Preview Richmond Vs Melbourne, MCG, Sunday 3:40 pm.... This is SRS BZNSS

Who will taste sweet victory this Sunday?

Cutty

Sep 23, 2010
Sector 7 Slums
Midgar FC
Why did I volunteer to do a serious preview??? :eek:

Lapel%20pin%20logo%20300.jpg
VS
melbourneteamboardentry copy.jpg

This week we play a team that may well have just hit absolute rock bottom. Given the vastly different ways in which Richmond and Melbourne went about their business this week you could be forgiven for predicting a pretty large margin in favour of our beloved Tigers. However, this week may just chuck a few curve balls our way and we all know how well the Tigers go as the favourite.

THE LEAD UP

Richmond: After enduring some tough losses to some good opposition the boys went out and showed some real character in the face of a 5-1 Port team on a real high and plenty of media scrutiny. Richmond emphatically burst the Port bubble with a Peter North sized needle and have silenced the haters for a week at least. Unfortunately we have lost Tuck for 6-8 weeks with a fractured shoulder blade and it looks like Knights for the season with a knee tendon which takes some of the gloss of what was a great win for the club.

Melbourne: Wow, I know we of all supporters shouldn't get stuck in over another sides loss to the Suns but that was a real soul crusher. Positives out of the game for the Demons was the performance of Viney and IMO Max Gawn who showed that his heart could fit 18 other Melbourne players hearts inside it. After a stinging loss like that, expect the Demons to be raked over the coals again in the Media this week. Whether it will have any effect on the team at this point remains to be seen.

THE GAME

Richmond: Hard not to go into this one supremely confident. There are a few wounded/sore soldiers out there who could potentially use a rest in the lead up to the filthy PED injecting cheats and West Coast games but I hope that we just play out best available 22 and not get too cute. Watching the Demons play today, it was difficult for me to discern any system or structure (which is no doubt half the problem) so rather than enact a specific plan for Melbourne, we should concentrate on our own structures, win the contested ball and just do the simple things right. If we run for the full 4 quarters and play to our strengths, we will be singing the song at the end.

Melbourne: The Tigers are suseptible to one thing more than any other: PRESSURE. If Melbourne can really press up on us, give us no space and pressure the ball carrier we will cough up the footy more often than not. Im not sure that Melbourne are capable of doing this for a quarter let alone an entire match but this would be their best chance to get the win. This may be cruel but when I look at the team sheets I can't see to many match ups that will be won by the Melbourne players. Add this to the fact that Sylvia will most likely have a couple of weeks off and usually has a field day against us and the Demons are well and truly behind the 8-Ball this week.

5 TALKING POINTS

THE DEMONS COACH

Who knows if Neeld will still be at the helm by the end of this week, the expansion sides have vaporised a few coaching careers thus far. We will have to wait and see on this one, new coaches often bring out strong performances in an underperforming team so the side that played GCS might just come out firing next week. Logic dictates that Craig will be the go-to guy should Neeld fall on his sword, Todd Viney may step back in also.

THE ROAST

I am of the belief that it was a real source of pride amongst Melbourne that thay were yet to lose to an expansion side. Not only did they lose, they were spanked from pillar to post. The Footy Media will be out for their pound of flesh and the question is will this galvanise the team or will they pack it in and leave it all up to Viney and Jones?

JACK VS JAMES

Frawley has had Jack measure more often than not and is a fantastic KPD, however I'm wondering if his heart is in it anymore. As an outsider looking in, his faith in the MFC seems to have eroded over the last two years and he seems much less dominant than he once did. I'm hoping Jack can rub a bit of extra salt in and kick 5 on him.

MAX GAWN

The kid can play, if I were a Demon, it would be GAWN 007. Will look forward to seeing what he brings to the table agains the Tigers. Is ruck height so will cause a few problems in our backline if he gets the supply but im thinking he will be limited to a cameo performance.

