hopefully a high scoring, close match.

Why is GAJ a flog? Sure he went up to the Suns for money, but he didn't owe Geelong anything at that point and he had legit family reasons in coming back.
He screwed suns over royally when left. Broke a contract that was heavily front loaded, after getting most if the cash. Held them to ransom by saying he gets traded or he retires. This from their inaugural captain and brownlow medalist.

It just feels annoying that Geelong got GAJ back so easily.

Nothing against him personally. Never really hear him speak.

Didnt he create a massive rift at the Suns by trying to convert half the team to Christianity or something? Thought I heard something about people getting their noses out of joint over prayer sessions.

Not surprising two of the top Vic teams playing the GF , they are clubs of choice in regard to free agents and returning Vic juniors at the same time the WA academy programs are being cut back ....(Freo starting to do well from the program ) . Salty maybe but a few clubs are going to maintain the strength regardless of draft .

Not that Salty ...just seems an inequality somehow .

The elephant in the room. ASADA provisional suspension on Rioli with the presumption of innocence supposedly extended to him running to 13 months meanwhile Dr Goey still running around. The AFL and Collingwood both have looked the other way on this. If he was a marginal player in the squad would he be getting treated the same or would he be quietly delisted? Club's looking to trade for him are taking a massive reputational risk.

I don’t get the whole, I wont watch the grand final cause I don’t like the teams in it?? It’s still footy, and GF day is a great excuse to get together with the boys and drink beers and carry on. Have some bets on first goal scorers and norm smith, and have a good day. Yeah we aren’t in it, but will still 100% watch it. Sound down probably so we don’t have to listen to too much Victorian wank, but it’s the last game of footy for a long time. Make the most of it campaigners

We kind of don’t know if degoey in the goal square is guilty as it’s his word against the alleged victim. Rioli was caught doing something in the act and now we are just waiting like clowns whilst the morons at asada and afl get their shit together. Which is disgusting mind you.

We kind of don’t know if degoey in the goal square is guilty as it’s his word against the alleged victim. Rioli was caught doing something in the act and now we are just waiting like clowns whilst the morons at asada and afl get their sh*t together. Which is disgusting mind you.
Also, WADA and Coy work under the French/Euro ledal system of guilty until proven innocent. I think for good reason. Our legal system as aplied to DeGoey is the reverse. Also for good reason.

I don’t get the whole, I wont watch the grand final cause I don’t like the teams in it?? It’s still footy, and GF day is a great excuse to get together with the boys and drink beers and carry on. Have some bets on first goal scorers and norm smith, and have a good day. Yeah we aren’t in it, but will still 100% watch it. Sound down probably so we don’t have to listen to too much Victorian wank, but it’s the last game of footy for a long time. Make the most of it campaigners
For me it’s more a protest about the way this whole year played out.
Lol at Brisbane not being in the Brissie GF after getting just about their entire season at home.
We will now have to listen to Vic’s tell us the GF at the MCG is a neutral Game until 2057. Happy days 👏🏻

Lol at Brisbane not being in the Brissie GF after getting just about their entire season at home.
We will now have to listen to Vic’s tell us the GF at the MCG is a neutral Game until 2057. Happy days 👏🏻
Another option is to harden up and win a few

We kind of don’t know if degoey in the goal square is guilty as it’s his word against the alleged victim. Rioli was caught doing something in the act and now we are just waiting like clowns whilst the morons at asada and afl get their sh*t together. Which is disgusting mind you.
Yep - I'll be at the pub with all my mates sinking pints. I just hope for a good game. Someone here pointed out the Geelong has only beaten and 8th collingwood and a nervous brisbane. Hopefully they don't get done like GWS.

So nothings changed then, they have always told us that.
I have been watching a lot of footy with the sound down lately, the commentary is so pathetically parochial (when a Vic team plays anyone else) it doesn't bear listening to. Pretty disillusioned with footy in general, it has little resemblance to the game I played and watched in the 70s and 80s, the whole throwing the ball is ok does my head in, it was literally considered cheating and effeminate back in the day.
Most of my membership is paid for next year but I'll have a serious think before committing past that.

The elephant in the room. ASADA provisional suspension on Rioli with the presumption of innocence supposedly extended to him running to 13 months meanwhile Dr Goey still running around. The AFL and Collingwood both have looked the other way on this. If he was a marginal player in the squad would he be getting treated the same or would he be quietly delisted? Club's looking to trade for him are taking a massive reputational risk.

There's no presumption of innocence with doping charges and since it's effectively a crime against the sport it wouldn't make sense for him to keep playing - if he is found guilty then it would taint all of the games he played since he was charged.

De Goey on the other hand is a non-football charge and presumption of innocence applies. I wouldn't have a problem if he was provisionally suspended though once he was actually charged, but it's totally different circumstances to Rioli.

It just feels annoying that Geelong got GAJ back so easily.

Nothing against him personally. Never really hear him speak.

On SM-G925I using BigFooty.com mobile app
The worst part about Gaj going back to Geelong was he has already had his big pay day and the front loaded portion of his contract.
He basically held GC to ransom and refused to play because they rejected his trade request.
GC were like you have had the big part of your contract now you owe us 3 more years.
Didn't happen

The worst part about Gaj going back to Geelong was he has already had his big pay day and the front loaded portion of his contract.
He basically held GC to ransom and refused to play because they rejected his trade request.
GC were like you have had the big part of your contract now you owe us 3 more years.
Didn't happen

I'm sorry but while this is true there were very serious family circumstances behind his move. His sister ****ing committed suicide ffs.

Why is GAJ a flog? Sure he went up to the Suns for money, but he didn't owe Geelong anything at that point and he had legit family reasons in coming back.

He did the dirty on Gold Coast and stiffed them, big time.

As others have pointed out, he took the majority of his mega contract in the first few years of his heavily front loaded deal, then when the money was drastically reduced, in the back end of the contract, he threatened to quit if he wasn't traded to Geelong.

Told GC when he would train as he often ruled himself out of an appearance on the training track.
There were also many games where GAJ was running around at GC and looked totally disinterested, oh and that was if he decided to play as he often ruled himself out of games at a whim.

In his final GC years it was pretty obvious that GAJ had long lost his dedication and passion to be either a leader or play for GC.
Gold Coast was a basket case and he had zero chance of chasing Premiership Glory with them, this was apparent long before he played the " legit family reason " card to accelerate his exit strategy.

Simply put he took his money and ran.

The facts speak for them self the guy is nothing more than a mercenary.

Champion player absolutely YES :clapping::clapping:, however his complete lack of ethics and integrity in his actions make him a total flog in my eyes.

True
But pretty sure he requested a transfer 12 months before this happened.

He requested a trade whilst his sister was suffering deeply from depression, didn't get it done. She committed suicide during the next season and he said if you don't trade me i'll retire.

I would bet my house that Ablett thinks what if i was there every single day.