Round 12: St Kilda vs Adelaide

Adelaide are consistently the most overrated team in the competition, and whenever we play them nobody ever gives us a chance. Even in 2009 on the back of over a dozen consecutive wins apparently Adelaide were the "dark horse" that were shoe ins to knock us off. (We flogged them by ten goals in that game.)

I don't rate them. We'll win by a few goals over at AAMI.

Hope you're right.

We play pretty well in Adelaide.

Kurt and Tex are big dangers as well as the tenacity at the ball of Rory Sloane.
I think we can shut down dangerfield pretty well so the rest of our mid-field should be able to get on top.

I'm wondering whether a wet game might help us? I know we aren't the best in the wet but it would shut down the crows two danger men immediately and our small brigade might fire.

Big, big game. Winning this is a big step towards an open finals series and I think we will know that and will have more desperation. Keep in mind the fact that the boys will know they have a bye next round so will spend every last bit of energy they didn't even know they had.

Hard to find changes.

If fisher is fit he should come in, maybe for gilbert. I like the idea of keeping raph as the loose man in case fisher has to play more of a shut down role.

So maybe...

OUT: Milne (rest) Gilbert (rest)

IN: Fisher, Geary

48 "rest days" for the Crows over the last 5 with a trip to Sydney & Perth & 20 days in the bye to the Saints 34 with the Perth trip and coming off the trip up north to Metricon on a 7 day turn around (Sat Twilight v Sat Night & AAMI). Form wise, we have the extra game to draw level @ 4-1 (Sydney, Geelong, Carlton, Freo - Collingwood) v 3-3 (Carlton, Sydney, Gold Coast - Hawthorn, West Coast, Richmond), previous form, at home, Adelaide would have us over a barrel but as some sides have shown a rather large break (20 days between games is a long time in footy) can be detrimental to momentum, which the Crows had, likewise, a break even form belies the teams the Saints played as Hawthorn, Carlton, Sydney & West Coast were entrenched in or just above on form in the top 8 with Richmond on the march and the only gimmie game was the last against Gold Coast. So if a flat crows turn up they could find themselves quickly in a hole needing shovels, but do have the forward prowess to pull themselves out of it with the likes of Walker & Petrenko complimenting Tippet nicely.

Adelaide will have to then face Round 13 on the Sunday with a trip to Etihad to face North Melbourne (8 day break) whereas we have the bye and then face North on the bounce in Round 14 (16 day break) in the batch of teams with the last bye available.

It's definitely a winnable game but coming off a 6 day break and back to back interstate trips while Adelaide will be well rested after the bye doesn't help. At least the Gold Coast game wasn't too taxing.

Adelaide have improved a fair bit from last year when we toweled them up by 100 points but I don't think they are as great as everyone is making them out to be. They might be top 4 at the moment but they have had a pretty soft draw and are more a 5-8 side in reality.

It will help if we can get back the likes of Fisher, Geary and McEvoy for this game but even if we don't I still think we are in with a good shot of winning it. Let's just hope we get some better umpiring than we got last time we played at AAMI against Port. You always expect the home teams there to get favoured by the umpires, just like at Subi Oval in Perth but it would be nice if we weren't completely shafted to the point where we are umpired out of the game.

There midfield is dangerous because it's so even.

All of Dangermouse, Douglas, Thompson, Van Berlo, Sloane are capable of getting heaps of clearances.

A matchup I'd personally like to see Steven v Dangerfield, think that would make an intriguing battle.

Strange that we thrashed pretty much the same lineup by 103 pts not that long ago, and Craig got the sack.

All that said, I have a really strong feeling the Saints will win and make a big statement.

Must match them at contested ball and clearances. Desperately need one of Fisher or McEvoy back for balance. Vince misses for Adelaide through suspension which helps. Biggest game of the year for us thus far. Win this and I truly believe Top 4 is in reach.

We play pretty well in Adelaide.

