Round 15 The Sydney Swans vs. The Adelaide Crows

I don't know if I'm treading on toes in the bigfooty Swans community. But do we seriously think Parker is ready yet? Nice body size on him for a kid. But some of his skills looked pretty undercooked to me on his last elevation.

Agree with you,i think he should have another week off,its not worth the risk,remembering he was also semi-concussed.

I don't understand this, if he was concussed within seconds, he shouldn't have been allowed back on, therefore wouldn't have injured his ankle and would have no problem playing next week. Obviously med staff can't forsee this, but how the **** was he allowed back on if concussed? There's a rule specifically disallowing this.

He obviously was not concussed and passed the test if he was allowed back on.

I didn't watch it so am only going from media reports and what all posters are saying, and ALL use the term 'concussed' or 'semi-concussed' so I don't get how more questions aren't being asked about this.

I think its time Sumner gets another run especially given he is from Adelaide. No good risking Jack for a game like this. Sumner been giving plenty of run thru the ressies by the sound. Sumner for Jack

TDL must be ripe - 9 cant be ignored and if White comes up Ok that gives us a good forward combo that worked well last year. TDL for Everitt.

If Teddy is ready then like for like - maybe Teddy for LRT.

Got to roll with White, Bevan and others who have only been given 1 week IMO.

Actually, I see we've got the Gold Coast the week after. Reckon Jack should be given the next 2 weeks off. If he's aggravating his ankle so easily, he needs a rest, and this is the best point of the season for it to happen.

Not saying we're locks, 'cause both sides are capable of playing some decent footy if they put their minds to it, but if we lose to the Crows and the Suns, it's not going to be because we're missing Kieran Jack

Ins: TDL, AJ and Super Ted in the backline, Parker or Jetta
Outs; The Irishman (sob!), White, Jack (rested), Everitt

LJ to the forward line, perhaps to rotate with LRT if we need him for kickins. It is time for LJ to stand up!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AOCchgW90v4

Well considering that was LJ's first career goal, and we struggle to kick them from half that distance, I don't understand why he hasn't been given more opportunities when we've tried to make forwards out of guys who clearly aren't natural forwards.

Our next two games are against a couple of spoon contenders, so stick him in the forward 50 and let him kick a few more confidence building goals.

Would be great if LJ stood up but lets not forget it's only his third game - and looked way less nervous last game. Based on that if he improves again that is a good sign.

I like the idea of having LJ, TDL, White, Reid as they would have developed some chemistry over the past 12 + months playing twos.

Cant see the case for Jetta - Sumner, Nipper have all put there hands up with solid performances - not sure what message that would send.

Like the idea of resting a few key guys selectively - good call J Moore.

I haven't seen any reserve games this year was going to go to Coorparoo when we played Brisbane but with local footy commitments it was difficult. How has Jared Moore been playing? i liek teh idea of using him as a sub fro soem good impact late in the game. I haven't seen much of Parker so won't comment. It appeared today on AFL.com.au that longmire is considering playing KJ this weekend. Maybe for hlaf a game to see how he goes then inject the sub. I only caught teh last 10mins on teh radio what has Kennelly done that has everyone hating? Also i am not a huge White fan i find that his hands seem to let him down and needs some work on contested marking situations thats just IMO.

I am liking the way the Swans are finishing out games at the moment. Yes we have lost the last 2 matches but it is against 2 top 4 teams but in each case we have come back in the last part of the match. I was at the Carlton game and while we played poorly with many turnovers in the first 3 quarters, if we played the same as we did in the last quarter then we could have won. Not sure if they were taking it easy but we seemed to get the majority of the clearances and the goals came relatively easy. I missed the game on Saturday night, damn PVR cut out at 38 minutes but once again it seems we played much better in the second half. Is this the Kunel Sandhills coming into play?

