Autopsy Round 1, 2024: Geelong v St.Kilda *COLLARD, WILSON DEBUT*

I watched the game and didn't think Seb was that bad, didn't notice him doing anything that poor and we know he has the legs to run out a game. Thought it was strange that Crouch didn't get sent off, he had no influence on the game.
Ross started last season like a house on fire.

However since North Melbourne in round 8.

Ross has averaged: 15 disposals.

He has broken 20 disposals 3 times in those 12 games: Richmond x2 & GWS final

The 6 games he played prior to round 8 last year.

Ross averaged: 25 disposals.

He broke 20 disposals in every one of those games.

It’s been long enough now to ask the question about whether he should be selected. He seems cooked and ready to have a fork stuck in him.

All good but I also think the fact they picked Crouch who was underdone and injured and he failed tells as a great deal about decision making of selectors.
Weren’t exactly a lot of choices though for selection though.
Crouch and Jones both underdone.
Sincs not available. (Dow and Clark too obviously)
I’m not sure what else they could’ve done.

I watched the game and didn't think Seb was that bad, didn't notice him doing anything that poor and we know he has the legs to run out a game. Thought it was strange that Crouch didn't get sent off, he had no influence on the game.
Nah - don't you know Sebs cooked.

I mean he only had as many possessions and clearances in a half than the golden child did for the game.

Cooked I'm telling ya!!!!!

I mean he only had as many possessions and clearances in a half than the golden child did for the game.

Wowsers.

Huge plus for Seb. He is matching the output of a 25 gamer.

And you can’t see the problem with that?

Batman Facepalm GIF by WE tv

It’s been long enough now to ask the question about whether he should be selected. He seems cooked and ready to have a fork stuck in him.
Oh I'm well aware we need to be moving past Seb. My comment was about last night, he's in the team regardless right now, and I reckon he would have had more gas left in the 4th quarter compared to Crouch. It is what it is though. Hopefully we are cleaner against Collingwood!

Wowsers.

Huge plus for Seb. He is matching the output of a 25 gamer.

And you can’t see the problem with that?

Batman Facepalm GIF by WE tv
Its OK Stav - you won't get excommunicated from the cult

Just repeat after me...

The 25 gamers game was poor, he had less impact as a mid fielder than Seb Ross and isn't a starting mid (yet).

Its OK Stav - you won't get excommunicated from the cult

Just repeat after me...

The 25 gamers game was poor, he had less impact as a mid fielder than Seb Ross and isn't a starting mid (yet).
The 19 year old 25 gamer is performing as expected. Moments of brilliance. But really inconsistent.

Is he a genuine mid today? No

But they are trying to get as much experience into him as possible without burying our ability to win games.

Meanwhile Ross at 30 with 200 AFL games behind him hasn’t put together a game where we all thought. Yeah he looks like a good genuine AFL mid since early last season.

Only one of these blokes is expected to be delivering consistently right now. It isn’t the 25 gamer mate.

But don’t stress, you are welcome back into the cult. Try get back on before the bandwagon gets full

Haven’t had a chance to watch the game yet and just saw that cold - that is an absolutely disgraceful decision - no understanding of the game!

If you watch it in slow-mo, Danger is lining him up with an elbow to the head and changes last second to an open hand. Stocker sees the elbow and drops lower to save his head. Danger jumps to stop contact after changed plans but still makes sure he does some damage.

He's probably lucky that there aren't many options to replace him.

The 19 year old 25 gamer is performing as expected. Moments of brilliance. But really inconsistent.

But they are trying to get as much experience into him as possible without burying our ability to win games.

Meanwhile Ross at 30 with 200 AFL games behind him hasn’t put together a game where we all thought. Yeah he looks like a good genuine AFL mid since early last season.

Only one of these blokes is expected to be delivering consistently right now. It isn’t the 25 gamer mate.

But don’t stress, you are welcome back into the cult. Try get back on before the bandwagon gets full

He's been ordinary no matter how you spin it.

Yet the coaches keep throwing him into the midfield...? I don't believe he has ever been a natural or gifted midfielder he got by on hard work in poor teams. He is still best 23 IMO, they just need to use him differently ala Hodge in his latter years.

If you want to win AFL games then Sandringham is where you "learn" to be a mid.