Do we? I seem to remember too many very recent losses to next to completely pathetic Port Adelaide teams. I'm not sure that we're as good in Adelaide as all that.

Definitely think we have a chance, but that's not because Adelaide is not as good as everyone thinks they are (I think they're looking bloody good at the moment), but rather that I think we can take it to the best of them if we turn up with the right mindset. Every game is another game that we consolidate Scotty's gameplan, and the more consistent we will get.

Definitely think we can win this game, and it's a big game. This win going into the bye really shows us that we can take big scalps away from home, and consolidates us in the 8. In effect, it makes up for the Richmond loss.

Adelaide are consistently the most overrated team in the competition, and whenever we play them nobody ever gives us a chance. Even in 2009 on the back of over a dozen consecutive wins apparently Adelaide were the "dark horse" that were shoe ins to knock us off. (We flogged them by ten goals in that game.)
That was an embarrassing game. We had been in good form and all the media scribes were hopping on board. Suddenly we were almost favourites to win the flag out of nowhere! That game at Etihad was a reality check, bit like Richmond on the weekend.

I want our best team out there. Give it everything, and then we can have the two weeks off. Will make it a lot sweeter if the boys put in everything and try their all to win this.

My changes:

IN: Fisher
OUT: Jones

Sorry Clint, but who else do I chop. Milney has runs on the board and Newnes and Clarke were good. If McEvoy is fit:

IN: Fisher, McEvoy
OUT: Jones, Milne

Very hard to drop Milney, but what choice do we have... I can't even fit Geary in if fit. I know he's been great, but I can't chop Clarke or Newnes. I assume that Raph will probably make way if Watters thinks Geary is required. Playing all of Clarke, Newnes, Geary and Gram might not be a realistic proposition.

I want our best team out there. Give it everything, and then we can have the two weeks off. Will make it a lot sweeter if the boys put in everything and try their all to win this.

My changes:

IN: Fisher
OUT: Jones

Sorry Clint, but who else do I chop. Milney has runs on the board and Newnes and Clarke were good. If McEvoy is fit:

IN: Fisher, McEvoy
OUT: Jones, Milne

Very hard to drop Milney, but what choice do we have... I can't even fit Geary in if fit. I know he's been great, but I can't chop Clarke or Newnes. I assume that Raph will probably make way if Watters thinks Geary is required. Playing all of Clarke, Newnes, Geary and Gram might not be a realistic proposition.

CJ isn't going to get dropped mate. Leading clearance winner for us. Also not going to drop two smalls for two talls.

Fisher in for Clarke and McEvoy in for Newnes. Nothing against them but Macca and Fisher are better players at the moment. Would also like Fazza Ray back in there but unsure what's happened if he was playing at Sandy today.

Adelaide have improved a fair bit from last year when we toweled them up by 100 points but I don't think they are as great as everyone is making them out to be. They might be top 4 at the moment but they have had a pretty soft draw and are more a 5-8 side in reality.

i think you are been a bit harsh by saying we are a 5-8 side in reality, i think more a 7-4 side. we are at the end of the toughest part of our draw which finishes this Friday and so far sit 4-1 in that period with wins over sydney 5pts (SCG), Geelong 50pts (h), Carlton 69pts (ES), Fremantle 29pts (subi) with a 26 point loss to collingwood at home having had a 6 point lead at 3quarter time. I doubt anybody would have given the crows a chance of winning 4 of those games.

Sure, we've played GC and GWS, but since those games, we've had a relatively difficult draw. Sure our run home is good, but we have had a pretty tough 5 weeks as mentioned above, and I think most would say we're playing good footy, especially still being no. 1 for contested possies. Its gonna be an interesting game this week, as your boys are reclaiming some mojo and looking a lot better, should be a beauty. Cheers guys.

i think you are been a bit harsh by saying we are a 5-8 side in reality, i think more a 7-4 side. we are at the end of the toughest part of our draw which finishes this Friday and so far sit 4-1 in that period with wins over sydney 5pts (SCG), Geelong 50pts (h), Carlton 69pts (ES), Fremantle 29pts (subi) with a 26 point loss to collingwood at home having had a 6 point lead at 3quarter time. I doubt anybody would have given the crows a chance of winning 4 of those games.

Think you need to learn how to quote man! That post was tricky.

Also I think he's referring to you position wise, being a 5th-8th side. Which admittedly doesn't say much when the top 5 seem to be a little ahead of the rest (similar to last year).

I think it's very open though and seems like almost any team could beat any team in the top 8. So definitely be interesting to see how we go over the next two weeks against Crows and Essendon.

Think Crows have a bit of an advantage with it being in Adelaide. See how we do.

I think we play horribly in Adelaide. But we are a very different side to the one that lost in Round 1. Even in our losses, we just seem to have gelled better. The difference between a win and a loss before our bye is monumental. Another hard fought close loss will be deflating. A massive interstate win against a top 4 side will be a massive boost.

48 "rest days" for the Crows over the last 5 with a trip to Sydney & Perth & 20 days in the bye to the Saints 34 with the Perth trip and coming off the trip up north to Metricon on a 7 day turn around (Sat Twilight v Sat Night & AAMI). Form wise, we have the extra game to draw level @ 4-1 (Sydney, Geelong, Carlton, Freo - Collingwood) v 3-3 (Carlton, Sydney, Gold Coast - Hawthorn, West Coast, Richmond), previous form, at home, Adelaide would have us over a barrel but as some sides have shown a rather large break (20 days between games is a long time in footy) can be detrimental to momentum, which the Crows had, likewise, a break even form belies the teams the Saints played as Hawthorn, Carlton, Sydney & West Coast were entrenched in or just above on form in the top 8 with Richmond on the march and the only gimmie game was the last against Gold Coast. So if a flat crows turn up they could find themselves quickly in a hole needing shovels, but do have the forward prowess to pull themselves out of it with the likes of Walker & Petrenko complimenting Tippet nicely.

Adelaide will have to then face Round 13 on the Sunday with a trip to Etihad to face North Melbourne (8 day break) whereas we have the bye and then face North on the bounce in Round 14 (16 day break) in the batch of teams with the last bye available.

So what? Are you conceding defeat already?
We can thump this mob.

Think you need to learn how to quote man! That post was tricky.

Also I think he's referring to you position wise, being a 5th-8th side. Which admittedly doesn't say much when the top 5 seem to be a little ahead of the rest (similar to last year).

I think it's very open though and seems like almost any team could beat any team in the top 8. So definitely be interesting to see how we go over the next two weeks against Crows and Essendon.

Think Crows have a bit of an advantage with it being in Adelaide. See how we do.

Herald Scum predicted last week that Adelaide would finish with a 19 win record by the end of the year plus home finals.

Now there is some incentive! ;)

Rather than complaining about the draw and its unfavourable six day breaks, with travel etc etc, I think the draw has been to our advantage this year.

We had a new coach, an infusion of coaching and performance staff and a desire to give young players a game. And with a new game plan that involved a move from the strangling defence at all costs of Lyin.

The initial matches with Port, Gold Coast, Western Bulldogs, Fremantle, Melbourne, Hawthorn and Carlton allowed us to build and gain experience each week. This was a favourable draw for a developing team with a new coach.

At 6 wins, 5 losses, we now have our experienced players showing good form, our mid tier of Stephens, Armitage and Geary stepping up to the highest level and a blooding of exciting new players, who have all been given games and match time to show what they can do:

- Stanley 17
- Simpkin 12
- Cripps 12
- Milera 11
- Siposs 10
- Saad 6
- Newnes 5

With the younger players getting match time and showing that they deserve to be there, not only has this given up far far greater depth, it has given the whole club an injection of enthusiasm.

