Player Watch Rory Laird

He was only good there before the 6-6-6 rule came in as he could get 30 uncontested touches as the loose extra man, ie. the single easiest role in footy.
He was not good “back then”. His decision making is s@&$ period. It’s like handing the opposition one of your players. Even kicking it 20m I have never seen anyone butcher the ball as much as this guy… ever. He’s right up there alongside Scott Thompson as the worst decision maker to ever play this game - any kick over 40 m comes straight back. And that’s b4 you even look at his handballs, has no understanding of handballing to where a player is running. And then his hands are so s%#! A couple of seasons ago he would purposely chest the ball forward instead of grabbing it. This guy is up there for the worst ever player in the afl history… and there are some horrors.

Rory Laird throw boi, can count on one free against for a free per game... kinda like Hinge's one weird horrific disposal per game (to be fair he had two weeks off but it's back today)

Has been horrendous all season bar maybe 3 games. How can someone this experienced continue to make such horrendous decisions with ball in hand? The football IQ is non-existent for crying out loud.

None of Laird, Berry, Gollant, Murphy, Jones, McHenry, Smith, Schoenberg, Himmelberg, Burgess or Strachan would ever play another game for the club if I had anything to do with it, and ROB would be reduced to a backup ruck as soon as humanly possible. Why waste any more games on proven failures?

Do everything possible to get all of the above out of the club by the end of 2025 at the latest and we might be on the right path. Persist with any of them, and it’s pissing our chances of becoming relevant again down the drain.

Re Laird, I wonder if North Melbourne would be keen? Oh wait, Clarkson understands what winning is about, carry on.
Add keays to this list - horrendous decision maker - poor hands, always beaten 1 on 1. Jimmy rowe should be bought back asap.
Persist with berry - his hands have been ordinary but his decision making and other skills are absolutely first class.
Himmelberg is ok as back up.
Definitely add Hamill to your list and maybe cook
I think smith is still ok but he’s too old and need to play younger players
Also just a plug for worrel- future captain of AFC!

Can you imagine the reaction to this thread if he (gulp) manages to win a 4th gold jacket this year?

I know a few of you like me just swallowed a bit of vomit at that very thought, but... it is possible. :eekv1:

View attachment 2090335

Can you imagine the reaction to this thread if he (gulp) manages to win a 4th gold jacket this year?

I know a few of you like me just swallowed a bit of vomit at that very thought, but... it is possible. :eekv1:

View attachment 2090335Dal

View attachment 2090335
i

View attachment 2090335
Funny meme!!!!
But this would hardly be unexpected. He’d just about be favourite for his “consistency”.

Why do all of our senior players have to go out with so much less respect :(

Why can’t they all be like Luke Brown

after an embarrassing week from him he really doubled down tonight. i've always been a fan as an ex westies boy and i think the career he carved out in midfield from being a back pocket rookie list pick has been fantastic, but it's time to go. other than winning the ball in and under he doesn't offer anything. doesn't have the athleticism to play a run with role, doesnt have the foot skills to play half back.

I think for me it was the Hawthorn game at Marvel in 2022 that I began to realise that Laird was nothing more than a stat padder who has no influence on the game.

He's a classic example of why stats don't anyways mean something.

The problem with Laird, apart from his pitiful attitude and shocking display this week is in what he now prevents in the side.

When Nick's played him centre he was actively limiting Nicks in playing Soligo, Taylor, Rankine, Berry and others through the middle. This meant we had a slow midfield that had 1 player that wasn't able to do 2 way running. His disposal is poor for a midfielder and lacks depth. Crouch similarly doesn't get many meters gained but is so much more damaging by foot.

Then Nicks moved him to HB in the last part of this season (credit to Nicks for that). Unfortunately it makes the team even worse. Laird isn't a defender anymore and doesn't apply pressure. BUT more problematic is that he providers zero drive out of defense. Hamill, Hinge, Nank, Max, Woz and even Jones and Milera provide more. We haven't even used Ryan yet.

