Preview Round 13 2020 - Brisbane Lions vs St Kilda, GABBA, Sunday August 23 3:35pm

SACK FAGAN WHO IS TOO TOUCHY FEELY NICE WITH HIS PLAYERS. SACK HIPWOOD, MCSTAY, CHARLIE, DIZZY, WITHO, RAYNER AND TRADE A FIRST ROUND PICK FOR WALKER AND CUTLER.

WE ARE DREADFUL AND THE WORST TEAM TO EVER BE 9-3!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Are you OK? Have a lie down.

I’d like to see us have a bit more variation in how we kick inside 50. We seem to be in a habit of getting the ball in the corridor at half back, only to transfer it back out to the boundary (usually right hand side). This leads to all our entries going to RFP which is not ideal to be kicking from 30m on a tight angle. It’s also bloody easy for defenders to predict what is going to happen.

We went on to win 9 in a row after that game.
Last year we made 3 changes I believe after that game.
Outs: N Robbo, L Taylor, A Smith
Ins: Lester, Bundy, Oscar.

This week there will be 2 changes minimum with both Rich and Rayner to come in.
How many other changes would suit your thinking?🤔
If we rested players the game before we may have 10 in a row! Chuck in Coleman n Payne as well to combat their likely tall forward structure. Berry has been struggling so do we play the name or some potentially impressive young player....as I said did we learn a lesson or not?

I’d like to see us have a bit more variation in how we kick inside 50. We seem to be in a habit of getting the ball in the corridor at half back, only to transfer it back out to the boundary (usually right hand side). This leads to all our entries going to RFP which is not ideal to be kicking from 30m on a tight angle. It’s also bloody easy for defenders to predict what is going to happen.

It also saps heaps more energy by taking longer to get there and the forwards have to make multiple leads. No wonder our shots are woeful weekly.

Probably need to get the ball into the corridor and then handball the ball to half forward where we can kick it to a lead up at the player with the footy. Guys like Rich and Zorko are pretty good at this

Instead of continuing to chip it around.

Probably need to get the ball into the corridor and then handball the ball to half forward where we can kick it to a lead up at the player with the footy. Guys like Rich and Zorko are pretty good at this

We looked good when we (rarely) did this last week. Very bad work from half back which needs rapid improvement.

Put Rich and Birchall together, we'll be ok.
Witherden will start looking good too with less pressure.

This will be a bit like Brisbane of 2020 playing against Brisbane of 2019, two inexperienced teams with exciting flare on the up a year apart. Gabba might tip the scale in our favour (I wish & hope).

The Saints are going really well. Have watched them a few times and are very impressed with them. They are no pushovers and have alot of players in form. I might be wrong but I cannot see us beating them with the many issues I see with our team and our overall form. I hope not but I can see the Saints winning by 30 points

We are a momentum side too so if we get on a roll, there'll be 5-6 goals on board pretty quickly.

ITYM behinds.

It really comes down to taking our chances. We have a stellar midfield, we create the most scoring opportunities in the league, we're sitting equal first on the ladder despite not playing anywhere near our best this year (in terms of a four quarter effort). We have a lot of upside I would've thought.

SACK FAGAN WHO IS TOO TOUCHY FEELY NICE WITH HIS PLAYERS. SACK HIPWOOD, MCSTAY, CHARLIE, DIZZY, WITHO, RAYNER AND TRADE A FIRST ROUND PICK FOR WALKER AND CUTLER.

WE ARE DREADFUL AND THE WORST TEAM TO EVER BE 9-3!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Interesting point. Are we the worst ever team to be 9-3? I remember North being 8 or 9 nil a few seasons ago but every thought that the score board flattered them.

Is this the worse Brissie 9/3 team? Not sure we have ever been 9/3.

I need more to do!!!!

Are we the worst ever team to be 9-3?

Doubt it.

Melbourne were 9-3 in '04 and '05, finished outside the top 4 and lost in the first final, as did Collingwood in '06 and Sydney recently but we have a...

WINNER - Essendon was 9-3 in '12 and '13 and missed the finals!

We were 9-3 in '02 and '04. Those were pretty good teams though.

A player has to actually lead up. Just watched Richmond where Jack R was constantly leading up and so were other Richmond forwards. The forwards have to provide multiple options which I did not see in the Melbourne Brissie games last year. Now I know that you could not see what is really happening on the TV and maybe our forward line is not as static as some of us older supporters allege.

Pleased to see though Jackess has become an 'oldie' bemoaning the lack of some old time lead up forward play.

I will expose the origin of 3KZ's weakness for Ryan Lester soon. Keep tuned in.

Interesting point. Are we the worst ever team to be 9-3? I remember North being 8 or 9 nil a few seasons ago but every thought that the score board flattered them.

I need more to do!!!!
The last times we were 9-3 it was in each of 2002, 2003*, and 2004.

Those were some pretty damned good Brissie 9/3 teams, so you may have a point there.

* plus a draw

Listening to Browny speak On The Couch. He says we get scored against too easily on the "way back". Ranked 18th for points against after scoring a behind down at our end. Also says that we can't underestimate the loss of Hodge which has been visibly noticeable.

Hopefully there's a quick fix for this and doesn't continue to haunt us in big games.

Some other interesting key stats they listed for our success this year:

1st - Inside 50 diff.
3rd - Points from forward half & time in forward half.
3rd - forward half turnovers.

Those 3 will be the KEY for success this week against the Saints. Keep the ball in there. Keep the intensity up for all quarters. Do this and we'll win.

Listening to Browny speak On The Couch. He says we get scored against too easily on the "way back". Ranked 18th for points against after scoring a behind down at our end. Also says that we can't underestimate the loss of Hodge which has been visibly noticeable.

Hopefully there's a quick fix for this and doesn't continue to haunt us in big games.

Some other interesting key stats they listed for our success this year:

1st - Inside 50 diff.
3rd - Points from forward half & time in forward half.
3rd - forward half turnovers.

Those 3 will be the KEY for success this week against the Saints. Keep the ball in there. Keep the intensity up for all quarters. Do this and we'll win.

So we're great at getting the ball inside 50, keeping it inside our forward 50 and scoring but then we don't we get scored heavily against.

Seems to balance out

So we're great at getting the ball inside 50, keeping it inside our forward 50 and scoring but then we don't we get scored heavily against.

Seems to balance out
It's a weird one hey. It's almost as if it's because of the high press that we employ every game. Cannot count the amount of times the opposition score from our misses these past 5+ years.

I believe the GABBA will be to our advantage, so Lions by 12 if we kick straight. However, We could be in trouble IF St.Kilda kick the ball away from the side Andrews is on when exiting in defence. Andrews won't be able to lock it in with the punch to the boundary. We compress really high and whilst it works against the average to mid ranked teams, we are open to the quick turn over and I am worried about Butler who would be faster than any of our backs.