Yet to crack 20 possessions in a game.

Not a midfielder.

Yet the coaches keep throwing him into the midfield...? I don't believe he has ever been a natural or gifted midfielder he got by on hard work. He is still best 23 IMO, they just need to use him differently ala Hodge in his latter years.
Hodge was an elite kick. Ross is not.

Was Jones fit to play though?
I can't believe RL would play a child in front of a senior player if the choice was there.

Me neither, unconfirmed internet report claiming Ross had some kind of confrontation with Jones at training, stressing the unconfirmed internet bit.

If true though I'd say you can put a fork in Jones career. As we know Ross is as pig headed as they come and won't tollerate any type of subordinate behaviour.

Has to be selected this week if fit.

Jones in the side could have meant victory last night when we were in need of some zip through the midfield, instead we got Collard on for Seb...

Spoke to a Collingwood supporter today that really knows his footy..reckons our game was one of the worst he’s seen!

So, I work with one, AFLW level and obviously VFL, they kind of first prioritise aerobic capacity, as you NEED to get to the contest to then judge. This is kind of why I hate the "if in the umpires opinion...' instances as if they're first told " we won't consider you unless you can run fast for long periods" then how can you attest to their judgement after busting arse? What sort of KPI are they trying to reach, not panting halfway through speaking? Being behind someone so they can see absolutely nothing?

And then the caveat was essentially "well if you average a C it's deemed as a good job" in how they internally grade decisions made.

This is why I personally went into admin, as letter of law and what is written matters, even in time keeping, but umpiring, nah, screw that.

I didn't think he was terrible, but a mid getting subbed off in the third quarter of a game where we're getting beaten in the midfield - in favour of a zero game forward pocket - implies that the coaches had strong opinions on his game.

If you want to win AFL games then Sandringham is where you "learn" to be a mid.

Yet to crack 20 possessions in a game.

Not a midfielder.
His draft year stats suggests he very much is.

“Woodville-West Torrens prospect has pieced together a strong junior career which has included representing South Australia at the National Championships and winning a SANFL U18 Premiership with the Eagles in 2021. Having announced himself to recruiters last season when he booted 25 goals and averaged 23.3 disposals as a bottom-ager, Phillipou has taken his game to the next level this year, pushing his name into top ten consideration in the process.“

Suggest you let an elite coaching group handle the kid and make the decisions. Not your off the cuff opinion born from frustration at a result that was always the most likely outcome.

I fully expected to beat the Cats , but taking every thing into account with the new inclusions into the team , playing away and team adjusting to game plan you can give them a excuse why they never performed.
The thing that hurt me the most is our midfield was the same and like we have said before if we can't fix it we are in trouble.

Weren’t exactly a lot of choices though for selection though.
Crouch and Jones both underdone.
Sincs not available. (Dow and Clark too obviously)
I’m not sure what else they could’ve done.
Jones wasn’t injured. A big difference. Owens sat in the forward line where he contributed very little.
Pretty sure they could have come up with something other than an injured underdone player. Easy to say in hind sight but you have to question this decision given the outcome.
Well at least you’d think that’s what they’d be able to do.

Jones wasn’t injured. A big difference. Owens sat in the forward line where he contributed very little.
Pretty sure they could have come up with something other than an injured underdone player. Easy to say in hind sight but you have to question this decision given the outcome.
Well at least you’d think that’s what they’d be able to do.
Jones missed the practice games in concussion protocols.

He is also a player known for breaking down. You don’t want to throw him into an AFL match cold.

His draft year stats suggests he very much is.

“Woodville-West Torrens prospect has pieced together a strong junior career which has included representing South Australia at the National Championships and winning a SANFL U18 Premiership with the Eagles in 2021. Having announced himself to recruiters last season when he booted 25 goals and averaged 23.3 disposals as a bottom-ager, Phillipou has taken his game to the next level this year, pushing his name into top ten consideration in the process.“

Suggest you let an elite coaching group handle the kid and make the decisions. Not your off the cuff opinion born from frustration at a result that was always the most likely outcome.

Agreed, it’s almost like some supporters expect him to start pumping out 20+ disposals games off the bat in the middle. Cart before the horse - without exposure in the middle, can’t exactly develop to become a bonafide mid at AFL level