Preview Round 1, 2022: St.Kilda v Collingwood - Marvel Stadium, Friday 18th March, 7:50PM AEDT

Who Wins?

• Saints

Votes: 70 77.8%
  • Magpies

Votes: 20 22.2%

T-minus 1 hour to meltdown!!!

Melting Ice Cream GIF
Whoops, no it isn’t, was thinking it was Thursday! 😂

That is literally what Jack Bytel is. Patience grasshopper.

Gresham is also very good at winning clearances. Had 9 in his last full game, against Gawn/Jackson, Oliver, Petracca, Viney and co. and while roving to Paul Hunter!

Bytel is 22 and not young any more, he really needs to start a pretty fast rise. If he can't cement a spot this year he's going to have to defy the odds to make it. Gresham is a potential gun but he's struggling to stay on the park in the last few years.

We have really made a mess of building a premiership midfield over the last 10 years I reckon

WangMill looks like a Hill style wingman, Owens looks potentially a mid and Windy a forward mid. I'm talking a pure Olly Wines/ Clayton Oliver ball pig style midfielder. We can't win clearance without Ryder who is minutes from retirement but don't seem to address a lack of clearance specialists.
I suppose they think Crouch and Steele offer that at the moment with the "hope" that Bytel and Owens take the mantle as they come through.
We could do with a couple more though.

Are you saying Bytel is an "old" 22 ?

That is literally what Jack Bytel is. Patience grasshopper.

Gresham is also very good at winning clearances. Had 9 in his last full game, against Gawn/Jackson, Oliver, Petracca, Viney and co. and while roving to Paul Hunter!
Bytel was taken at pick 41 and can't cement a spot in our side.

The chances of him becoming anything close to Wines and Oliver etc are extremely low.

Those guys were elites of the comp already at his age.

And yes I know he missed a year of footy but he can't use that excuse much longer.

Surprised Hayes v Sharman was going to be the first melt of the year, can't imagine what it'll be like when we're discussing two players that have played more than 4 games combined.

Who melted ?
some of us believe Sharman should play as he should and the others were wrong

Who melted ?
some of us believe Sharman should play as he should and the others were wrong
Stop melting mate, was tongue in cheek.

I think Sharman should play too

Are you saying Bytel is an "old" 22 ?

I'm saying not many players get more than 4 years if the don't play regular best 22 footy, especially mids, they might wait longer for rucks and KPs but he really wants to get a move on. If you're a top 20 pick you might get given a bit longer.

Clint Jones never played a game of AFL until he was 23.
Bytel has a reason he's a bit behind the 8 ball.

Watching this Melbourne WB game is so obvious the benefit of a strong midfield.

Damn Melbourne's midfield is strong.

Hoping we focus on our mids at some stage.................

If we had someone like Brayshaw he'd be in our top 3 players, at Melbourne you hardly notice him.

Rather not play one of Higgins or Butler, and give Sharman a game- it would force Collingwood to send a tall into our forward line and probably unbalance their system.
Yes let’s drop more smalls for talls. If the ball ever hits the deck the pies surely will waltz the ball out like the ants go marching one by one all the way down the other end of the group.
Funnily enough, both Marshal and Ryder played in that game...
You do realise That’s the point?
We didn’t have Jack ‘Dean Cox’ Hayes in the ruck last time
No one is calling him Dean Cox.

But he is our best alternative to back Marshall up around the ground.