Autopsy Round 1, 2023: St.Kilda v Fremantle *PHILLIPOU, CAMINITI DEBUT*

Phillipou's hands in the last quarter...

christian bale GIF by Maudit

9 games ago

Fremantle 17.9.111
St.Kilda 10.10.70
Ross, Billings, Windhager, Membrey, Jones, King all played.

If it weren't for the two gifted goals, we would've beaten Fremantle yesterday by 5 goals. It would make it a 12 goal turnaround, with half the side out.

I hand on heart.

Didn’t notice him once at the ground.

I did notice Stocker and watching the game back, I thought he was even better.

19 touches. 85% DE, 8 rebound 50s. 1 clearance.

👏
I noticed Stocker, and I put it down to the tatts on his legs making him stand out from the crowd a little. Liked what he did, goes in hard, efficient, and seemed to use it pretty well (the stats back that up). Him and Caminiti both seem to play with a bit of agro, we need more of that! Had too many bed-wetting solid citizen types recently.

Also worth noting that Byrnes also had 4 clearances despite not going to any centre bounces.

If he can continue his form like that then he will probably earn himself some midfield time.

He was a Stuv style inside mid when he captained Sandy Dragons.

Can someone put up the footage of RTB coming down to the ground after the siren ?

That was beautiful.

On a different note, I seriously worry about his knees. He's already had surgery. Going up and down stadium stairs eight times a match... it's a worry. Might go arse over tit at some stage. Is there an elevator at most stadiums now?

'Hilarious claims' or simply a different opinion?

That ain't an outlandish one either by the way... We could have used another tallish marking target at times yesterday. Cordy competed well but didn't look like taking a grab.
Couldn’t agree more. Ross even said it. It’s why he moved Mason up there. I think we actually can only play one of hammer / cordy atm.

True story….

I’m watching the replay and I’ve just noticed Jaegar O’meara played.

😳

You must have missed Longmuir pregame mentioning their recruits and how O’Meara comes in to replace Mundy, something along the lines of “so that’s an easy sorted like for like”.

You would think coaching there, playing with him, he would realise O’Meara is not fit to “replace” Mundy. After Pendlebury he’s probably the modern mid who aged like a fine wine and arguably played his best football at the end of his career. I think those jokers got way overhyped and may have been dining out on their own bath water.

Can't believe some are hanging NWM out to dry.

Thought he played very well off hbf. Got a lot of it and defended quite well considering - needs to find the balance of attack and defend more but it's his 1st senior game there.

Some of his clangers were good intercepts from the opposition, which can happen. You see a player open and go to bite off a very attacking kick and it can get cut-off. He is going for attacking kicks and this will happen sometimes, but I'd much rather our guys who know how to use their leg go for attacking kicks when there's an opportunity.
Everyone makes a few mistakes , he is playing his 2nd season and looks to be developing very well - having him , Owens and Windhager and King we have a core to take us to a grand final , when I don't know - but looking at the first game it might be far away.

And by the way some of the comments made during a game are a joke - comments about Milera , Howard are over the top.

9 games ago

Fremantle 17.9.111
St.Kilda 10.10.70

If it weren't for the two gifted goals, we would've beaten Fremantle yesterday by 5 goals. It would make it a 12 goal turnaround, with half the side out.
Freo goals at half time. 2 x 50m, 2 FK, 1 general play. And 3/4 of those were veeeeery soft.

9 games ago

Fremantle 17.9.111
St.Kilda 10.10.70

Billings and Windhager in to replace Butler and Higgins in the forward line would be tasty.

King for Cordy obv.

Who does Membrey replace ?. Loathe to lose Owens Hammill type competitive madness.

Don’t reckon there is room for Ross or Jones at the moment. Bytel deserves a good run at it.

True story….

I’m watching the replay and I’ve just noticed Jaegar O’meara played.

😳
LOL. Was chatting to two Saints fans today and i said "Did Jaeger play?" and they both said "Nah". All three of us were at the game.

Billings and Windhager in to replace Butler and Higgins in the forward line would be tasty.

King for Cordy obv.

Who does Membrey replace ?. Loathe to lose Owens Hammill type competitive madness.

Don’t reckon there is room for Ross or Jones at the moment. Bytel deserves a good run at it.
Good questions, Windy is back you'd assume. King, Hayes, Billings, Membrey the only best 22 locks remaining (even with Hayes injuries, I think he's crucial as that second ruck and genuine fwd target).

Ross, McKenzie, Coffield, Jones all could be best 22, but given their injuries of late (or pressure from youth in the case of Ross) they'll have to really bash the door down.

Cordy and Caminiti for King and Membrey eventually. Owens/Phillipou stay as they're versatile.

Hayes for Bytel potentially and Gresh/Owens/Pou go in the guts more.

Billings easily replaces Butler for mine.

Gee it's nice to have a team that you can shuffle the magnets with. Pou and Owens being fwd threats is bloody lovely!

Good questions, Windy is back you'd assume. King, Hayes, Billings, Membrey the only best 22 locks remaining (even with Hayes injuries, I think he's crucial as that second ruck and genuine fwd target).

Ross, McKenzie, Coffield, Jones all could be best 22, but given their injuries of late (or pressure from youth in the case of Ross) they'll have to really bash the door down.

Cordy and Caminiti for King and Membrey eventually. Owens/Phillipou stay as they're versatile.

Hayes for Bytel potentially and Gresh/Owens/Pou go in the guts more.

Billings easily replaces Butler for mine.

Gee it's nice to have a team that you can shuffle the magnets with. Pou and Owens being fwd threats is bloody lovely!
Reckon only King and Membrey are walk up starts. Won't see the other boys for quite a few weeks and by that time they'll have to make up some fittness and force their way in. I hope they stick with the kids anyway.

I work across the road from Carlton footy club so I'm in Sydney Rd all the time. Usually a lot of druggos around the times I go (lunch). I do love it though, there's some ripper record stores and nice pubs around. It's a bit of a gritty area and definitely has a different feel to other places I frequent. I like Armadale but it's a bit too posh sometimes.
I guess my standards are a bit lower lol. Though these days everything’s better than the CBD from around flinders to Elizabeth or swanston. Absolute hole there

How does people see Wanganeen Milera’s game?

I think him at half back unfortunately reminds me of Hill at the backline. Can’t really defend and makes a lot of kicking mistakes, there was one play in the 2nd quarter he was running into the midfield with the ball, ended up kicking into the player in front of him. Lack of awareness and has not adjusted yet. In everyone of his game last year, his kicking was iffy. Not the elite kicking mid we were hoping for yet.

I would like to see Paton play the half back role. At least Paton has played there before and can defend and provide run as needed.

Just watched the replay. Pous hands in close are unbelievable.

This kid genuinely looks like the next Bont. Will end up being a tall mid that kicks goals. What a find.
Along with Owens who has freakish open play goal sense and an aerial presence like a proper forward. Let him bring his attack on the footy into the engine room and we have. 2 Bonts

How does people see Wayne Milera’s game?

I think him at half back unfortunately reminds me of Hill at the backline. Can’t really defend and makes a lot of kicking mistakes, there was one play in the 2nd quarter he was running into the midfield with the ball, ended up kicking into the player in front of him. Lack of awareness and has not adjusted yet. In everyone of his game last year, his kicking was iffy. Not the elite kicking mid we were hoping for yet.

I would like to see Paton play the half back role. At least Paton has played there before and can defend and provide run as needed.
I wish we had him and Hill on the wing but Wood is too good to lose there.

Autopsy Round 1, 2023: St.Kilda v Fremantle *PHILLIPOU, CAMINITI DEBUT*