Rhys Palmer Rising Star

i watched this bloke in the TAC cup videos, and i reckon if we didn't trade #3 we should have used it on him. the pace and skill up forward he has is simply amazing. good on him.

Ok, whatever the ____.

Let's clear something up, on the weekend

Daniel Kerr - 147 games

33 disposals at 66% efficiency

Rhys Palmer - 2 games

24 disposals at 58% efficiency

vs Hawthorn he had 22 disposals at 82% efficiency

It was wet weather, his first derby, his second game and he got his face destroyed twice.

Think about it.

Has anyone seen the "highlights" video of Palmer's Rising Star nomination? http://bigpondvideo.com/afl/45806

It shows him on at least a dozen-odd occasions either missing his target or putting a team mate under serious pressure. I'm sure he's going to be a top player in the future... it shows, what we all know, the AFL were looking at quantity over quality!

Has anyone seen the "highlights" video of Palmer's Rising Star nomination? http://bigpondvideo.com/afl/45806

It shows him on at least a dozen-odd occasions either missing his target or putting a team mate under serious pressure. I'm sure he's going to be a top player in the future... it shows, what we all know, the AFL were looking at quantity over quality!

Do you mind listing at least a dozen-odd occasions in the video where it shows him missing targets or putting a team mate under pressure.

Because I saw him handball to Peake running passed, kicking to Warnock by himself, hitting Farmer on the chest lace out etc

Its not that I don't beleive that he did missed targets etc as we have all been told his efficiency was 58% or whatever. I just don't think those highlights justify your claim.

Do you mind listing at least a dozen-odd occasions in the video where it shows him missing targets or putting a team mate under pressure.

Because I saw him handball to Peake running passed, kicking to Warnock by himself, hitting Farmer on the chest lace out etc

Its not that I don't beleive that he did missed targets etc as we have all been told his efficiency was 58% or whatever. I just don't think those highlights justify your claim.

Okay, I went and had another look. Out of the about 11 kicks shown in the video, he hits his targets 4 times. The others were pretty much just bombs forward.

Without watching the game and looking at his stats, he had 15 kicks and video showed 11 which were supposedly "highlights"... So I find that 58% efficiency pretty easy to believe.

Okay, I went and had another look. Out of the about 11 kicks shown in the video, he hits his targets 4 times. The others were pretty much just bombs forward.

Without watching the game and looking at his stats, he had 15 kicks and video showed 11 which were supposedly "highlights"... So I find that 58% efficiency pretty easy to believe.

So what your saying is a 2nd game player in a pressure game, just kicked the footy forwards on half a dozen occassions.:rolleyes:

Have a ____ing cry! All I said was he got a lot of ball and the AFL looked at that as deserving of a RS nomination. I didn't see Tuck get a nomination when got just as much of the ball and used it better. I don't need to explain my ____ing POV you dick.

I also said he'd be a top player... :rolleyes:

Its his second game, give him a break. Most players just entering into the heightened pace of the AFL make some mistakes by disposal. From what I saw of the video, Palmer only made one genuine mistake with his disposal - that was nearly kicking straight to an opposition player in the defensive fifty with that snap. The majority of his disposals were accurate and those that weren't were atleast neutral.

Its only early days but so far one has to think that the quality of the 2007 draft has been seriously underrated. Guys like Palmer, Morton, Kreuzer and Rioli all providing brilliant performances and we're only three rounds in. Plus there are reports of more draftees doing well in the seconds.

Nathan Brown has done very well to keep those big three opponents to a combined total of four goals, but he cant be considered as beating them until he actually starts to have an influence on the game off his boot. When he shows he can have a offensive and defensive side to his game at the same time then he will get a nomination for sure:thumbsu:, probably in the next three or so rounds I reckon he will start getting a few touches and consequently the nom.

Negative comment typers? I trust that isnt in reference to the one's that have pointed out he only had 58% efficiency in his disposal.
Who was Freo's last nomination?
David Mundy.

Palmer received a knock in the head that required 20 staples and caused him to have blurred vision for the rest of the game.
All things considered, (including the conditions) , i'm prepared to cut him a little slack on
the percentages, especially as has already been pointed out, it was above 80 the week before.

My understanding was that the top 7 or so were as good as any year, then there was talent down to about 25, but then very thin below that. So not too surprising that the higher picks are doing well. But anyone who finds a player with a late second rounder or below will have done well (and I'm sure there will be a few like there is every year).

Exactly, which is why if you saw the game of Chris Mayne in the same game taken at pick 40 last year you will understand why we think we did pretty well there as well.

On a side note I saw the game of Hill against the Saints and was very impressed. What pick number was he taken at?

David Mundy.

Palmer received a knock in the head that required 20 staples and caused him to have blurred vision for the rest of the game.
All things considered, (including the conditions) , i'm prepared to cut him a little slack on
the percentages, especially as has already been pointed out, it was above 80 the week before.

It was 8 staples...

It's a stupid effin' award, anyway. I wish everyone would shut up about it.

All those Selwood v Pendlebury debates from last year... :rolleyes:
What does any of it mean? Does it have any bearing at all on how they will turn out as footballers?

One year the debate was Hasleby v Ramanauskas. Another year it was H Shaw v D Pearce v Raines

I mean, who gives a flying f**k?

It's like comparing Little Miss Sunshine to Miss World.

All the great young footballers like Judd, Buddy, Pavlich and J Brown rule themselves out of contention by playing too many games in their first season (as 18 year olds) The award would have more meaning if it was straight out vote on the best under 21 player. But likeI said, who gives a stuff?

Congrats to Rhys Palmer (for being nominated... :confused:)
He looks like a future star. But the Dockers knew that already otherwise they wouldn't have drafted him with pick 7.

I didn't realise how good cale morton was, 22 possies and 2 goals against the cats is not easy for a lot of players. :eek:

Yeh and i think he was only on the ground for about 65% of the game.

And Wonaeamirri (taken in the rookie draft) had 16 dissposials at 100% efficiency on debut.(just thought i'd give him a mention).

Rhys Palmer Rising Star