News Review Completed

It's safe to assume that most of my posts have a tongue in cheek element. However I am serious in suggesting that whatever decisions where made had save coin philosophy underlying them.
These contracts especially DH have and will continue to hamstring the club. I am not trying to say the sky is falling but this will effect us for years.

Common man .... Should be in more pain after a loss in a game of marbles let alone 20 goal drubbing in a professional sport .

How do you know he wasn't??? His reaction isn't nessecarily indicative of how he really felt.

Does he usually do it after a bad loss? No

What about the elim final last year? He was so pissed he called a journo a ****ing moron because he answered his phone ffs. So many other examples too. To suggest he doesn't care because he made a joke is rubbish, they say sometimes laughter is the best medicine.

We had been smashed so many times this year, this was the last game where we were playing for nothing except trialling kids.

I really don't want to be negative on a momentous day when Neil Balme has come home and it's what I've wanted for a long time. People at Geelong will tell you his worth in this position.

But.

The rest of the changes are a joke.
There is more to this than just changing personnel. The way they do things will change.
Listen to what Benny had to say on AW and SEN. Even though staff are staying, like Dimma, there are areas where they've been told they have to improve.
The whole review was not about getting rid of staff from what I can see, it was all about putting the right people in the right positions and empowering them. And reading between the lines of what Gale did say, Dimma is now well aware of areas he needs to get better in, as would other staff that have been retained.
Balmy will now oversee the report and take responsibility for implementation of same. We have to trust they will make the right moves and hold staff accountable from hereon.

We have to trust they will make the right moves and hold staff accountable from hereon.

So no accountability for what's happened so far?

Or was it solely the fault of a handful of assistant coaches?

Your right, we have to trust gale & co to get it right.

I just fear as others have stated that the whole thing has been limited by exisiting contract status and the $$$ it may have taken to bring real change.

How do you know he wasn't??? His reaction isn't nessecarily indicative of how he really felt.

Does he usually do it after a bad loss? No

What about the elim final last year? He was so pissed he called a journo a ******* moron because he answered his phone ffs. So many other examples too. To suggest he doesn't care because he made a joke is rubbish, they say sometimes laughter is the best medicine.

We had been smashed so many times this year, this was the last game where we were playing for nothing except trialling kids.

No doubt he was and no doubt he cares but you can't laugh like that after what just occurred . Specially on 600 k a year . Did you laugh like that after that game at all that night ? Let alone in front of the media ... His the face of our football club . Appalling behaviour .

So no accountability for what's happened so far?

Or was it solely the fault of a handful of assistant coaches?
They commissioned the report as they were obviously not happy with the set up and its ability to deliver. They are changing things as it wasn't working. They've demoted FJ and are giving someone else a chance to run recruiting. They've changed fitness and conditioning boss. What else do you want them to do?
Dimma? Well, we've been on an upward curve in terms of win/loss every year until this year. In my opinion, he deserves at least next year to get things back on track, you and others may disagree and fair enough. But it won't change my view, one bad year does not deserve a sacking. As long as he changes that bloody awful game plan!!!!!
We now have a highly regarded General Manager of Football to oversee List Management (Blair) and recruiting, as well as Dan Richardsons new position. Let's see how it works

No doubt he was and no doubt he cares but you can't laugh like that after what just occurred . Specially on 600 k a year . Did you laugh like that after that game at all that night ? Let alone in front of the media ... His the face of our football club . Appalling behaviour .
In his defence, the bloke is under intense pressure with nowhere to hide. I'm sure he would behave differently if given a do over but he has little time to prepare to front the media after games. It's a tough gig and even the best show cracks occasionally.

They commissioned the report as they were obviously not happy with the set up and its ability to deliver. They are changing things as it wasn't working. They've demoted FJ and are giving someone else a chance to run recruiting. They've changed fitness and conditioning boss. What else do you want them to do?
Dimma? Well, we've been on an upward curve in terms of win/loss every year until this year. In my opinion, he deserves at least next year to get things back on track, you and others may disagree and fair enough. But it won't change my view, one bad year does not deserve a sacking. As long as he changes that bloody awful game plan!!!!!
We now have a highly regarded General Manager of Football to oversee List Management (Blair) and recruiting, as well as Dan Richardsons new position. Let's see how it works

Francis Jackson hasn't been demoted. He was retiring but he's still going to be working for us as a consultant.

So his shit recruiting has rewarded him with consulting our recruiters? Was Matt Clarke the best recruiting guy out there? What made him the standout candidate to take over? He's had 7 years and other than the gimme in Martin has failed to deliver. Is part of the recruiting team that has pissed away first round draft picks as well as seconds. It's a strange decision which ever way you look at it.

There's been promotions in the fitness side of things. Again, could there be better outside?

It seems like from this review, the outcome is we need a senior figure to run the football department and it's all the assistants fault we have the worst game plan in the league.

Worth the money?

Francis Jackson hasn't been demoted. He was retiring but he's still going to be working for us as a consultant.