I am encouraged in the way we are playing, we are not quite at the level of the top teams but we are heading in the right direction. Even when we have some of our top players out, the players that come in still allow us to play at a level that means we can win against all but the top 4-5. This is the best depth i can remember the Swans having. I just hope some of our younger fringe players aren't snapped up next year because I think there is some talent there and it would be good for us to be like Geelong or hawthorn and have players who mature in the reserves and slot straight into the 1sts when they get an opportunity.

Go Swans

what has Kennelly done that has everyone hating? .

Apparently the 3 or 4 costly turnovers in that past couple of weeks far outweigh the constant run, carry and breaking the lines he's given us (and still does) over the years.

He's also apparently the only player in the team who handballs to a team mate under pressure on occasion. As you'd probably be aware... our midfielders and forwards never ever do this.

As long as Johnston plays forward I'll be happy. He could potentially be our best goal kicker and yet we insist on playing him in defense, even though scoring goals is a much bigger problem for us than defending.

Reid-White-Johnston is a combo with a lot of potential, and if given an opportunity could be the long term answer to our forward issues.

This is what I've wanted to see, with maybe TDL and McGlynn at their feet. But they need to be picked and left alone to develop, no back-up rucking or other chopping and changing. Reid is going to be a real star, and that could be a fantastic forward combination in a year or two.

I'd love to see that but the sub rule has probably screwed up any chance of that happening.

I'm over the sub rule tbh. Liked it at first but the novelty was short lived.

Some are being a bit harsh on Tiger. He's made a few blues, but he's given us an amazing amount of forward drive since he came back in. He's been breaking lines consistently by taking players on and backing himself. Sometimes this comes undone, but without him we'd really be lacking in that area of our game.

Apparently the 3 or 4 costly turnovers in that past couple of weeks far outweigh the constant run, carry and breaking the lines he's given us (and still does) over the years.

He's also apparently the only player in the team who handballs to a team mate under pressure on occasion. As you'd probably be aware... our midfielders and forwards never ever do this.

Yeah i think you should leave him be for now. I love watching hsi dashign play off half back its gives us that great attacking drive. A few turn overs ro hold ball decisions are bound to happen when you play a good hard running game people just need to leave him alone.

Everyone is loving on Jesse White on here. I have just got invovled with the forum and you can tell who the favourites are. I am not a huge Jesse White fan he needs to work on his hand skills a bit more. A mate i played with last year played state with him and he gets little respect fromt eh QLD football community which i think is a shame becasue he could be good with soem work i don't know if he is ready for a regular ones spot yet though

Yeah i think you should leave him be for now. I love watching hsi dashign play off half back its gives us that great attacking drive. A few turn overs ro hold ball decisions are bound to happen when you play a good hard running game people just need to leave him alone.

Everyone is loving on Jesse White on here. I have just got invovled with the forum and you can tell who the favourites are. I am not a huge Jesse White fan he needs to work on his hand skills a bit more. A mate i played with last year played state with him and he gets little respect fromt eh QLD football community which i think is a shame becasue he could be good with soem work i don't know if he is ready for a regular ones spot yet though

I wouldn't say White is a favourite on here. I think most posters are fully aware of both his shortcomings and his potential. There just seems to be a lot of discussion over whether we let him develop in the reserves or the seniors.

I'm of the opinion that he's not going to improve the parts of his game he needs to improve (marking and hardness at the contest) playing against guys half his size in the Canberra league.

Hi again. Don't get me wrong: I love Tadgh. As Malceski Fan says:

I agree: they all do it. BUT in the backline, when the game is on the line, turnovers leading direct to goal really hurt. Tadgh has been guilty of more than his fair share against the tanking Blues and the Colliwobbles. Garletts and Wellinghams goals were at crucial moments when our momentum was taken away from us and particularly when he didn't take the safe option to kick for the boundary and reboot. He was under pressure and his skills and decision making let him down.

I also saw it last year with Kirky towards the end. He knew when his time was up, and I have similar feelings currently for Tadgh. It is a brutal game, sometimes devoid of sympathy, but I honestly have doubts at the moment whether Tadgh is in our best 6 defenders..

Go the Bloods!

Round 15 The Sydney Swans vs. The Adelaide Crows