List Mgmt. Ross Lyon - Sacked

Is Ross still the man for the job?

"I think they need change, not only in the senior coach position but they need a bit more change within the coaching group and the whole football department. There’s a number of people that have been there for a while and some fresh ideas and some new strategies are required,” Pavlich said.
Bring in the Pav.

Make a role of him.

Quite funny how the Ross supporters who were praising our direction yesterday are now super critical while the anti-Ross crew who were critical yesterday are now super enthused. Swings and roundabouts huh.

I reckon the influence of head coaches (in most cases at least) is heavily overhyped. Whether because of the influence of Ross or otherwise our assistant coaches haven't really gained any reputations as quality operators. This move basically forces us to invest in a much better coaching panel to surround the new, inexperienced guy. If nothing else I reckon that'll be the thing that makes the most difference.

I do hope Belly hasn't completely taken over though. Not sure why anyone would have major faith in a guy who's in his first year in the job.

Quite funny how the Ross supporters who were praising our direction yesterday are now super critical while the anti-Ross crew who were critical yesterday are now super enthused. Swings and roundabouts huh.

I reckon the influence of head coaches (in most cases at least) is heavily overhyped. Whether because of the influence of Ross or otherwise our assistant coaches haven't really gained any reputations as quality operators. This move basically forces us to invest in a much better coaching panel to surround the new, inexperienced guy. If nothing else I reckon that'll be the thing that makes the most difference.

I do hope Belly hasn't completely taken over though. Not sure why anyone would have major faith in a guy who's in his first year in the job.

Speaking only for myself I was critical yesterday and am critical today. The club is a shambles.

Very interesting, does sound like there were profound problems in the footy department.
The list management carry on is the most alarming for me.
Micallef s appointment at the time was seen as strange and it looks even worse now.
Good clubs don’t hire people in key positions only then look to get rid of them 8 mths into the job.

Smacks of unprofessional hiring process and not really knowing what they were looking for to begin with .
How does that even occur??

What’s even more worrying tho is bells apparently the one who hired him yet was the one who then wanted him sacked.

As the articles probably not far off the mark in terms of pointing out bells probably the most important player in our entire clubs direction from here it doesn’t paint me with alot of confidence

Everyone's having their say but I really wonder where the playing group are sitting right now. Ross served as combined leader/father/comforter for many young guys from over east (and WA based).

We might cling on to most but there's going to be a heck of a lot of wobble going on for the next year or so.

It's a really nervous period, and it could just about go 3000 different ways.
Don't think Ross has served as a combined father figure/comforter for the young guys from over east. How many of them has he had living at his home over the last 7 years? Or been invited to dinner? Do all the players get a dinner invite every year?

Fyfe recently said "Ross, I've seen evolve in the last couple of years to more of a father figure ... He was a bit of a lunatic in the early days with his hard edge and accountability and really ripping shreds of anyone he cold possibly get a hold of."

I would only be nervous if Sumich was appointed. Very nervous. So hope the board aren't influenced by the media flogs trying to get him a job.

Should be causing more concern than it is, especially since the Micaleff debacle shows he's by no means perfect.

Sure there might be mitigating factors as to why that mistake was made, but when he's in charge of slashing and burning then rebuilding the club, you can't afford many errors.
Who hired Micaleff??

Bell tried to replace him.

The list management carry on is the most alarming for me.
Micallef s appointment at the time was seen as strange and it looks r en worse now.
Good clubs don’t hire people in key positions only then look to get rid of them 8 mths into the job.

Smacks of unprofessional hiring process and not really knowing what they were looking for to begin with .
How does that even occur??

What’s even more worrying tho is bells apparently hired him yet was the one who then wanted him sacked.

As the articles probably not far off the mark in terms of bellstbe most important player in our entire clubs direction from here it doesn’t paint me with alot of confidence
The article mentioned Micallef had personal issues, as well as it being obvious that he wasn't doing his job. It reported managers were asking for Bell.

If it was Bell that appointed him then realised it was a big mistake Bell should have been able to replace him. A mistake is only a mistake if you don't learn from it.

Then we have the confusion about what happened then with Rosich intervening, which I think made the situation worse and can't think of any reason why Rosich would do that, unless it was vindictive putting a focus on Bell's mistake.

