Bit worried that we didn't seem to improve on the major issues from last season - F50 efficiency and stoppage work. Slow, one paced mids ain't going to get us anywhere. Ross shouldn't be playing more than 10 games this year.
Still can't kick a winning score either. 6 goals with 24 minutes gone in the 4th quarter is pathetic.
I thought we were protecting the head at all costs this year? The more I watch it the less Danger is anywhere near the ball, his fist to the head isn't where the ball was and his knee to the back is intentional. I understand why a free was given thanks to a stupid rule. If the AFL had any guts, Danger should be cited, I'm sure SPP or a similar (somewhat perceived) dirty player would cop a please explain...D
That prick could bring a machete onto the field and it would be okay.It’s Dangerfield, if anything he’ll be hailed as courageous.
With the benefit of hindsight, leaving Jones out was a mistake. Got the balance wrong in the end it would appear.I think he backed in a senior mid that he knew was probably lacking match fitness. Maybe even expecting to sub him off at 3/4 time had it not been for Ross being so poor.
I think they probably toyed with the idea of not selecting him too. But ultimately the experienced midfield depth was all injured and all that was left was rookies
Nope...however I understand your logicSomething with tattoos?
Jones most likely injured or underdone I think.With the benefit of hindsight, leaving Jones out was a mistake. Got the balance wrong in the end it would appear.
Lack of midfield depth still a huge issue. Steele and Crouch are both good. Ross looks cooked, Jones is so fragile that it's rare that he's available. Dow is injured, Henry probably more outside... then a bunch of kids that haven't shown much yet.
I'd be looking at rotating Sincs through and maybe Stocker. Stock's disposal is pretty heart in mouth for a defender.
Another mid with no match practice?With the benefit of hindsight, leaving Jones out was a mistake. Got the balance wrong in the end it would appear.
Really don’t think it was selection. Idk which changes we could have made. Jones wasn’t ready , butler Sincs unavilable. Playing another rookie instead of crouch would have left us even more at a physical disadvantage. I think ultimately it was ourStop trying to defend the undefendable!
Last night was lost at the selection table and with extremely poor and short sighted match day coaching. I am a big RTB fan, but our midfield were completely pantsed last night and he did ZIP to change it. Crouch shouldnt have played (not fit) and if Windhagers hand was suspect neither should have he.
Ross subbed rather than Crouch was the worst sub selection I have seen RTB make ever! Ross wasnt getting a touch through the middle then why not move him to Byrne's wing or HBF. At least he could still run unlike Crouch. Playing players with such limiting injuries just sets them up for failure and RTB has a long history of that.
Whats the go with Jones is he still not ready to play. Garcia is a hard at it inside quick midfielder. Collard will be a player but bringing a skinny kid in for his first game in Geelong against their monster defenders was again another dumb decision.
Apart from Dangerfield and Atkins, Geelongs midfield were made up of kids also in Bruhn, Clarke & Holmes. The lads tried hard but were never given a chance to win through really poor selections and match day coaching. RTB talked about being frustrated in the box - well so was I watching his lack of problem solving with our midfield!
It was more like a 20% 80 %So we go down to Geelong and we are in the game until the very end.
We win the clearances, contested possessions, we have 3 less shots at goal with 19 less entries, we have a 52% I50 efficiency rate and somehow people think the sky is falling. This game was always a 50/50 game and we nearly pulled it off.
Thurday night will give us a better idea of where we are at, but I'm OK with last nights performance.
Full training last Thursday. I was surprised he was omitted.Jones most likely injured or underdone I think.
And one thing you forgot in your litany of ills…..Ro’s boot being thrown away. Was worth. 50 at least for bad sportsmanship.Last quarter
Bonner a defensive liability and not best 22. At least we didn't pay anything.
- Umps burn Bonner
- King burns Lance
- King burns Lance again
- Steele nails Mannagh HTB ump with perfect view, play on, goal
- Stocker gets kneed in the back, free to Danger, Stocks gone
- Coops in position to intercept gets elbowed in the face by Ro. Cats goal.
- Owens marks in f50, Stewart throws King to the ground right in front of the ump, 50m every day of year. Nuffin. Owens shanks it.
- King burns Collard again, but Wilson goals
Snags is easily our best kicking into f50 with great vision and game sense.
Leave Collard in, Pou up forward and Snags to get on his bike.
Cordy and Byrnes very underrated.
Talking to all my Saints mates, we all felt it was 50/50 call and one of our best chances to win down there in a while.It was more like a 20% 80 %
From what l saw last night Windy is absolutely ready for full time midfield duty and Henry as part of the rotations. Throw Chito in there a bit more and Pou a bit less, and that will offer us a fair bit.Really don’t think it was selection. Idk which changes we could have made. Jones wasn’t ready , butler Sincs unavilable. Playing another rookie instead of crouch would have left us even more at a physical disadvantage. I think ultimately it was our
1. Changers/turnovers (in the presser Ross made specific mention of kicking into the man on the mark etc etc.
2. Physicality - contested footy and tackling (Ross sounded really pissed off about this)
3. Inaccuracy - I don’t care if Geelong missed too.
Also note : one thing I’d say is whilst others have said we need more kids and why do we have Pou windy etc or not owens.
I’d argue that Ross has very deliberately played a lot of our young guys in the guts.
Last night we saw Henry, Pou , Owens , windy all have a run on the ball at some point. That is development. It will pay off.
Full training last Thursday. I was surprised he was omitted.
On SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app
What depth? Right now, it's Jones who is coming off his own interrupted pre season and might not have been right to play or untested kids who haven't performed as well as Pou over pre season training.He’s a quality prospect but on current output he’s 10-15 touches a game and a couple marks. Can we really not cover that with depth?
I think it’s time we start lining up with a full time tagger.From what l saw last night Windy is absolutely ready for full time midfield duty and Henry as part of the rotations. Throw Chito in there a bit more and Pou a bit less, and that will offer us a fair bit.
Ross looks close to done. Time to move on.
If we want to argue about wrong calls.
The second debutant should have been Shoenmaker.
Then you could have played Chito as a mid forward with Pou and Sharman could have part time rucked - as Shoenmaker would have taken Dempsey
Take your rose coloured glasses off mate, King played for that and the umpire rightfully didn't fall for it.
- Owens marks in f50, Stewart throws King to the ground right in front of the ump, 50m every day of year. Nuffin. Owens shanks it.
That’s what I’m saying. It’s a bit sad we don’t have the depth. Was more a rhetorical question.What depth? Right now, it's Jones who is coming off his own interrupted pre season and might not have been right to play or untested kids who haven't performed as well as Pou over pre season training.