Richmond 2007 National Draft

I'd be a bit surprised (and disappointed) if we took Richards now. Simmonds, Pattison, Graham and Putt as genuine ruck options with the possibility of picking up another long term ruckman in Bellchambers if we want to. Surely 4 ruckmen on a list of 38 is enough, and if you're going to go for more than that then surely you don't need another mid-twenties underachiever type over a kid who was rated as a 2nd round chance and has 12-13 years ahead of him (Bellchambers).
Gaertner is too young to be rookied, so we'd need to take him in the PSD if at all. I think we have an "embarrasment of riches" (relatively)to take at PSD 1 and Rookie 1. Gourdis, Bellchambers, Gaertner, Petrenko, Pfeiffer, Al Neville etc. Not Richards now. Please not Richards.
Throw in McGinnity as well

STOCKED

I can't believe Rance slipped :D

We affectivly nabbed two top 10 picks in most peoples phantoms
Why did Rance "slip" to pick 18 in a weak draft if he's so good?

He must have some questionable weaknesses if he fell when he was AA.

I'll never understand people raving about getting a guy who was overlooked by every club at least once. It's as naive as people saying Joel Selwood slipped and believing their club's BS that Ryder was their number one pick.

I'm rapt we got Browne and Armfield who we rated, but I'm not expecting both to become players.

A Phantom draft on Bigfooty mean nothing.

i think he slipped because if you look at the players taken before him the clubs seemed to pick for a need! obviously some took the Best Avaliable but i think that the clubs that didn't need a Key Back went for players to fill other areas on the ground.

IMO

SO many midfielders went early! Can't believe Gourdis wasn't picked up. Who ever picks him up in the rookie draft should be very very happy!

Sigh :rolleyes: Very very intelligent response, pretty sure its a Draft and Trading forum u peanut.

This draft was weak in the sense that each player after about pick 2 comes with question marks. Rance has weaknesses just like about 60 of the other draftees taken today. Rances weakness is his speed and wether he might get chopped up by quick forwards. His kicking isnt anything special in terms of distance. Nice dinky little kick but lacks any real penetration over long distances.

BF consensus means squat in terms of where the players are ranked by recruiting managers. People need to really remember that.

YOU are the peanut - stupid enough to pick up Dew - now go back to your own boards

Stoked with who we got with the 3 picks. Now the most important part getting them to play to their potential. Picking up Putt at 51 hopefull means we are not going to bother with Richards in the PSD and may look at one of the kids overlooked today or Collard/Pfeiffer instead.
there is no way richards will end up at punt road not if the players have anything to do with it

For those who say 3.01 over 20 is not fast should take a look at the results of some of the other highly rated key position players

Darcy Daniher 3.07
Matthew Kreuzer 3.11
Lachlan Henderson 3.14
Matthew Lobbe 3.11
Ben McEvoy 3.28
Andy Otten 3.06
Scott Simpson 3.16

And then theres the mids
Patrick Veszpremi 3.02
Callan Ward 3.03
Ashley Arrowsmith 3.16
Addam Maric 3.07
Scott Selwood 3.02

I think you get my point, Rance is far from slow:thumbsu:

Quicker than midfielders Veszpremi and Ward and Selwood. I reckon Rance will be ok. Hes not slow, the Hawks supporters are upset coz they needed a full back like Rance but there recruiters picked Rioli instead.

I think its funny how everybody rates a guy like Rance in there top 10 until Richmond pick them up and then there hacks. Give our recruiters some credit. We have done well over the last couple of years with Francis Jackson in charge and have been able to recruit some absolute steals like Conners at 60 last year (If you have seen him play you will know what i mean)

What ever happened to that skinny little defender that they through to the wolves? Zac Dawson? Got torn a new one by Anfony Rocca and has barely registered anything since!

I think its funny how everybody rates a guy like Rance in there top 10 until Richmond pick them up and then there hacks. Give our recruiters some credit. We have done well over the last couple of years with Francis Jackson in charge and have been able to recruit some absolute steals like Conners at 60 last year (If you have seen him play you will know what i mean)

yeh exactly good post mate :thumbsu:, .....cause half of em are just sore losers, or didnt get rance or are just tossers who dont know anything bout footy,

Exactly, if the Hawks had of picked him up where we did they would be saying the same thing, same for some of the ******* Carlton supporters, just cause you didn't get him doesn't mean he is crap.

yeh exactly good post mate :thumbsu:, .....cause half of em are just sore losers, or didnt get rance or are just tossers who dont know anything bout footy,

So many people get fixated on this bloke being better than that bloke. And a guy being worth 10 or 18. So many buy the "best available" crappola hook line and sinker.

Whether Rance went at 5, 15 or 18 the simple truth is (as predicted) he was the first KD taken. Harry Taylor plays forward and back so could be claimed as a defender at 17.

Rance did not fall. Clubs elected not to recruit key defenders. He maintained his status as the best key defender in the draft.

Collier did not fall. He was still the 3rd tall defender taken after Rance and Pears. Too many are fixated on the selection number and not actually doing what they claim they are and looking at the rankings.

The Hawks picked an out and out dud with the eleventh pick in the draft.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hUeBcab_9eE

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=K7viP0y2U1o

Like every club, the Tigers will have to worry about stopping Franklin, Dowler, Boyle, Thorp, Williams, Roughead, Rioli and Williams for the next five to ten years.

Thank God you drafted Rance.

And a few brainy Richmond supporters are saying they'd rather have McMahon, Morton, Rance and Cotchin than Judd. :cool:

Richmond 2007 National Draft