Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Priddis

• Other

Not going with Boyd this week as McKenzie might get him on Friday night. For me, it will be Murphy v the Tigers. What do you think guys or is Swan or Franklin on Sunday afternoon a better option? Ablett doesn't perform well against the Dockers as Crowley might go on him as usual.

Bock will likely go to Pav this week for the Suns. Not sure if I'd put the big C on him. He scored very well against the Lions, but Lions had no Merret, their best defender.

Remember, KPF players don't usually run amok against the Gold Coast. We cover them alright-ish. It's more the smaller forwards who tear us to shreds and get the big scores.

Will go to Ablett. Gold Coast's clearance work is top notch, and I predict that Smith, Ablett, Rischitelli and Swallow could potentially rack up the points against a depleted Freo midfield. No Mundy, Sandi, etc.

Yep, gotta be Ablett. Freo doesn't have anyone capable of even slightly limiting Ablett, and he's really hitting form.

Big danger game for Freo - they had to dig really deep to win against Brisbane - they don't dig deep very often so expect frailmantle to return and Suns to get another win, even though it is Pav's 250th - also Pav hasn't performed above average in any of his milestone games in the past.

I just checked and yes, i was correct. Ablett tore Freo a new arseh*le in both games in 2010, Crowley played both of them as well.

@Subi: 33 possesions, 4 goals, 2 marks, 4 tackles http://stats.rleague.com/afl/stats/games/2010/080920100411.html

@MCG: 36 possesions, 6 marks, 4 tackles
http://stats.rleague.com/afl/stats/games/2010/080920100910.html

Ablett is my 1st, 2nd and 3rd choice as captain this week.:thumbsu:

You make a strong case, Rude. Might have to get Ablett in this week and chuck the big C on him first up. :):thumbsu:

forget having any freo or gc suns player captain this weekend, it's been raining in Subiaco for a while and by the looks of the forecast, it is going to keep on raining till the end of the week and beyond.

So unless Pav or Ablett can swim, stay well away.

just some helpfull advice

forget having any freo or gc suns player captain this weekend, it's been raining in Subiaco for a while and by the looks of the forecast, it is going to keep on raining till the end of the week and beyond.

Yeah tell me about it!!!

I'm trying to pack up everything for the big move home to Launceston after 8 years in Perth. Need to mow the lawns and it keeps bloody raining!!

Earlier this week we had the wettest June day in Perth for 25 years and probably looking at 10-15mm each day for the next 3-4 days.

And if anyone wants to know how the rain can make a ground look in Perth, look up the recent NRL game here, Souths Vs Brisbane. There was literally 3 inches of water over most of the ground!!

Yeah tell me about it!!!

I'm trying to pack up everything for the big move home to Launceston after 8 years in Perth. Need to mow the lawns and it keeps bloody raining!!

Earlier this week we had the wettest June day in Perth for 25 years and probably looking at 10-15mm each day for the next 3-4 days.

And if anyone wants to know how the rain can make a ground look in Perth, look up the recent NRL game here, Souths Vs Brisbane. There was literally 3 inches of water over most of the ground!!

the bad weather is doing my head in when selecting a captain, this week is a week I must win both main leagues I am in to try to secure a top 4 spot in both leagues

Great advice mate and yes, it has been raining in Perth for a few days and this may affect Ablett or Pav from scoring big on Sat afternoon. So it's a toss of the coin between Murphy, Swan or Buddy Franklin for me.

Since when did a coin have three sides? :eek::thumbsu:

Correct me if I'm wrong (and I may well be), but haven't some of the bigger DT-scoring games come in wet-weather conditions? From memory the Port v Richmond game in the wet last year was pretty high scoring for DT (Plus I seem to remember Bartel scoring a 170 or something in the wet a few years back, and Akermanis scored about the same against Geelong in the wet...going back a while I know!)

Obviously wet-weather would deter you from selecting a key-position player who relies on marks to score well, but someone like Ablett might wind up with 10+ tackles if it's gonna be stop-start footy with heaps of stoppages! Plus if ít's wet he'll be kicking more than handballing...

Correct me if I'm wrong (and I may well be), but haven't some of the bigger DT-scoring games come in wet-weather conditions? From memory the Port v Richmond game in the wet last year was pretty high scoring for DT (Plus I seem to remember Bartel scoring a 170 or something in the wet a few years back, and Akermanis scored about the same against Geelong in the wet...going back a while I know!)

Obviously wet-weather would deter you from selecting a key-position player who relies on marks to score well, but someone like Ablett might wind up with 10+ tackles if it's gonna be stop-start footy with heaps of stoppages! Plus if ít's wet he'll be kicking more than handballing...

Shut up Magic!!! if the fools wish to not take my advice on Ablett and listen to the weather man, well, let them be.

pssst!!! this game was played during numerous down pours and hail, along with a howling gale to boot, Ablett sure hates the wet :rolleyes::thumbsu::

http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_match_statistics?mid=4172

Shut up Magic!!! if the fools wish to not take my advice on Ablett and listen to the weather man, well, let them be.

pssst!!! this game was played during numerous down pours and hail, along with a howling gale to boot, Ablett sure hates the wet :rolleyes::thumbsu::

But Ablett was playing at Geelong at the time. Yes I know the GC kids give the ball off to him at every oppertunity, but if they don't get the ball? I realise Ablett (like Judd) has learnt quickly to find his own ball a bit this year, but still..Ablett could easily have a 80-90 point game if a hard tag is applied effectively.

that's a silly match comparison, that was in Geeling with a gun midfield around him. And it was against Brisbane. This is in W.A on a wide big ground and the suns midfield isnt exactly as smashing as Geelongs midfield was 2 years back.

A fair few differences but in saying that, i've caved in and picked Ablett as my captain despite him also having an iffy shoulder during last weekends match and the fact it is Pav's 250th game

Freo is just a fraction better than Brisbane and it is in W.A also not down at the Cattery

Just a question though, has GC Suns played wet weather footy yet in 2011 ?

that's a silly match comparison, that was in Geeling with a gun midfield around him. And it was against Brisbane. This is in W.A on a wide big ground and the suns midfield isnt exactly as smashing as Geelongs midfield was 2 years back.

A fair few differences but in saying that, i've caved in and picked Ablett as my captain despite him also having an iffy shoulder during last weekends match and the fact it is Pav's 250th game

Freo is just a fraction better than Brisbane and it is in W.A also not down at the Cattery

Just a question though, has GC Suns played wet weather footy yet in 2011 ?

Youre a deadshit.

First people say he hasnt got a good record against Crowley, i de-bunk the shit out of that.

Then you say Ablett wont score well because its raining heavily :)rolleyes::eek:) in Perth and i show you a game that Ablett dominated while playing in a cyclone.

My first comment in this whole thread about Ablett was that he loves Subiaco, but im not going to give you the stats, you can find them out for yourself. (including a match this year at Subi for the Suns against a team much much better than Freo)

Grow some balls you knob, youre sitting on the fence.

Round 15 Captains