Review Rnd9 : Review/Rant/Roast megathread

Good post dogupya. :thumbsu:

It's been a while....

We're witnessing something special being created from the ground up and it reignited the posting juices... Another pleasant surprise!

Re: The senseless bashing of Higgins and Gia thread- post Cats game.

It's pretty funny sitting in the members week in week out. Gia cops so much flak from Dog supporters its not funny, then everyone shuts up when he kicks a goal. Then the flak starts again until he kicks another goal. At least he's scoring....

I was mostly happy with Higgins' game. Gia was putrid at times, but I'll take the goals he kicks any day. Hopefully our other forwards will start performing one day soon and putting some serious pressure on him to hold his spot.

It's been a while....

We're witnessing something special being created from the ground up and it reignited the posting juices... Another pleasant surprise!

Good to see you back mate

Special mention to Crossy tonight, he killed Bartel

Cross has been awesome for us. Early on in the year I thought he was gone and almost a liability. Has proven me wrong these past few weeks. Has courage in spades and seems to be working on moving the ball quicker in recent times.

I was mostly happy with Higgins' game. Gia was putrid at times, but I'll take the goals he kicks any day. Hopefully our other forwards will start performing one day soon and putting some serious pressure on him to hold his spot.

Well, that's just the thing ain't it? Until there are other forwards coming through putting pressure on to Higgins and Gia, then we really have no choice but to play these guys!

Too easy to say missing from 30 out 'happens'. We need Jones and Rough to nail those goals when the opportunity arises. They're young and they'll learn, but we need a strong stance on it.

Mate, Franklin kicks, 5.6, 3.7, and the like every single week, and he's the number 1 ranked forward in the league!

Skinner is very raw, needs to find self belief and it will click. Not sure if he is ready for the big time yet.

Jones played his best game for the year but missed easy goals. Same with Roughy, thought it was his best game up forward but had to kick those goals from in front.

Watching Panos last Sunday kicking for goal, you have all the confidence he will kick it from anywhere. Is it just height that's keeping him out? We had Pods in our hands for years and never gave him a shot.

He has plenty of self belief already, that is his problem. Unfortunately his skills at the moment don't match his application.

I want Panos in ASAP, Footy smarts is what we are lacking in the forward line.

Gia is on he wrong side of his career and barely has any knees left and is as slower than my mum.

We are expecting this bloke to run and chase like Dalhaus, it's never gonna happen, we just need to get over this already. Our kids need to pick us his slack and chop him out.

What you cannot deny is that this bloke continues to kick goals, until our big galoots get the footy consistantly and kick the f***** thing straight, Gia stays in the side. His footy smarts alone get us at least 3 -4 goals a game, his body work and postioning is first class and with a forwardline as dysfunctional as ours, we simply cannot afford to drop this guy for another inexperinced kid.

We've got time on our side. Get another good ball user this draft, keep getting games into our young talls. We'll be back in finals in no time.

Yeah I think we're not as in bad shape as what people thought. Nice signature btw. :D

Gia is on he wrong side of his career and barely has any knees left and is as slow as a wet week.

We are expecting this bloke to run and chase like Dalhaus, it's never gonna happen, we just need to get over this already. Our kids need to pick us his slack and chop him out.

What you cannot deny is that this bloke continues to kick goals, until our big galoots get the footy consistantly and kick the f***** thing straight, Gia stays in the side. His footy smarts alone get us at least 3 -4 goals a game, his body work and postioning is first class and with a forwardline as dysfunctional as ours, we simply cannot afford to drop this guy for another inexperinced kid.

That's exactly what I'm saying. I can moan about Gia all I like for the things he can't/doesn't do, but I'm never going to deny what he can do, very well, that hardly anyone else in our side does. And our forward line's the one place we desperately need more experience, even if it is at the expense of speed and one percenters and all that kind of thing.

I'll say one thing, at the start of this season I never would have thought I'd be this disappointed to see Grant out of the side. I think we missed him today.

It's pretty funny sitting in the members week in week out. Gia cops so much flak from Dog supporters its not funny, then everyone shuts up when he kicks a goal. Then the flak starts again until he kicks another goal. At least he's scoring....
I just shake my head at a couple of posts on here bagging Guido and Higgins. Oh yeah, they kicked goals, but they were still crap. You know who was "crap"? Roughead and Jones! Oh SURE they took marks, but couldn't friggin kick the goals. If it was Guido and Higgins, 30 m out slight angle, I got no worries. Then again, some doggies supporters would rather they miss, so the can keep abusing them.