So his shit recruiting has rewarded him with consulting our recruiters? Was Matt Clarke the best recruiting guy out there? What made him the standout candidate to take over? He's had 7 years and other than the gimme in Martin has failed to deliver. Is part of the recruiting team that has pissed away first round draft picks as well as seconds. It's a strange decision which ever way you look at it.

There's been promotions in the fitness side of things. Again, could there be better outside?

It seems like from this review, the outcome is we need a senior figure to run the football department and it's all the assistants fault we have the worst game plan in the league.

Worth the money?
Don't agree with you Bob. It's going to be a while until an informed opinion can be gained on the changes as none of us know how the processes of each position are changing.
Matt Clarke will be better empowered than he has been and no doubt will be held accountable for his outcomes. Same with the other leaders in their positions within the new structure.

There is more to this than just changing personnel. The way they do things will change.
And reading between the lines of what Gale did say, Dimma is now well aware of areas he needs to get better in, as would other staff that have been retained..

So Dimma is now aware that he can't coach, his game plan is out of date and useless, he can't motivate the players or get them prepared in the off season to hit the ground running for the early part of the year, or play players in their correct positions or identify players that are under performing and drop them..... Phew glad the club has sorted all that out and told Dimma so next year we should be sweet, damn RFC why did it take so long to communicate this with the coach.

Anyway now he is aware and Balmy is back next year we should be top 4.

Don't agree with you Bob. It's going to be a while until an informed opinion can be formed on the changes as none of us know how the processes of each position are changing.

Fair enough. Agree to disagree.

I just don't know how shuffling the deck chairs on the Titanic results in any other result.

That makes no sense in terms of governance, substance over form as a rule, fact is FJ has limited role in our future endeavours.

Clarke has more interest in ensuring our new recruits including in 2016 going well than FJ based purely on financial incentive if nothing else going forward!!

If 2016 draftees are a F up why should FJ care beyond sentiment?? Clarke's career is attached with it as well as future wages so he has to care more than FJ to get it right!!

The only thing is is Clarke can't be thinking in terms of 2-4 years, he needs to be thinking well beyond that just like the list manager because otherwise his term is untenable!!
Just reckon its a respect to Casino for long service not to downgrade him before draft. Reckon Clarke is in charge from when review findings were made. Just reading bt lines. I may well be wrong

So Dimma is now aware that he can't coach, his game plan is out of date and useless, he can't motivate the players or get them prepared in the off season to hit the ground running for the early part of the year, or play players in their correct positions or identify players that are under performing and drop them..... Phew glad the club has sorted all that out and told Dimma so next year we should be sweet, damn RFC why did it take so long to communicate this with the coach.

Anyway now he is aware and Balmy is back next year we should be top 4.
Ordinary post Mate

Happy with the changes. Would like to know more about this matt clarke recruiter. Never heard of him.

Very keen to know who we are linked with as assistant coaches. Thatll probably come out after finals I imagine.

Rumors mustve been true that balme wanted no affiliation with the fof ticket.
I wouldn't be too concerned with his profile, not many of them are household names.

Fair enough. Agree to disagree.

I just don't know how shuffling the deck chairs on the Titanic results in any other result.
Out of interest Bob, as I truly don't recall, what changes did the Cats make in 2008 when they did their review after Bomber was almost given the flick?

Worth the money?
The club has been very clever/sneaky in announcing both the Balme appointment and the "restructure" of the FD at the same time. They are using Balme as a smokescreen for their inability to carry out a thorough restructure including necessary sackings of the seriously underperforming FD.

Out of interest Bob, as I truly don't recall, what changes did the Cats make in 2008 when they did their review after Bomber was almost given the flick?

Have no idea. We are also going into 2017, why would things in 2008 work today? Plus we are talking about different people in a different set up. Not sure the relevance.

The club has been very clever/sneaky in announcing both the Balme appointment and the "restructure" of the FD at the same time. They are using Balme as a smokescreen for their inability to carry out a thorough restructure including necessary sackings of the seriously underperforming FD.

Must admit, that was my first thought. Actually second. I was delighted to see Balme had joined but yes when I looked into it what you say strikes me as what has occurred.

Your sarcasm was a bit over the top

Well I would argue,
1. he can't coach and his win record backs that up,
2. His gameplan was found wanting and his lack of flexibility and creativity cost us games
3. Motivating players would be in dispute as they turned up to beat the pies but were under heavy criticism and scrutiny by the press so that could have motivated them, finals have been a bust and pressure games they have folded like cards
4. They have not started a season well since Wallace so I suggest they are not prepared properly for the early part of the year
5. He has continually played players out of position and refused to drop under performing players

So he is now aware or he is not or he refuses to accept and take the blame, is it all his fault no not really but he sets the bar and the expectations and he is responsible for raising or changing it so the buck stops with him.

Regardless of him as a person, he may be a great bloke I think he is limited as a coach, I think he is stubborn, lacks creativity and won't make the hard calls and I seriously question his footy nouse as he gets lost in games and can't or won't react.

Poor post you say, take it as it is, I say it the way I think because it's my opinion.

I think we have wasted a few years and possibly a few careers along the way and only time will prove me right or wrong.

News Review Completed