I don't trust journalists or the media in general. We have no idea how much is fact.

But most get influenced by them whether they admit it or not.

They have definitely influenced proceedings imop, not directly, but over time in what has been reported.

Despite what some may think, board members can be gullible too just like others....not always easy to react the right way to a welling up of expectations and wanting things a certain way. Again an opinion, if they don't get fed by someone with an agenda, perhaps leaking information that is from a minority within the inner sanctum, it can never grow. 'Hardwickism' - "it is what it is".

Eagles coaches

Alexander - sacked
Todd - sacked
Malthouse - left for Magpies
Judge - sacked
Worsfold - “resigned”

Not sure what people expect will happen to Senior coaches.
“On a long enough timeline, the survival rate for everyone drops to zero.”

But most get influenced by them whether they admit it or not.

They have definitely influenced proceedings imop, not directly, but over time in what has been reported.

Despite what some may think, board members can be gullible too just like others....not always easy to react the right way to a welling up of expectations and wanting things a certain way. Again an opinion, if they don't get fed by someone with an agenda, perhaps leaking information that is from a minority within the inner sanctum, it can never grow. 'Hardwickism' - "it is what it is".
I agree with all that. We are human and susceptible to misdirection. Very few seem immune to it and they are generally really smart and educated in relevant fields (ie philosophy/epistemology). I've seen people who are excellent professionals think/do the stupidest things because they don't realise their thoughts aren't their own.

Flogbets 2020 market for the first post saying we should never have sacked RTB

Prior to a ball being bounced - 1.20

Q1 JLT 1 - 1.35

Q2 JLT 1 - 2.65

Q3 JLT 1 - 4.00

Q4 JLT 1 - 18.00

No posts during the entire JLT game 1 - 44.00

No posts during entire JLT series - 2000.00

The reality I think was the expectation and enormous amount of comment about a whole range of things that was causing discontent among supporters in particular. We were bleeding as a club. 75% percent of the poll here were in favour of his being sacked. The club knew the discontent in the supporter base. For me, I was hoping we would stick it out till end 2020. But it has made sense the early call and the reasons Dale gave.

My opinion was that next year we push for finals - 11-13 win mark. Now they have set the bar at finals or failure.

Interesting season ahead.

After listening to Alcock it is clear that finals were expected and considered the pass mark. Logically that would mean we expect finals and a win next year or bust. I am not sure why we made the decision with one week to go, timing the market doesn't make sense unless they have someone lined up. If they do have someone lined up we are being told fibs. If they don't, most of the coaches we would look at are assistants at teams in the finals. Not much will happen there for at least three weeks, maybe more.

Not a fan of the timing, not certain on the public stance. If after sacking Ross we have a worse year next year the media will be worse and the pressure from fans will only increase. If supporters are upset with the performance this season, we must reach finals or logically we should all deem next year a failure.

Having said that I think it is an exciting list to get hold of with a potential A grade spine. So much change in such a small time is rarely positive from a business perspective in the first 24 months. Footy is different but leadership dynamics are similar. Unless Bell has OTT power like Thomas (would be a disaster) then not only will we have a new Senior Coach - relationships up and down and with the team. But a new CEO (most like to bring in some of their own team with them, which would mean more significant change. Change is a fickle bitch. I hope it goes well.

I agree with all that. We are human and susceptible to misdirection. Very few seem immune to it and they are generally really smart and educated in relevant fields (ie philosophy/epistemology). I've seen people who are excellent professionals think/do the stupidest things because they don't realise their thoughts aren't their own.

haha lol me included (not so smart though) ...brilliant Joao

Eagles coaches

Alexander - sacked
Todd - sacked
Malthouse - left for Magpies
Judge - sacked
Worsfold - “resigned”

Not sure what people expect will happen to Senior coaches.
“On a long enough timeline, the survival rate for everyone drops to zero.”

Hawthorn since 1980

Schwab - sacked
Judge - under contract but offered the WC job and was released. Eventually sacked at WC.
Knights - sacked
Joyce - sacked
Jeans - retired

Only Jeans ended his career on his own terms. Clarkson will most probably get to to retire as well. And this from perhaps the best of the modern clubs.

List Mgmt. Ross Lyon - Sacked