• Andrew McQualter

Votes: 87 37.8%
  • Adem Yze

Votes: 146 63.5%

A coach that makes slight tweaks to an out dated game plan for the same team.
We know that since 2021, Hardwicks plan with this team has seen other teams pass us at an alarming rate. Why continue on this path?
But you conveniently and disingenuously deleted the following lines from the above…

‘Club needs to hear what McQualters long term game plan is. It’s highly unlikely to be what the supporters are currently seeing.’

I’ve never discounted McQualter.

But he’s playing Hardwicks game plan with slight tweaks. I don’t think this is his long term end game as he’s holding the fort for the season, but would be disappointed if it was.

Sorry to intrude, but the word I have is that a succession plan is on the table which is still to be agreed to by all parties at Port but they are hoping to get it done. With Hinkley to get another 12 months and a huge bonus $$$$ if he snags a flag this year, and for Carr to take over in 2025. If the deal gets done expect Carr to pull out of richmond coaching race probably during the bye week before finals.
Excellent!

Why would he wait two years for a senior gig when he can have one in 2 months' time though?
Because he and his wife prefer living in Adelaide & he's a Port man would be two reasons.

The Dockers couldn't get him stay long term either as a player or an assistant coach.

This is his second stint as an assistant at Port, he coached North Adelaide after his first go around then went to Freo & returned.

That being said if old mate Hinkles gets a 2 year ext. with triggers he'll probably go.. hold me

I take it with a grain of salt as the panels only just been installed, I’ve heard with source being insiders that josh carr is fav , I suspect prob Chinese whispers , someone that we’re quite interested in is red hot fav

But you conveniently and disingenuously deleted the following lines from the above…

‘Club needs to hear what McQualters long term game plan is. It’s highly unlikely to be what the supporters are currently seeing.’

I’ve never discounted McQualter.

But he’s playing Hardwicks game plan with slight tweaks. I don’t think this is his long term end game as he’s holding the fort for the season, but would be disappointed if it was.
I'm just disagreeing with the rest of your post.

Dunno about your blokes, but watching the poll is a bit like watching a horse race. Peppa was lengths in front, "but here comes Mini Bus, he's out of the congestion, Leppa, Mini bus......"

Because he and his wife prefer living in Adelaide & he's a Port man would be two reasons.

The Dockers couldn't get him stay long term either as a player or an assistant coach.

This is his second stint as an assistant at Port, he coached North Adelaide after his first go around then went to Freo & returned.

That being said if old mate Hinkles gets a 2 year ext. with triggers he'll probably go.. hold me

I would suggest it's more the wife loving Adelaide than Carr, tho no doubt he enjoys it.
Don't forget he is a WA boy and his family are over there.

For her, living in Melb with family in Adelaide versus living in Perth with family in Adelaide is miles apart.

Ad to Mel trips are cheap, it's a one hour flight, and you can easily do multiple trips in a year.
Per to Adl trips are expensive, take 3.5 hours, and from family experience you usually do this once maybe twice a year.

I don't think the "melbourne" part of it is as big as you think

So is Leppa completely out of the equation? Is it down to Carr and Mini?

I would have thought the brains behind the two best performing teams this year should be given equal consideration (Carr & Leppa), with Mini's performance for the rest of the year, his audition and the over riding factor for his chances.

Most SA natives once they land in Vic never go back , like my folks in the 60s , I was born lucky being a first Gen Vic

I would suggest it's more the wife loving Adelaide than Carr, tho no doubt he enjoys it.

For her, living in Melb with family in Adelaide versus living in Perth with family in Adelaide is miles apart.

Ad to Mel trips are cheap, it's a one hour flight, and you can easily do multiple trips in a year.
Per to Adl trips are expensive, take 3.5 hours, and from family experience you usually do this once maybe twice a year.

You may be right, but he's taking a succession plan at Port if it's on the table.

You maybe right, but he's taking a succession plan at Port if it's on the table.
I'd be surprised...

Not many succession plans work in footy, simply because when Day 1 comes to taking over, there's no impact. All the players already know the 'new' coach, he's been there and allowed things under the old coach so it becomes hard for the new coach to crack down on it if he doesn't want it any more.

And even the fact they've heard his voice an message before, there's no impact of a fresh start with a new coach, which is generally what clubs need.

That's my concern with Mini for us. He may be a great coach, the players may love him, but he doesn't get that opportunity to make that 'New Coach Impact' because everybody is already comfortable (maybe too comfortable) with him. Same would be for Carr.

A lot of aspiring coaches would love what a clean slate provides them as an opportunity.

If she likes Adelaide she will like Melbourne. Much better here than the city of churches.

it's all about the bucks."
About bucks.

nathan bucks GIF by CollingwoodFC

It’s happening it’s all about bucks lol confirmed our next coach.

Our performances at the end of games has to just a huge boost for Mini, what a turn around under him.

5 close games and in the final 5 minutes we've kicked 9 goals to 1. In fact since that Giants goal to put them up by 6 points we've kicked 9 goals to 0 in the final 5 of our close games.

Thank you to that Giants Ruck who kicked that goal, because it kickstarted something. In the 4 close games since, we haven't conceded a goal past the 5 min mark of the 4th and kicked 13 goals ourselves past the 5 min mark.

Freo: Last goal 4 mins into the last quarter
Saints: 0 goals in the last quarter
Swans: Last goal 5 mins into last quarter
Hawks: 0 goals in the last quarter

Its the classic Richmond slow start, work our way back into the game slowly and then the stranglehold until the team finally buckles. In the past that break happened sometime in the 3rd quarter which was much less stressful than the final 2 minutes, but a wins a win.

Our performances at the end of games has to just a huge boost for Mini, what a turn around under him.

5 close games and in the final 5 minutes we've kicked 9 goals to 1. In fact since that Giants goal to put them up by 6 points we've kicked 9 goals to 0 in the final 5 of our close games.

Thank you to that Giants Ruck who kicked that goal, because it kickstarted something. In the 4 close games since, we haven't conceded a goal past the 5 min mark of the 4th and kicked 13 goals ourselves past the 5 min mark.

Freo: Last goal 4 mins into the last quarter
Saints: 0 goals in the last quarter
Swans: Last goal 5 mins into last quarter
Hawks: 0 goals in the last quarter

Its the classic Richmond slow start, work our way back into the game slowly and then the stranglehold until the team finally buckles. In the past that break happened sometime in the 3rd quarter which was much less stressful than the final 2 minutes, but a wins a win.
Real world beaters there and I can see they will all be challenging for the 2023 Premiership.lol.
Stop aiming low and look above towards the sky and see the light.