Rhys Shaw to Sydney for 3rd Round Pick

he is 27 in a few days. i am furious right now.
3-4 years time he wont be playing afl and we have given up an opporunity to get a decent player.
rubbish trade.

we had to give up pick 46... it's a rubbish pick

it's a gamble pick... that far out

and the odds are against us

with rhyce... we know what we're getting... and he had a pretty good 2008

we definitely got the better of the deal

tintin = next swannykika ;)

seriously tho, we were miles ahead of what richmond, carlton and the dons could have achieved in the finals.

Surprising. Rhyce is our "Playfair" trade for 2008. If we get some good games out of him over the next few years it's a reasonable price.

WHOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO HOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO

A SHAW BROTHER....(one step closer 2 heath)

SOPHIE GOT A COLLINGWOOD BOY

I LOVE RHYCE IM SOOOOO HAPPY WE GOT HIM & AT A GOOD PRICE!

HES JUST WHAT WE NEED RIGHT NOW ESPCIALLY WHEN LEO GOES!

HES FAST 2!

AND I LIKE HIS HEAD!

His ex girlfriend Bree works for the club in promotions, she loves to party, they both did, she got sick of being Rhys footy trophy wife, she got sick of working and socialising 24/7 with players etc and broke it off, dunno if this is the main reason he wanted out, who knows? Hes all yours roomies!

Just thought I'd expand a little on what Jabso was saying.

Rhyce has a couple of stigma's about him. Firstly that his soft which he earned in the G/F against Brissy and secondly that he is a turn over machine.

The first was right of Rhyce early in his career but he has really turned it around. As Jabso said his not the best player one on one but it's not from being soft or a lack of effort. His certainly not going to win a hell of a lot of his own ball but he will go with conviction when it is his turn which is all you can ask of a player who is mostly an outside runner.

On the turnovers I think it's a combination of the fact that he is a poor kick and the fact that the game plan we have at Collingwood doesn't suit him at all. We kick more then any other team. This year our leading goal scorer was a small which means the kicks into the 50 needed to be pretty spot on. Despite this I reckon Rhyce would have put it into our foward 50 more then any of our other players. It just wasn't smart. I think playing off the HBF and being able to run and handball and make kicks that aren't required to be as spot on he will turn the ball over a lot less. His not a clanger machine he just not a great kick and for collingwood was too often in a situation where he had to attempt a kick that was beyond him.

I think in the right team and with the right game plan his pace, run and carry could be a real asset. He would have had a stella year this year if his good work wasn't so often undone by missing a target on the lead.

The biggest worry and I think much of the reason he was traded is that he seems to have an attitude problem. I think he is the whipping boy out of the Didak Shaw thing and as so often is the case with Collingwood the punishments dealt out are harsher on the player's on the fringe.

I think pick 46 is about fair all things considered and I actually think he will be worth more then that in the short term to you. Long term is questionable and depends on how pick 46 turns out.

Hardest working player at Collingwood and plays with more heart than most.

People are overreacting with his disposal, it is nowhere near as bad as some of these trolls rant on about. He'd be a handy pickup, I definitely think we got the raw end of this deal simply due to Malthouse's dislike of Rhyce.

Give him a chance because he will bust his arse for your club.
Best of luck, I hope he does well.

He is going to be a superstar for you guys. mark my words!!

For some unknown reason he was much maligned by our supporters, after all he hosts one of the greatest ever collingwood names. If he was judged on performance/ability alone i think things woud be different.

He will be able to play through the middle and on the wing. You know he is super quick, and breaks lines, which seems to be what you guys need.

Bird, Bevan, Jack, and the older crew like Kirky, Bolton are all very very slow (both in movement and decision making) although they are all tough as nails. So whenthe ball needs to be moved, your team just cant do it!

He is an asset that will have you all very happy by round 12 09.

Can't say i'm overly happy with this trade, aslong as he doesn't keep guys like Bird or Jack out of the side i spose it doesn't matter he was cheap enough

Thanks to the Collingwood supporters coming over here to give us some info on Shaw :thumbsu:

I gotta admit, I was expecting more posts like "suck shit Swans", "the duds yours now" etc, etc, I guess theres a few ferals that arent too bad, not many though, but good on em anyway..

For any Swans supporters that may be a little uneasy with us recruiting Shaw, have a look at some of his 2008 stats which I posted on another thread earlier!

For the record, I had a look at his stats for season 2008 at the Pies!
He was.....

