Game Day Round 16, 2023 - Brisbane Lions vs. Richmond

At home against the Tigers who are an average team missing Lynch, Prestia, and possibly Dusty.
We 'should' win this comfortably. 4-6 goals.

I hope our fans are more sophisticated than the average crowd and don't go on an abuse / booing spree against Pickett tonight.

I think overall the Lions faithful hasn't been one of those fan bases, so hoping it doesnt start tonight
Yes presumed innocent, let the courts decide and determine any punishment.

I hope our fans are more sophisticated than the average crowd and don't go on an abuse / booing spree against Pickett tonight.

I think overall the Lions faithful hasn't been one of those fan bases, so hoping it doesnt start tonight
He may get a few but it may not be for that reason.
He has been a bit of a thug on field aswell, the last few times we have played them.

I have mentioned a few times that in my opinion the sub usually has no bearing on a game result.
Somewhere along the line it may have a big impact but in general i don't think it will.
On 12 occasions our sub came on during or at the start of Q4. Only twice in Q3.

I cannot think of any sub we used this year that may have changed the result of the game or in fact had much influence.
Lyons twice with 7 disposals but he is a ball magnet, and one was against woeful North. Answerth also with 7 v Dockers.

7 disposals in 1 quarter is good. But the player they replaced may have got 4 disposals, so you are only 3 disposals better off.

It is a tactical sub and tonight i would be using Fort again or Gunston only because he plays tall and named. Also, the rants will be epic.
We have a lot of smalls playing so easy to move around if injury strikes a small.
Not the case if Oscar, Hippy or Jo get injured.
You can't cover every position with 1 tactical sub. The club make that decision with what knowledge they have.
For arguments sake if Payne has been struggling at training with his ankle you may decide on Gardiner tonight.

1688005313776.png

On Marlion Pickett.
I am curious to know how someone on bail for multiple burglary offences can fly interstate and play a professional sport?
The Tigers are going to lose my respect as an association representing the game and how it should be represented if he is found guilty.
I'm hopeing he has pleaded to the Richmond club and professed his innocense , cause if they are aware of his guilt then that is something else.
Just my morale opinion , mainly due to all these teens causing havic with very little consequences.

Agree wholeheartedly. This isn’t like JDG where ultimately it’s a “he said-she said” thing.

The police are not going to press charges like that on a public figure unless they are 100% sure, and it doesn’t help that he literally went to jail already after being convicted of the same thing.

Just feels so dirty to me, would love to see what Tiges fans think.

Don’t want to alarm anybody, but our pick of the umpires tonight is ****ing woeful.

Williamson and Foot, who are both not AFL standard.

Andrew Stephens, who we’ve already covered shouldn’t be allowed to umpire QLD games as his attempt at consciously/unconsciously removing bias ironically makes him biased.

Mollison is alright.

Although it is funny that their numbers are #2, #12, #22, #32.

Be prepared for some howlers.

I have mentioned a few times that in my opinion the sub usually has no bearing on a game result.
Somewhere along the line it may have a big impact but in general i don't think it will.
On 12 occasions our sub came on during or at the start of Q4. Only twice in Q3.

I cannot think of any sub we used this year that may have changed the result of the game or in fact had much influence.
Lyons twice with 7 disposals but he is a ball magnet, and one was against woeful North. Answerth also with 7 v Dockers.

7 disposals in 1 quarter is good. But the player they replaced may have got 4 disposals, so you are only 3 disposals better off.

It is a tactical sub and tonight i would be using Fort again or Gunston only because he plays tall and named. Also, the rants will be epic.
We have a lot of smalls playing so easy to move around if injury strikes a small.
Not the case if Oscar, Hippy or Jo get injured.
You can't cover every position with 1 tactical sub. The club make that decision with what knowledge they have.
For arguments sake if Payne has been struggling at training with his ankle you may decide on Gardiner tonight.

View attachment 1724619
I know it was some time ago but suprised we've never gone the small forward route like Josh Green back in the day when he came on late and had some very impactful games on the scoreboard.

I reckon Kai Lohmann should have been given that spot tonight instead of being completly dropped.

Interesting that on the Club Podcast Kick Ons the question come up about Thursday Night Footy.
And none of the boys were very committal about liking Thursday night footy.
Makes me a little concerned about tonight.
Pretty sure our Thursday night record isn’t too bad though.

Nothing to worry about Mr Ripper everybody knows the AFL has it in for Richmond.

If anybody is going to be on the end of howlers, a decision that robs them of a semi final spot, a rule change that was specifically targeted at them to stimy their success & prevent them from winning another flag...... and so on, it's Richmond.

I know it was some time ago but suprised we've never gone the small forward route like Josh Green back in the day when he came on late and had some very impactful games on the scoreboard.

I reckon Kai Lohmann should have been given that spot tonight instead of being completly dropped.
Yes the super sub.
Best game from Greenie ever against West Coast .
I like it.

Don’t want to alarm anybody, but our pick of the umpires tonight is ******* woeful.

Andrew Stephens, who we’ve already covered shouldn’t be allowed to umpire QLD games as his attempt at consciously/unconsciously removing bias ironically makes him biased.

Mollison is alright.

The only good thing about this is that Mrs knaf is away at the moment so I can give full vent to my views on any howlers and even use words not appropriate in Mrs knaf’s presence.

Looks like there has been a late flurry of ticket sales to tonight game.
Probably won’t quite be a sell out but getting close.
Lots of single tickets left around the ground but it should be a decent crowd and a great atmosphere.

dont think its a matter worth commenting on myself. let him play

dont know to what extent if any pickett was involved in wrongdoing

not like thomas where multiple women have publicly accused him of being a pos

theres a bloke id happily not see put on a footy jumper ever again
Has Thomas been charged?
Being charged has a lot more proof than an allegation. Whether the alleged crimes are worse or not really shouldn't factor into it IMO.

Don’t want to alarm anybody, but our pick of the umpires tonight is ******* woeful.

Mollison is alright.

As part of our preparation for a hoped for Grand Final appearence we simply need to learn to win beyond the margin of umpire.

Has Thomas been charged?
Being charged has a lot more proof than an allegation. Whether the alleged crimes are worse or not really shouldn't factor into it IMO.
is facing at least one charge of threatening to distribute an intimate image

seemed like police were trying to get a fair few other charges up against him but if the mason greenwood case is evidence of anything, its that prosecuting domestic abuse / violence cases is notoriously difficult

Police don’t charge and hold someone overnight and then a magistrate impose a $50,000 surety unless there is good evidence. They calling the case circumstantial- in other words he wasn’t caught red handed but there is evidence that proves he is involved. Guy is a scumbag- aggravated burglary is a serious charge. Don’t know how I would feel if i was the victim of his offending and then have to watch as he runs round playing footy getting cheered and making a fortune. Bet Richmond would have been a lot happier to make a stand if finals were out of reach, but they a grubby club anyhow.