Removing interstate clubs from FTA broadcast

Sure it would. Plenty of Victorians have to pay for Kayo to watch all their team's games, so it wouldn't change much - if anything - for Victorian supporters.

This isn't a #ViccoBias argument that people want to think it is.
And all us people living interstate with a Victorian team know the pain too 💀

Victorians should probably be aware that such a deal will mean less of their team on FTA as well. As it stands currently 7 like broadcasting Victorian teams because they know they can still show WA and SA teams in their local markets. If 7 are forced to show the same game nationally then you'd expect their preferences to change.

So 7 Perth are going to bid on the rights exclusively?

Its a national contract in different cities, different time zones, different advertising markets, different advertising rates (time slots).

Why would there be a one size fits all ?

Note ;) just because Kerry Stokes was a committeeman at Subi doesnt cut any ice, even though the 'odd' conspiracy type is certain its a dirty trick.

Victorians should probably be aware that such a deal will mean less of their team on FTA as well. As it stands currently 7 like broadcasting Victorian teams because they know they can still show WA and SA teams in their local markets. If 7 are forced to show the same game nationally then you'd expect their preferences to change.
Possibly, they might reduce the amount of Sydney and Brisbane games in the FTA spots. Freo and Port would probably become like a smaller Vic club and get 4 of 5 games a year on FTA

Vic clubs might get 1 or 2 less a year

Possibly, they might reduce the amount of Sydney and Brisbane games in the FTA spots.
NSW/QLD teams will continue to get all of their teams' games live on FTA. This is important in order to grow the game.

SA/WA fans have had a free ride for too long. A lot of their teams games will still be on FTA, but not every single week.

Only 3 games on in SA this week. Friday night and 2 on Saturday arvo. Nothing on Sat night or Sunday at all.
I just did a double take to see if I confused myself but it still shows 3 matches in a row on Sat there.

Edit: Had a look at another one and the Foxtel tv guide for Adelaide and channel 7 has it different so I trust your source is the correct one after checking more than the AFL site itself which has it wrong.

I just did a double take to see if I confused myself but it still shows 3 matches in a row on Sat there.

Edit: Had a look at another one and the Foxtel tv guide for Adelaide and channel 7 has it different so I trust your source is the correct one after checking more than the AFL site itself which has it wrong.
If that's true, my nephew will be happy as he's a Bulldogs fans but the guide on my TV is saying that Toy Story 4 is on...

If that's true, my nephew will be happy as he's a Bulldogs fans but my guide on my TV is saying that Toy Story 4 is on...
yeah, AFL site says Bulldogs match on Saturday night there live, but if I look on the Foxtel tv guide for Adelaide it shows Border Security and then Toy Story.
If I look on 7 mate etc, it not show a match either so your nephew will not see it on FTA it seems.

yeah, AFL site says Bulldogs match on Saturday night there live, but if I look on the Foxtel tv guide for Adelaide it shows Border Security and then Toy Story.
If I look on 7 mate etc, it not show a match either so your nephew will not see it on FTA it seems.
Sucks for him. He really gets upset that he cant watch his Dogs every week.

But it may mean we get Derbies and Showdowns on FTA - rather see that than Essendon v St Kilda

To all those saying this would put the national teams on the same playing field as the Victorians, there's two things to consider - one is that there is more opportunity for Victorians to see their teams in person during the year, and the second is that typically Channel 7 dictates who gets the Thursday and Friday night slots, and so often these are Victorian teams.

The first will never change, though I concede that with current ticket pricing is highly unlikely anyone would be going to many more than their 11 designated home games anyway. The AFL could fix this a bit by reducing prices but they're a bunch of greedy ****ers so of course they won't.

But the second will need to change. And it should anyway - a nationally broadcast primetime game gives teams, their sponsors, etc more exposure, and these spots should be equally distributed among everyone. There's 23 rounds currently, the AFL will no doubt eventually bring in Thursdays every week, so that's 46 Thursday or Friday night games. Give each team hosting rights to one Thursday night and one Friday night, and make them the away team for one of each as well, and there's at least 4 games nationally broadcast for each team. That should be the bare minimum for negotiations.

NSW/QLD teams will continue to get all of their teams' games live on FTA. This is important in order to grow the game.

SA/WA fans have had a free ride for too long. A lot of their teams games will still be on FTA, but not every single week.
I mean they get a reduced number of the Friday night, Saturday night FTA spots as they are on just as often as many Victorian teams. They are getting their game of FTA regardless of the timeslot. Take a few off them and replace with the WA and SA teams

What you have quoted is not what is actually in the article though. So based on that, unless that is from The Australian (which I don’t have access to

So you have no actual information on this, yet are making the stupidest assumptions imaginable

Under this proposed agreement, it is being suggested that any home games in WA or SA will no longer be covered on FTA broadcast throughout the entire season.

The suggestion however that every game involving the 4 clubs from WA and SA to only be available via paid subscription services In those two states is just insane.

While attacking me for explaining how insanely stupid your made up ideas are and how a far more logical and likely outcome is actually what they mean?
Or are they just assumptions which you have included yourself as you indicated in your other post without any other source?

I could literally ask you the same thing.

Channel 7 would be shooting themself in the foot. So instead of maximising their viewers in WA and SA by playing the local teams, they are going to play some random game that the locals aren't interested in.

I doubt 7 want it. I'm sure Koch is just as much up in arms about it because of who he works for. They probably gave him some warning about it to raise it publicly.

This is all about Foxtel trying to get more WA/SA subscribers. Foxtel probably aren't going to get many more through sport in Vic, NSW and Qld as to watch all your teams games in NRL/AFL you already need to have Fox/Kayo

This has nothing to do with 7 (directly).

Foxtel pay more than 7 for the footy and want a return on investment. One way to do that is to delay 3 games a year per side in SA/WA (the current situation). Another is to remove the FTA guarantee in those states (proposed situation).

If 7 can’t or won’t stump up the coin for those home game markets, then that’s on them.

Except that isn't the arrangement. Sounds like it'll be the same as all the Vic sides, where only some timeslots get broadcast on FTA and it's a crapshoot instead of having every game on FTA.

It's a crapshoot that non-Vic clubs won't win very often though. How often does Ch7 select non-Vic games as their nationally broadcast matches? And conversely how often are non-Vic teams (particularly the WA sides) guaranteed the late Sunday foxtel timeslot?

It would be interesting to see how much of an effect this would have.

You'd think Ade v WC would suddenly become an automatic FTA game every year for example. I'm not sure too many WA/SA vs Vic would make the cut compared to Vic v Vic though.

Foxtel pay more than 7 for the footy and want a return on investment. One way to do that is to delay 3 games a year per side in SA/WA (the current situation). Another is to remove the FTA guarantee in those states (proposed situation).
Do you think a small population base in Adelaide would convert a sufficient number of new subscriptions to get a return on investment? I think most footy fans in Adelaide would already be subscribed. You are more likely to lose the casual viewer who wouldn't care as much as a devout fan about the sport. People who can't afford it would like go to friends place who has a subscription or go to their local sports bar.

Removing interstate clubs from FTA broadcast