5th in highest disposals.
6th in centre clearances.
5th in inside 50's
4th in marks.
8th in tackles.
8th in goal assists.
9th in one percenters............ahead of Thomas - 15th, Didak-16th Davis- 19th, Swan-21st & Burns- 24th.
his disposal efficiency was better then Didak, Thomas Swan, & Medhurst.
11th in clangers with the guys above having more.

Oh yeah! And one of the most important stats in todays football!

Bounces.......................he was 2nd at you club for that with 68, behind Thomas - 77. Next was Davis with 46!

One gets the feeling Roos & co know better then the Collingwood supporters themselves just how much of a bargain we have received in picking up Shaw.
Imagine how good he will be for us with a Roos usual little bit of tinkering in the confidence department.

No.....................................I'm pleased with the trade!!

I think we only got him for the inside info in how we can actually beat those mugs one day.

Just kidding.

I shook my head when i heard we landed him, but after realising we only gave up a 3rd Round pick for him i can't complain.

As someone mentioned before, with the scouts having keen eyes on all the players at the draft camps etc, it is becoming harder and harder to find gems that late in the draft with the pick we gave up.

So in effect, we get a player that's been in the AFL system for quite a while, and whilst not a world beater, he's pretty solid and we know what we're getting. With the 3rd Round pick for Collingwood, it is a lottery that far back, you may not know what you will get with it.

I think we only got him for the inside info in how we can actually beat those mugs one day.

Just kidding.

I shook my head when i heard we landed him, but after realising we only gave up a 3rd Round pick for him i can't complain.

As someone mentioned before, with the scouts having keen eyes on all the players at the draft camps etc, it is becoming harder and harder to find gems that late in the draft with the pick we gave up.

So in effect, we get a player that's been in the AFL system for quite a while, and whilst not a world beater, he's pretty solid and we know what we're getting. With the 3rd Round pick for Collingwood, it is a lottery that far back, you may not know what you will get with it.
Guys don't worry he's a very good player, and will fit in nicely... it's just that we don't really need his type of player.

Anyway he was 4th in Pies B&f in 06, and won the Gavin Brown award (Courage) that yr.

He will complement or replace RoK's gut running

Everitt & Matthews (maybe ROK:eek:) have freed up heaps of salary cap space... with more to come next year.. nothing to spend it on!!!

So might as well find the best available!

Not only that.... swapping 3rd for 4th round is virtually nothing!

Good back up depth, mature experienced, player if nothing else!

I thought Swans would grab someone ...when the ROK deal was off!

Its a win win all around .... well more win for Rhyce is anything. In seven years he completed his first full pre-season last year so you've got him going alright and his best asset is that fact he can run all day. His 2nd best asset is his heart so he'll probably fit in fine with your blokes. I've seen him train quite a few times and he always puts in an enormous effort. :thumbsu:

The win for us is that he needed to go. Don't expect too many contested over heads marks and as far as his turns overs most of them will come under pressure or when a clear option isn't standing out like dog's balls. Once he runs he doesn't think outside the box if the option he thought was on doesn't appear, he'll still go through that option. Why he was given that licence at times was more than fustrating and maybe somewhat MM's always stick to the game plan idea maybe at fault too.

Roos will play him differently though. You got him at a good price and if Roos play him as a tagger/run with player then his endurance should see him do fine with you blokes. Good luck Racer!

Its a win win all around .... well more win for Rhyce is anything. In seven years he completed his first full pre-season last year so you've got him going alright and his best asset is that fact he can run all day. His 2nd best asset is his heart so he'll probably fit in fine with your blokes. I've seen him train quite a few times and he always puts in an enormous effort. :thumbsu:

The win for us is that he needed to go. Don't expect too many contested over heads marks and as far as his turns overs most of them will come under pressure or when a clear option isn't standing out like dog's balls. Once he runs he doesn't think outside the box if the option he thought was on doesn't appear, he'll still go through that option. Why he was given that licence at times was more than fustrating and maybe somewhat MM's always stick to the game plan idea maybe at fault too.

Roos will play him differently though. You got him at a good price and if Roos play him as a tagger/run with player then his endurance should see him do fine with you blokes. Good luck Racer!

good post, but why did he 'need' to go?

personnaly i cant stand collingwood or anyone who plays for them, mainly beacause we cant beat them. Im just happy that it looks like ryan o will be hopefully staying with the club and i suppose rhys can only make the side better, as long as he stays off the booze. but for a third round draft pick im not complaining.
suppose will just have to get used to him

Rhys Shaw to Sydney for 3rd Round Pick