COLIN SYLVIA

Thanks mate, your selfish and petty undiciplined act on Brennan will most likely give you a few weeks off. Given the usual 5 goals you usually contribute against the Tigers the Demons are even further back that they needed to be.

PREDICTION

Tigers confidence levels are up and the increasing competition for spots will ensure that the boys on the ground will want to give a good account of themselves. Who knows with Melbourne how this week will affect the team. Head says Tigers by plenty, heart says Tigers by enough.

Tigers by 50

Great write up, again :)

Expecting a big win, I don't want to take this game lightly, percentage is going to be vitally important come years end and we need to make the most of these games against struggling opposition.
We should be able to control the footy and pump it inside 50 enough times to overwhelm their rattled defence and kick a huge score.

Impossible to lose this one, the Dees just have no structure and won't be able to implement a plan to stop us. Discipline and structure far outweigh any extra effort a new coach might invoke from the players so yeah we can't lose. The only possible way we might be challenged is if it's pissing down rain.

Tiges by 80.

Great write up.

Really want to smash the opposition this week.

Remember how brazenly they tanked
Remember them singing our song, when Jordy kicked that goal
Remember their arrogance, how all their high draft picks were guaranteed to bring them success

I don't care at how low an ebb they are right now, I have no sympathy for them.

This represents a genuine test of where we are. Whilst we beat them comfortably last year, it was one of our worst performances for the season. We allowed ourselves to be dragged down to their level and played very scrappy football, if the same happens again we've really not moved much further forward.

I want us to put our foot on their throat from the opening bounce, and proceed over the full 4 Quarters to crush whatever life remains in their club. (all metaphorical of course). No putting the cue in the rack, a merciless, relentless, remorseless annihilation of them.

In short I want RFC to make a statement with this game by ruthlessly putting this pathetic rabble to the sword.

(in case you hadn't guessed I don't like them much :p)

Anything less than a 12 goal win, will feel like a loss. Never give sucker an even break. We have to nail this coffin and smash the living **** out of them.

Hardwick needs to show he means business by playing an absolute full strength side. Not like the GC game last year when he thought fit to bring Angus Graham in for a run.

Destroy the festering rabble scab. :thumbsu:

Gee any chance we can get McMahon to do a lap in a car pre game? Hey why not chair him off after this game as we have so much to thank him for :thumbsu:

If we don't thump this mob by at least 80 then this game will be a loss I reckon. They are lost souls at present and we need to put them to the sword.

Two forced outs this week with injuries to knights and tuck And probably a good opportunity to give Ivan a rest and let Oren and vickery do the job this week. Also no need to rush cotch back in and a fresh cotch vs essendon makes sense.

No vfl this week doesn't do anyone any favors but a look at Arnott and Dea would be nice. Vicks can replace Ivan and cover some ground rather than 3rd tall.

Pity we have to wait until Sunday but here is our chance to get some % and go 5&3

Go Tiges :thumbsu:

I really don't want to see White back in the side again. He's not up to it.

We should field our strongest possible side and go out to smash them. If Cotchin is 100% bring him. We need to belt them and get our percentage right up there as we are the lowest in the top 8.

We take this game lightly our at own peril. Why am I nervous?

I really don't want to see White back in the side again. He's not up to it.

We should field our strongest possible side and go out to smash them. If Cotchin is 100% bring him. We need to belt them and get our percentage right up there as we are the lowest in the top 8.

We take this game lightly our at own peril. Why am I nervous?

Because it feels like a Gold Coast game?

You all very bad, but I likey :p;)

I agree with many posts here. We do need to play 4 quarters, work hard for each other and stick with the coaches advice,structures etc this is pro sport. All top 4-8 sides will do the same favour to us or other team :thumbsu:.

First half Margin?

Seriously, this should be like a training drill, keepings off.

I'm actually hoping they sack the coach and play down the middle of the ground instead of on the wings. We could win by 1000 points that way :oops: