Game Day Rnd 5 - West Coast vs Sydney - Saturday 23rd April @ SCG

What is your favourite WCE v Sydney moment?

• Speargate

Votes: 3 2.3%
  • O'Loughlin vs Daniel Williams

Votes: 15 11.6%
  • Wallsy's "Good vs Evil"

Votes: 7 5.4%
  • Boooooooo

Votes: 5 3.9%
  • Q Stick swearing @ 2006 GF

Votes: 37 28.7%
  • Jack Watts

Votes: 19 14.7%
  • Glass giving Hall a broken wrist

Votes: 17 13.2%
  • Kerr tackle on McVeigh '07

Votes: 38 29.5%
  • Quinz ban from Sydney board

Votes: 16 12.4%

Plenty to like though, wouldn't be losing faith, unless you're not a true fan, then you can GAGF!
Just because not everything is rainbows and daisies doesn't mean we aren't fans.

There was barely anything to like about that performance.

Not as bad as being made out here.

Poor last qtr, and a few poor patches here and there. Sydney are my premiership favourites so always tough up there.

Plenty to like though, wouldn't be losing faith, unless you're not a true fan, then you can GAGF!
Contenders like Adelaide will lose but still push the other side to the edge - particularly when that side loses a rotation early in the match.

We are all or nothing - we either dominate when it's on our terms or we go missing and get absolutely spanked when the going gets tough.

It's embarrassing to be a supporter of that kind of team.

Not as bad as being made out here.

Poor last qtr, and a few poor patches here and there. Sydney are my premiership favourites so always tough up there.

Fan actually means fanatic. Being a fanatic is not something to be proud of. It prevents you from objectively looking at the issues and discussing them openly. Keep the fanatics contained on Facebook, we will discuss the real issues on here.

And I disagree about it not being that bad. There is enough data now that is highlighting how average we are as a football team.

It is extremely difficult to back up time and time again in big stage games. Your boys had a brilliant season in 2015 well ahead of your time.

Take the following into perspective:

Adelaide crumbled after the 2012 PF loss.

Fremantle never made a grand final again after the 13 loss, and also lost a prelim at home.

Port crumbled after the 2014 PF loss and even Sydney struggled the year after the 2014 GF.

The expectations need to be lowered a little and less criticism is needed.

KOLOKOTRONIS

Some campaigners on here. Was at game. Yes we lost. Sydney are good. If we beat Sydney at home it would have been a bit upset.

Wouldn't mind a proper small forward though. Someone like poopooluuuuu would do

Yeah we lost, don't have a problem with losing, it was the way we lost that I take exception to. If you don't think it was that bad then I don't think you paid too much attention to the game.

I disagree, I don't think we have the talent or depth to win a flag.

Agree with this comment we have better than average talent that should keep us mid table or just above however our bottom half dozen let us down.
This coupled with seasoned players not being on song hurts us big time.

Bully's at home........... road kill away.

Also I am getting pretty fu2king tired of watching Darling play for free kicks, the relentless attack on the football that he showed in his first few seasons is all but gone. Also frustrated with Masten's inability to either lay or break a tackle.

Wellers was good today and that was a real plus other wise a pretty dismal day at the office for the team.

Just because not everything is rainbows and daisies doesn't mean we aren't fans.

There was barely anything to like about that performance.
I'm not asking for rainbows, but people saying they aren't going to go to games anymore blah blah aren't fans.

Today wasn't great, but playing a top team at a ground we never play, in poor conditions, and going with them for 3 qtrs isn't the doom and gloom people are making it out to be.

Agree with this comment we have better than average talent that should keep us mid table or just above however our bottom half dozen let us down.
This coupled with seasoned players not being on song hurts us big time.

Bully's at home........... road kill away.

Also I am getting pretty fu2king tired of watching Darling play for free kicks, the relentless attack on the football that he showed in his first few seasons is all but gone. Also frustrated with Masten's inability to either lay or break a tackle.

Wellers was good today and that was a real plus other wise a pretty dismal day at the office for the team.

His staging for free kicks is embarrassing and is a symptom of his lack of application towards winning the contest. He needs a kick up the arse.
Wellers was silk and seems to always make the right decisions.

It's only saturday arvo and I'm already depressed for the rest of the long weekend.

Same old story unfortunately, have a resounding win to amp the fans up about how far this team can go and then the next week on the road we are just a fumbling mess. Teams like Sydney and Hawthorn are such a professional outfit no matter where they play, they find one way or another to get the job done or at least be competitive. They grind out games when it gets tough yet we just crumble when the heat is on. Shades of 2014. The thing is we will probably flatten the Pies next week and all will be good in the world again before getting a hiding from Geelong in Geelong.

The term 'flat track bullies' is all too accurate.

We may improve and get it together as the season goes on, but so far I haven't like us at all. We beat Brissie, were awful against Hawthorn..dunno if it showed on tv how lacklustre we really were. Beat richmond but a half decent team would have killed us that day too. It's not being negative, it's just the way we are playing so far this season..basically brain dead. I hope it changes soon but sometimes you just have to be realistic and say it's not looking good. Last year we were proudly sheer guts and effort..perhaps that horrible horrible GF did a bit of damage.

I'm not asking for rainbows, but people saying they aren't going to go to games anymore blah blah aren't fans.

Today wasn't great, but playing a top team at a ground we never play, in poor conditions, and going with them for 3 qtrs isn't the doom and gloom people are making it out to be.

What I don't understand is why you are willing to accept that effort and try and make excuses for it? Blows my mind.

We may improve and get it together as the season goes on, but so far I haven't like us at all. We beat Brissie, were awful against Hawthorn..dunno if it showed on tv how lacklustre we really were. Beat richmond but a half decent team would have killed us that day too. It's not being negative, it's just the way we are playing so far this season..basically brain dead. I hope it changes soon but sometimes you just have to be realistic and say it's not looking good. Last year we were proudly sheer guts and effort..perhaps that horrible horrible GF did a bit of damage.

To me it looks like we have learnt exactly zero from that GF loss. When it gets tough this team mostly rolls over and gives up.

Trying to blame our stoppage coach is drawing pretty long bow.
Have you ever thought the players might be the problem?
Blaming a coach is under 10,s stuff.
The AFL is a very professional league, the players know every type of stoppage like the back of their hands. Implementing it seems to be our issue.

Strongly disagree coaches are paid to instruct and teach the player what to do if they cant communicate that message you need to find some one who can.
If, as you are suggesting , the players are the problem and not playing to instructions then you drop them and find player that follow the directives.

A couple of question for you if I may.

Whats changed since last season when we were winning stoppages ?
What or who do you attribute our stoppage demise too if its not the coaching and structures?

Come on let's not Melt too much it's another loss away lets not embarrass ourselves now we will look like rock stars next week so dont stress :D:D:D

Fan actually means fanatic. Being a fanatic is not something to be proud of. It prevents you from objectively looking at the issues and discussing them openly. Keep the fanatics contained on Facebook, we will discuss the real issues on here.

And I disagree about it not being that bad. There is enough data now that is highlighting how average we are as a football team.
Semantics about the wording.

I'm happy to discuss the game and the errors that we made today.

But if people are just going to give up on this team they can leave.

Sydney will do what they did today to a lot of good teams. We were with them for 3 qtrs, started particularly well, but kicking was poor when switching into the middle.

Hurn, Masten and others dropped marks that resulted in direct goals in the centre square.

Kennedy kicks into the middle resulted in direct goals.

That's your game, tidy those up and it makes a big difference.

Against one of the best contested teams we beat them and matched Sydney is nearly all stats outside of clearances and i50s. Sydney just more efficient.

To me it looks like we have learnt exactly zero from that GF loss. When it gets tough this team mostly rolls over and gives up.
Im not gonna accuse the guys of rolling over, I think thats unfair and a cop out. Just of not being good enough mentally and physically..who knows why? It is what it is and fingers crossed it changes. This group got us to a GF..they can play

But if people are just going to give up on this team they can leave.

What does that even mean? Because it sounds like a completely meaningless statement. If I don't think we're a contender I should leave? Yeah nah, that's fanboy bullshit.

I haven't 'given up', I genuinely don't believe we have the midfield capable of winning us a premiership.

I'm not accepting it.

I just think calling for coaches heads and saying it's season over is a bit of an overreaction.

Who is saying sack the coaches? Only question people have is on Cox.
The problems with the team are more fundamental than you realise and if you can't see that then you haven't been paying attention.

Game Day Rnd 5 - West Coast vs Sydney - Saturday 23rd April @ SCG