At 6 wins, we are well poised for finals action. Have no doubt that this game is vital for our September campaign. Winning matches like this are the difference between the Saints making the eight, or indeed reaching top 4. We probably need 13 or 14 wins to make the final 8, and 16 wins to make the top 4. Thus this is a vital win for us.

Hawthorn in 2008 won a flag that they weren't expected to win. In this year with two standouts - Collingwood and West Coast - and eight others fighting for places, this REALLY could be our year.

I don't subscribe to the windows open and shut scenario, but that you take your chances when they are there. And rest assured our chance for a flag is DEFINITELY there.

A tight game this week against Adelaide, but can see Saints winning by 21 points.

Well we find ourselves back to those wonderful 6 day breaks and flying back from interstate game and into another interstate game. Great scheduling from AFL. Amazing that Carlton & StKilda both have to travel insterstate on 6 day breaks to play teams that had the BYE!

As mentioned above Jack Steven vs PAtrick Dangerfield would get you to watch by itself. Two of most exciting young midfielders, lets hope both coaches allow them to go H2H.

Not sure if others noticed but had few people say they agreed on Sat night that Kosi doesnt look 100% and looks like he's playing injured. You wonder if McEvoy was fit if he'd have played last few weeks? So wouldnt be surprised if Macca is back then Kosi maybe given a rest. Wilkes kicked another 5 in VFL so also pressing for spot. Although issue with Kosi out for McEvoy is we would be short up forward so Wilkes would have to come in.

Sam Fisher & Jarryn Geary also available and then Farren Ray who for who knows why was dropped all should come back in side. Thought Ray had been one our best for past month. Who goes out? Well thats anyones guess really!

Agree with K that Jones needs to go to Sloane. He is most damaging midfielder they have, and not sure who takes Dangermouse. As much as id love Steven i think we need to send a tagger to him, which could be Ray if he comes back in.

Although issue with Kosi out for McEvoy is we would be short up forward so Wilkes would have to come in.

OUT: ??????
IN: McEvoy, Fisher, Geary, Ray

I think we play horribly in Adelaide. But we are a very different side to the one that lost in Round 1. Even in our losses, we just seem to have gelled better. The difference between a win and a loss before our bye is monumental. Another hard fought close loss will be deflating. A massive interstate win against a top 4 side will be a massive boost.

We........are also a different side you played last year when you thrashed us by 100 pts. plus, there has been a massive change in form similar to West Coast last year. Dont judge us on last year's performance.

I never mentioned last year. Last year was an aberration for you, even though you were struggling at the time. As I mentioned in my post, I rate Adelaide as a top 4 side, so the boost of winning would be massive.

Scott Watters has said that Fisher, Mcevoy and Geary should all be available for selection. Dropping players will be harder than ever. A good problem.

Fisher, Geary and McEvoy all trained at Moorabbin yesterday and moved well.

That was an embarrassing game. We had been in good form and all the media scribes were hopping on board. Suddenly we were almost favourites to win the flag out of nowhere! That game at Etihad was a reality check, bit like Richmond on the weekend.

2009 was the year I lost my media naivety - we won 19 straight then lost two games by under a kick and were clearly looking towards finals and playing like we were bored, which we were really. Yet all that was said was that we had been found out, Adelaide and Collingwood were the form teams of the competition and the Crows were going to knock St Kilda out in straight sets after Collingwood beat them in the first final.

It was so obvious that they were talking absolute shit yet they stuck with it. Didn't quite happen that way, as we clearly stepped up again for finals.

Also I didn't truly believe we had a team ready to challenge until we played and won at AAMI twice, I don't think we play well there at all.

Anyway, Crows are playing great football and are vastly different to last year. They take the game on, hit the stoppages hard and have a strong back six which is damaging on the rebound. Good forwards who are tough to contain, we'll have to play at our best. I would love to get Fisher and McEvoy back for this one, Blake will be needed down back.

Round 12: St Kilda vs Adelaide