Certified Legendary Thread Roos lodge plans for massive Arden St upgrade

After the original extensive (and expensive) public competition in 2017 the new station at Arden was to be named North Melbourne.
Yeah go Roos!

And then, the current North Melbourne station would be renamed West Melbourne because not even Victorian politicians would allow two stations on the same line to have identical names.

But then.., the renaming of the old North Melbourne station was kiboshed due the previously unconsidered confusion it would cause the public.

And so.. the new station didn't get a new name, it just kept it's pre name working title, Arden.

So if it is changed, after Arden turned out to be a racist drunk hypocrite, it doesn't quite fall into the category of old landmarks changing names due to woke sensibilities. More of a pre- opening naming wobble.

The original public suggestions included:

* Station McStationface

* Bunnings Sausage

* Smashed Avo

* Vegemite

* Arden Schwarzenegger

* D'oh-main

* Joan Kirner

* Dusty Martin

* Ron Barassi

* Winterfell

* Ogdenville

* Ramsay St

On Pixel 8 Pro using BigFooty.com mobile app
The station should have been called 'Ironworks' as that's the site it's built on.

Nah mate. The space for the second oval has been zoned for new building construction.

Let me demonstrate with a shitty gif;

View attachment 2189343
All that shows is the open space being moved slightly south. This was made clear 2.5 years ago. Not sure how you get "it's been scrapped" from that.

Here's another diagram from the VPA - no second oval shown. (And certainly no space for future construction of new grandstands).

View attachment 2189346
And that's from 2021. Not the approved July 2022 plan.

All that shows is the open space being moved slightly south. This was made clear 2.5 years ago. Not sure how you get "it's been scrapped" from that.

And that's from 2021. Not the approved July 2022 plan.

So you reckon there's still a second oval on the cards? None of the plans I'm seeing appear to have anywhere near the necessary space.

Not a chance in hell that 57 storey apartment building gets approved in that location. Developers always shoot for the stars and then settle for the agreed upon limits. The existing community will kick up too much of a fuss. It'd be an eyesore for everyone.

I get these ridiculous proposals sent to me all the time. With the inevitable "after taking the time to get to know and understand the community we've decided to emphasis livability and amenity, decreasing the scale of our design creates an idyllic living environment..."

So you reckon there's still a second oval on the cards? None of the plans I'm seeing appear to have anywhere near the necessary space.
Second full-size oval should fit fine in that space:
nm1a.jpg

Even with a precisely north-south orientation as seen in some of the renders:
nm3.jpg

From Jen Watt’s interview on SEN 13/11:

“And I think, you know, as part of the Arden Precinct redevelopment, we hope there’ll be eventually a second oval created because we can service the residents and businesses that live and work in North Melbourne now. But when you add 40,000 people over the next 20 years, we're going to need some more recreation space.”

Logically if you add a shitload of people to an inner-city suburb you will need to provide more recreation facilities and open spaces. Unfortunately however, logic doesn’t always win out against one of it’s fiercest opponents which is the greed of property developers.

Company I work for is working on the master plan for Arden and they showed an indicative proposal and there certainly wasn’t a second ground. Not saying that is the final plan but it did contain recreational spaces but not an oval.

Tell GIF by Grease Live

From Jen Watt’s interview on SEN 13/11:

“And I think, you know, as part of the Arden Precinct redevelopment, we hope there’ll be eventually a second oval created because we can service the residents and businesses that live and work in North Melbourne now. But when you add 40,000 people over the next 20 years, we're going to need some more recreation space.”

Logically if you add a shitload of people to an inner-city suburb you will need to provide more recreation facilities and open spaces. Unfortunately however, logic doesn’t always win out against one of it’s fiercest opponents which is the greed of property developers.

Classic town planning - bulldoze a school and sell off the land to a developer for high density housing. Then in 5 years, the new residents demand a school.

Certified Legendary Thread Roos lodge plans for massive Arden St upgrade