Skinner was horrible? He kicked a goal and nearly kicked another, harrassed and chased and tackled and got involved. That's what you want from a sub. And he's supposed to make a contest that's his job. The little guys should know this and stay down for the crumb or stay the hell out of his way.

On the positives (instead of demanding players be dropped), the dogs won contested possies AGAIN and more often than not, kept the ball inside forward 50 and capitalized with goals or atleast a point.

Macca would just tell them, make that the benchmark, meanwhile, we'll work on goal kicking from set shots, smalls to get the hell out of the way of pack markers and for Higgins and Guido to work together becauses they could have kicked MORE goals between them.....but of course they're still "Crap".

*end rant*

He has plenty of self belief already, that is his problem. Unfortunately his skills at the moment don't match his application.

I want Panos in ASAP, Footy smarts is what we are lacking in the forward line.

Does he deserve his shot at AFL footy? Or just chuck him in there for the hell of it?

You must sit close to me. I've got a whole group of them behind me. He can't do a thing right in their eyes.

10 pages and no mention of how horrible Murphy was tonight? He really should have stayed home. Just wasn't his night tonight, absolute shocker.

As for Roughy and Jones, I think they're starting to do a lot right, they had 6 shots on goal, that's a good start. Give em some more confidence and experience and they'll start slotting those goals. Considering the young list we're playing, being 4 and 5 and playing against the top teams as well as we have been, it's certainly not time to tear up the membership just yet.

Skinner was horrible? He kicked a goal and nearly kicked another, harrassed and chased and tackled and got involved. That's what you want from a sub. And he's supposed to make a contest that's his job. The little guys should know this and stay down for the crumb or stay the hell out of his way.

Agree with you in regards to the anti Gia-Higgins, but Skinner was crap despite his flukey goal that bent sideways through a pack. After playing 10 minutes in third quarter when siren went he had hands on head panting like he had run a marathon and his effort on the wing was one of the worst of the night. I honestly can't see him making it, hope i am wrong though.

Very debatable saying Murphy had a shocker, I thought he was pretty good, provided a lot of run from the half back and had 29 touches at 76% efficiency. I thought the backline was great tonight, as they didn't leak many goals in terms of being out marked and on leads. Most of their goals came from either near the 50 or right in the goal square.

Does he deserve his shot at AFL footy? Or just chuck him in there for the hell of it?

They did it with Zephi so why not.

Lets face it we need something, and over the last 18 months he has the form, despite being played back for a lot of that time.

For Christs sake we need to at least try him don't we?

Very debatable saying Murphy had a shocker, I thought he was pretty good, provided a lot of run from the half back and had 29 touches at 76% efficiency.

His run and carry was great, but he shanked another 4-5 kicks which is so unlike him (except in the last month) which was difference between an ok game and a very good game

10 pages and no mention of how horrible Murphy was tonight? He really should have stayed home. Just wasn't his night tonight, absolute shocker.

As for Roughy and Jones, I think they're starting to do a lot right, they had 6 shots on goal, that's a good start. Give em some more confidence and experience and they'll start slotting those goals. Considering the young list we're playing, being 4 and 5 and playing against the top teams as well as we have been, it's certainly not time to tear up the membership just yet.

Like many others he was a little out of sorts early but fought back well.. Stevie J seemed to spend more time in the middle and worked forward which caused confusion... The one player who really struggled tonight was Sherman, he just doesn't work hard enough when he hasn't got the ball. He should be dropped on tonight's performance and Moles or Howard given a chance.

Gee, Wallis has really stepped it up this year, had a great first half, quieter in the 2nd. Him and Libba gel and work well together.
Austin's game on Pods was good, he is surprising most I bet.
Gia looked our most dangerous forward and bar a few contests that didn't go his way I thought he performed well.
Jones' first quarter wasn't great but afterwards his attack on the ball and marking- fantastic, was only offset by poor shots on goal, but he did kick a good one.
Higgins contrary to what most are saying he was good and generally is a smart player, he has kicked multiple goals in almost all games he's played.
Only negative was seeing him caught behind his player and waiting out the back instead of playing in front, counted about 4 instances throughout the game, but he's good enough and he's all we've got at the moment.

Sherman had a stinker, no positives from his game tonight. He should play more around the forward 50 and crumb from our bigger players. His disposal is questionable, especially when under any pressure.
Skinner looked slow and fumbly and got a lucky goal.

Grant's new over the top attack on the ball would've been great.
Addison over a tired out Pearce (who wasn't horrible mind you, will be better for the run) and the result could've been very different. Not too phased by the result, very proud and loving the hard edge Bmac's instilled into our style.

The difference in the end was polish, composure and class which will come with more games.

Review Rnd9 : Review/Rant/Roast megathread