Review Round 1, 2024 vs West Coast

Dyl Will not being in the side is a joke. One of our best last year. Solid as a rock. Yeah he's not fast but who cares, Jones is fast but fumbles absolutely everything. Can't catch a ball to save his life.
If you measure "speed" by how quickly the ball goes from either in their hands or in a contest to in our possession, Jones is treacle slow - he takes one two bites at the cherry every time. That gives opponents time to get him, the contest or whoever he was going to get the ball to. Ultimately slowing ball movement down. That plus the hero ball aerial contests means any speed advantage he has is completely nullified because he's sitting on his jacksy whilst his opponent is running away

Give me smart placement, balance, clean skills and effective decision making by foot over leg speed any day of the week.

Soldo was an enormous upgrade on Lycett even at his absolute best. Tapping the ball down the throats of midfielders who are in position and on the move? Finally!

Ratugolea and BZT both settled well as well.

Basically everything worked fairly well despite us being in 2nd gear, but once again the goal kicking elephant in the room hasn't been addressed.

Apart from our goal kicking still being garbage, you can't really take anything away from a game like that.

The whinging about the weather lol. It was 30 degrees not 45 degrees. You lot wouldn't be able to go outside half the year if you lived in Perth.
It was ****en hot mate, couldn't escape it and for whatever reason baking in a stadium is always worse than moving around.

Was very unpleasant no matter the number on the temperature gauge

The whinging about the weather lol. It was 30 degrees not 45 degrees. You lot wouldn't be able to go outside half the year if you lived in Perth.

Nah it was humid as shit as well, it had rained in the morning before cracking 30 just before the game. A dry 30 would have been much more manageable.

Tbh I actually think the final margin was as good as we could've asked for in round 1. I mean that as in EVERY game this round imo has had a flattering margin for the winning teams so this game was no exception.

Also because the sh!t goalkicking wasn't a team wide issue as much as it was an individual players issue (Finlayson, Marshall, Bergman & Boak) with the usual Dixon mixed bag on top of that.

Rozee, JHF, Farrell & Soldo had few in front of goal. It's pretty clear that different teammates are on different wavelengths for set shot accuracy.

alright so we shanked a lot of kicks and beat a team by 50, when it should have been more like 100. We let them transition from half back and burst out of the front of a centre stoppage too easily. Our defence was all over the shop.

But we won comfortably. No injuries bar Jed. Dixon clunked a couple on the lead early, our halfbacks looked super damaging, Rozee/Butters/JHF/Drew/Soldo looked great, there were times when AA and Sav combined brilliantly.

This group does need some time to gel. (Yes yes I know sack Hinkley and all that). Sav, BZT and AA could be a solid group of talls. Jones had some great games last, stinker today, give him time. Todd is normally very reliable. Ditto Bergs, etc. It was hot, it was the first game and there was undoubtedly an element of phoning it in against the predicted worst team.

We need to tighten our zone defence, our centre set ups, defence of opposition half back transitions and our forward fifty entries. Some of this has been a problem since Hinkley began at port. Some will happen as the team gels and with more games under the belt.

Enjoy the win. Enjoy the ride. We could be top four or bottom 8 - going to be a hell of a season.

Absolutely cooked for hours. Never been hotter at the footy.

It was brutally hot in the sun, went up to the concourse at half time and it was worse there. So many people, it created its own humidifier.

Can't imagine what it was like playing in that. Could see players visibly wilting as the quarter wore on.

Duty of care only applies to players it seems.

Hey! Anyone can lie on the beach under a shaded umbrella or take the poach for a walk in a leafy park on those types of days no worries.
But! Sitting in the sun for hours on end on a hard surface plastic.
Really….?

Efficiency from inside 50s was good, despite the poor conversion. 40 shots from 57 inside 50s. If we figure out goal kicking soon, we might make something of the season.

lol
50 point loss in their first game and the WA media still handing out free cuddles to the Eagles.

Not a topic for this thread but the way the WA media and corporates refuse to scrutinise the performance of the richest footy club in the country continues to amaze.

He didn't, it was the player that came in after and tackled McGovern high.

So someone said, but even so McGovern swung an elbow at him and not a word from the umpire.

Did enjoy seeing Soldo get up in the grill of a West Coaster who was going to have a go at Butters.

We did some nice coast to coast plays from kick ins, haven't seen decent play like that for a while.

It was brutally hot in the sun, went up to the concourse at half time and it was worse there. So many people, it created its own humidifier.

Can't imagine what it was like playing in that. Could see players visibly wilting as the quarter wore on.

Duty of care only applies to players it seems.
This WILL become an issue in the future just like concussion has, especially as record high temperatures and unseasonal humidity continue to creep into autumn - the traditional starting point for high intensity 'winter sports' like Aussie Rules.

Review Round 1, 2024 vs West Coast