All the good clubs have strong rebound types, Port with Houston, Sydney with Lizard, Geelong with Blicavs etc. Tonight we had Laird, Hinge and Nank. One awful, 1 typically very good (not so tonight) and 1 brand new and better placed on a wing.

He is hurting our side now not helping, it's gone past him much like Smith

Then Nicks moved him to HB in the last part of this season (credit to Nicks for that).

He should have been moved out the midfield 4 months ago. And we knew he was rubbish at half back because Nicks kicked him out of there 3 years ago. All its done is prevent Ryan from getting a game and have Hinge spend time on a wing.

The problem with Laird, apart from his pitiful attitude and shocking display this week is in what he now prevents in the side.

When Nick's played him centre he was actively limiting Nicks in playing Soligo, Taylor, Rankine, Berry and others through the middle. This meant we had a slow midfield that had 1 player that wasn't able to do 2 way running. His disposal is poor for a midfielder and lacks depth. Crouch similarly doesn't get many meters gained but is so much more damaging by foot.

Then Nicks moved him to HB in the last part of this season (credit to Nicks for that). Unfortunately it makes the team even worse. Laird isn't a defender anymore and doesn't apply pressure. BUT more problematic is that he providers zero drive out of defense. Hamill, Hinge, Nank, Max, Woz and even Jones and Milera provide more. We haven't even used Ryan yet.

All the good clubs have strong rebound types, Port with Houston, Sydney with Lizard, Geelong with Blicavs etc. Tonight we had Laird, Hinge and Nank. One awful, 1 typically very good (not so tonight) and 1 brand new and better placed on a wing.

You need an element of speed, dash and flair in the middle and off half back. The problem is players lose speed with age. I can't see Laird having the speed or agility to be a lock down small defender either, so he's very much up shiet creek. Crouch in the same boat, if not now then soon.

He should have been moved out the midfield 4 months ago. And we knew he was rubbish at half back because Nicks kicked him out of there 3 years ago. All its done is prevent Ryan from getting a game and have Hinge spend time on a wing.
I don't disagree, I was trying to be a bit positive as I have been nearly 100% negative the last month

You need an element of speed, dash and flair in the middle and off half back. The problem is players lose speed with age. I can't see Laird having the speed or agility to be a lock down small defender either, so he's very much up shiet creek. Crouch in the same boat, if not now then soon.
Crouch has another year or two because unlike Laird his disposal out of a pack or when in space is very very good. Berry has improved his disposal this year, needs to be a 1 grab player, as all sides need a grunt in there and both provide that. The rest of our midfield are more receivers apart from Taylor.

View attachment 2090335
1st Laird
2nd Murphy
3rd Smith

Yeah.... probably not lol.

View attachment 2090335
Reckon it might well be Keays.

Reckon he gets votes in just about every game.

Agreed! But Laird has always been “hurting” the team. His decision making is and always has been atrocious. Unless he’s kicking the ball 20m, he gives the ball straight to the opposition every single time. As does keayes, Murphy, jones, McHenry, shoenburg, cook and hamill. Laird is far more damaging as he gets the ball so much. And his hands are and always have been woeful - much like the rest of the group listed above. We will never win a gf until they are ALL discarded. Although Collingwood did win a gf with markov who is equally as s$&@.
A couple of months back the front bar asked blighty what was wrong with the crows and he said “when I was coach we had a system of play (pause) just kick the bloody thing to a team mate!”
We are doing that a lot more now that a lot of that list above is not getting a game.
Hinge butchers the ball a little but can hit a target from 50 (I assume because his leg is elite) so he’s kind of the benchmark- you can’t afford anyone who’s worse than him (though he does have good skills).
Worrel and Keane are both elite in all areas and I think Bond is too as is Max who should develop into a gun midfielder. Nankervis likewise.

Player Watch Rory Laird