rota69

Nov 25, 2004
26 July 2006 Herald-Sun
Jim Wilson

THE race to snare Jason Akermanis has taken a twist, with Richmond coach Terry Wallace declaring the Tigers would be interested in attracting the disgruntled Brisbane Lion to Punt Rd.

But Wallace said any move to lure Akermanis would not come at the cost of an early draft pick.

"Jason is a terrific player and he'd be a great acquisition to our club, as he would be to a lot of other clubs," Wallace said yesterday.

"We would want a player of his calibre but we have a line where we are heading as a club. If that breaks the line, then we won't be doing it."

It's understood the Tigers have informally sounded out the 2001 Brownlow medallist.

Wallace's media-savvy approach would seemingly be the ideal fit for Akermanis, who is reluctant to give up his media interests.

It's believed he earns close to $150,000 in his contracts with newspapers, television and radio.

Along with Essendon's Kevin Sheedy, Wallace would be the most likely of the coaches to allow Akermanis to continue his media commitments.

But Bombers captain Matthew Lloyd has indicated any deal to attract Akermanis to Windy Hill would have strings attached.

He said there would be a concerted push by the club's leadership group and key officials to demand Akermanis adhere to certain off-field conditions.

Wallace said the Tigers leadership group would have an input into any deal to secure Akermanis.

But he wasn't concerned with Nathan Brown's comments this month on The Footy Show, when Brown indicated Akermanis wouldn't be welcome at Punt Rd and described him as unstable.

"Browny fires off about a few things like Jason does, and I reckon if they walked in the door, they'd shake hands and be pretty chummy," Wallace said. "I don't think that would be much of an issue."

the only way we would end up with him is if the lions are poised to lose him to the bombers for nothing and they make a last minute deal or something like that.

Darth_Tiger said:
the only way we would end up with him is if the lions are poised to lose him to the bombers for nothing and they make a last minute deal or something like that.

This cannot happen Darth. He's still under contract for 07 and cannot go into the PSD. It will all boil down to which melbourne club offer the best deal. The club holds all the cards here regarding where he goes.

I don't think brisbane will be very stubborn on this one to be honest. Aker simply cannot play at Brisbane next year so the Lions will have to do any sort of deal. i think you'll find Aker can be picked up for as little as a 2nd or 3rd round draft pick. Any club who offers higher than this will be paying over the odds for him.

Lenny* said:
No chance.

Other teams will offer their first rounders, and we wont. Which is definately the right thing to do.

ill bet you any money no one will offer a first rounder this year for a guy thats only got 3 years left.

If richmond do, Ill be filthy.

Mr Miller said:
Straight swap for Daniel Jackson and if thats not enough throw in Tivendale for a sweetner.

Get stuffed, Jacko is going to be a great player. Not trading him for a hack like Akermanis.

I'd say Sydney and Brisbane will just swap Davis for Akermanis, and settle both their problems in one go.

No Aker for 1st round chuck in Jackson, Humm, Hartigan, Chaffey or maybe a Gasper and a second or third rounder for him its fine. But personnaly i think we could do betta without him our kids have stepped up and shown they can play.

Because he is contracted the PSD is no option for the bummers. There second pick which will be around pick 18 will be about what they will offer plus a player. So that will be the bench mark for his services.

tugga said:
I don't think brisbane will be very stubborn on this one to be honest. Aker simply cannot play at Brisbane next year so the Lions will have to do any sort of deal. i think you'll find Aker can be picked up for as little as a 2nd or 3rd round draft pick. Any club who offers higher than this will be paying over the odds for him.

Pass me the scoob, because you've obviously had far too much. 3rd round pick, you're dreaming!

Paying over the odds for a 3 time premiership player, yes 30 years old, but won his clubs B&F last year by the flemington straight. Has won Brisbane 3 games single handedly this year and has the pace and skills that only 3-4 people in the league can match? I dont think so champ. (which might l add, still wont be enough... because, top clubs with picks 13-16 will go for it, l'd imagine).

He definately warrants a late first round pick... at least!

