News Review Completed

I really don't want to be negative on a momentous day when Neil Balme has come home and it's what I've wanted for a long time. People at Geelong will tell you his worth in this position.

But.

The rest of the changes are a joke.
Why bob, what makes you say they are a joke?

3df6e01ed17e14f4e3eccdaac7dce459.jpg

Sent from my iPad using righteous man power.
EFA

Balme.jpg

Why bob, what makes you say they are a joke?

Retention of a failure as a coach (I know was always going to happen) no change here is a joke.

Replacing a failure of a recruiting manager with his understudy who has failed not only here but at the Demons. Joke.

There's been other than Balme no external person in the most critical areas needed for improvement. What is the basis of the review? You're needing someone who knows what they are doing but, umm just shuffle the deck chairs and she'll be right.

Retention of a failure as a coach (I know was always going to happen) no change here is a joke.

Replacing a failure of a recruiting manager with his understudy who has failed not only here but at the Demons. Joke.

There's been other than Balme no external person in the most critical areas needed for improvement. What is the basis of the review? You're needing someone who knows what they are doing but, umm just shuffle the deck chairs and she'll be right.
You missed the key underlying criteria to any change the Club was going to make. "What's the cheapest option".

Your opinion, fair enough. Reckon we should see how Clarke before caning him.

We've had 7 years mate?

We've never seen how he performs in the head role. It's entirely possible his talents are obscured by poor staff either above or around him. Dismissing him like this is like concluding Matthew Richardson was a shit player because the team he was in never delivered good results.

So they've basically just promoted from within, kept Jackson making decisions for the coming draft even though he is a proven failure and made no comment on hardwicks performance.

Sorry but that's underwhelming to say the least.

Balme has fallen into our lap due to Collingwood mistreating him. That's the only win and it isn't of our own making
Here we go, another glass half full guy..

The pressure on Dimma has just gone up.
He's sweating bullets now.

A genuine opportunity exists right now for Dimma. He can show very strong leadership, take the revue recommendations on and lead from the front and gain huge respect from everyone (especially the players). I would want to bleed for a coach like that, could be a real turning point or...........

Personally reckon Casino is head recruiter in name for this draft now. Think Clarke will have the final say as he is big banana going fwd. Just reading bt the lines.

That makes no sense in terms of governance, substance over form as a rule, fact is FJ has limited role in our future endeavours.

Clarke has more interest in ensuring our new recruits including in 2016 going well than FJ based purely on financial incentive if nothing else going forward!!

If 2016 draftees are a F up why should FJ care beyond sentiment?? Clarke's career is attached with it as well as future wages so he has to care more than FJ to get it right!!

The only thing is is Clarke can't be thinking in terms of 2-4 years, he needs to be thinking well beyond that just like the list manager because otherwise his term is untenable!!

Not saying he will be amazing but the proof will be in the pudding. Simon Dalrymple was under Scott Clayton at the dogs and was promoted and turned out all right.

Plenty of people the world over work under someone they disagree with and when they get a chance improve the situation, of course plenty go the other way too. At least its a change and who knows what the review found regarding Clarke but lets hope it was good.

You missed the key underlying criteria to any change the Club was going to make. "What's the cheapest option".
I reckon there's an element of tongue in cheek in this comment but I think it is spot on. DH another 2, Hartley another year, DR 2 more, FJ surely must have another year (can't think of any other reason he is still there). Mind boggling.

Emotional reactions aren't always that simple, maybe he didn't know how else to respond
Smashing the sports drink off the table and kicking over the chair before standing with his arms crossed, looking pissed and then saying "fire away..." would have been a good start......alas he made jokes!

One can only hope Balme comes in with the stick and educates Hardwick on basic acceptance levels first. If the coach can't lay down the law to his playing group what hope does he have in them executing his "cunning plan".

Recruiting is one thing, squeezing every last ounce out of the group is the other. We have failed the second one dismally so we can't even gauge the first. I wonder if Fyfe would be playing in the back pocket getting 20 touches a game if we recruited him?

Review is done, the litmus test now begins, Gale, Balme & Hardwick are all on notice now. No more excuses, the review is done, time for results is now!

Also add not one person in a postion of power has been held accountable
There is no real changes the recruiting dept is the exact same recruiting dept. There is no real change to what has been appalling list management not one person has put their hand up and said yep i take responsibility.
As you say out side of the Balme appointment it is a snow job.But hey you knew i knew a few others knew it was always going to be the case.It was like letting a blood thirsty vampire loose in the blood bank and expecting him to leave voluntarily. t
We both know its an old boys club and they do nothing to harm themselves.

What disappoints me is the total gullability that is always just below the surface with so many of our supporters.

just on clarke , what I can tell you is that he was a huge fans of Cripps.

That's not the Richmond way, we only like our onballers to be 6 foot and 82kgs. He's in trouble already.

just on clarke , what I can tell you is that he was a huge fans of Cripps.
I was huge fan for Hurn, Ziebel, Grundy , Parker Heppell and others does that make me me a recruiter.
We have seven yrs of this bloke just look at our recruiting in that time it is a recruiting department it aint all down to one man.
When you have finished looking at our recruiting since 08 go look at Melbournes for the previous 11 years.

Surely we can do better. but no lets give the job to one of the boys.

I reckon there's an element of tongue in cheek in this comment but I think it is spot on. DH another 2, Hartley another year, DR 2 more, FJ surely must have another year (can't think of any other reason he is still there). Mind boggling.
It's safe to assume that most of my posts have a tongue in cheek element. However I am serious in suggesting that whatever decisions where made had save coin philosophy underlying them.

News Review Completed