Would not relinquish our 1st round draft pick for anything, its a rule that l want our club to reinforce. But, happy for them to do what they like with the rest of our picks to get him.

nut....u underestimate or not seeing shultz value atm.......i wouldnt trade him for aker.....maybe a 3rd or 2nd round pick+hartigan

Wally Matera said:
Pass me the scoob, because you've obviously had far too much. 3rd round pick, you're dreaming!

Paying over the odds for a 3 time premiership player, yes 30 years old, but won his clubs B&F last year by the flemington straight. Has won Brisbane 3 games single handedly this year and has the pace and skills that only 3-4 people in the league can match? I dont think so champ. (which might l add, still wont be enough... because, top clubs with picks 13-16 will go for it, l'd imagine).

He definately warrants a late first round pick... at least!

Would not relinquish our 1st round draft pick for anything, its a rule that l want our club to reinforce. But, happy for them to do what they like with the rest of our picks to get him.
3rd round pick is not as silly as it sounds. I wouldn't be surprised if it came to that at 1.50pm on the last day of trading and no deal had been struck. he can't play there next year. No ifs, no buts. If a deal hasn't been done late on the final day, they will practically give him away or let him slide through to the PSD to save some face.

tugga said:
they will practically give him away or let him slide through to the PSD to save some face.

Wont slide through to PSD unless they pay him out (and why would they). He's contracted to 2007.

However they will be anxious to get rid of him that's for sure.

tigerdan said:
Wont slide through to PSD unless they pay him out (and why would they). He's contracted to 2007.

However they will be anxious to get rid of him that's for sure.
Agree it's a long shot, but they will more than likely deslist him if they can't trade him. Then he goes in PSD.

tugga said:
Agree it's a long shot, but they will more than likely deslist him if they can't trade him. Then he goes in PSD.

Highly unlikely. Too much of a cash hit. They delist him and someone drafts him on $150k a year and the Lions would have to eat $300k+ (?) in salary cap space and contract pay-out.

This deal will won't be about the draft pick, it will be about the contract.

The club that offers to pay 100% of his contract for 2007 will be able to offer Brisbane a 3rd round pick. The club that makes Brisbane pay 60% of his contract will have to offer a first round pick.

In modern trading it is not enough to talk about the player and the picks. Also have to talk about the $400k contract.

Brisbane want him gone, that makes it a seller's market.

Aker will probably want to go to a Melbourne club to enhance his media profile, and will probably want to go to a club that is a chance of winning finals.

Unfortunately for him Geelong and Melbourne are well stocked with small forwards and Grant Thomas won't want a loose-cannon like him.

Bulldogs make sense. Try to add some quality and get a premiership. His profile would help them.

If Aker decides he wants to go to a certain club, and only that club, then Brisbane will have to take next to nothing for him or have to keep him for another year.

Kurtis G said:
Total backflip by Terry who ruled him out a few weeks ago.

Disagree mate no backflip by Terry. Just remember back to the Press conference Terry had before the swans game at Telstra dome. Along the lines of " What i would do to give Akermanis a tiger jumper " HE has always been interested in getting him . Just he did not wanna really say Yes we want him. Understand.

itsintheblood said:
It will all boil down to which melbourne club offer the best deal. The club holds all the cards here regarding where he goes.

It doesn't nessicerily boil down to which Melbourne club offers the best deal.
Personally I think that Adelaide could want him, they wouldnt care if they gave up a first round pick and maybe a mediocre player for him.
I'm sure that if they got Aker then they would surely win a premiership if they aren't already going to this year.

Weaver said:
If Aker decides he wants to go to a certain club, and only that club, then Brisbane will have to take next to nothing for him or have to keep him for another year.

So basically if we gain Aker's interest- he choses our club, we can then basically make a great deal for ourselves? If Brisbane don't accept this deal, they could see themselves paying out the entire contract or retaining him. (which they obviously don't want)

So they would basically be forced to trade him to his club of preferance and that club's offer? If not they face the obvious threats.

Interesting.

Richmond In Hunt For Akermanis