Autopsy Round 16, 2024: St.Kilda v Port Adelaide

All the talk of us tanking for early draft picks.

Our best 3 players today that look like they care were Marshall, Sinclair and Wilkie and they were all rookie or late draft picks.

Most of our early draft picks have been busts and then you have Hill who cost us a King's ransom in money and early draft picks.

Hill looks like he couldn't give a single f*** about us winning, he is just there for the money and getting a nice easy pay cheque.

That's only because we ****ed drafting though. That's not a system to plan around.

Christ you can't read , I never said he was an issue or he is no good, maybe go back and read again before you go off half cocked as always

I'll half **** you in a minute, Frisky.

Hope we see Max Heath come in for Campbell sometime over the next fortnight, especially with Caminiti going back. Against Grundy next week might not be a good time, but could target the O'Brien matchup against Adelaide as he comfortably beat a dual ruck setup consisting of Rhys Stanley and another young ruck in Edwards in the VFL. Has had a very good past 8 weeks, and our season is done anyways so time to do some exploration.

Note: North, Richmond, Casey, Suns games were all with Campbell in the team which would negatively impact his output
View attachment 2035223

View attachment 2035218
Marshall up forward not the worst thing i've seen.
Better than some first round draft pick key forwards i coiuld name.

Newcombe might not be a star name but he's Brownlow quality. Will Day is the most underrated player in footy, for impact he's as good as it gets. Then Connor Nash, Worpol and Amon outside who are all able to get 30 touches a game if someone else is struggling. They run deep and high quality.

Dylan Moore and Ginnivan both peel up with the play too. Moore has turned elite just about this year.

Sicily, Hardwick, McKenzie, Weddle, Chol, Jiath, The Wizzard, D'Ambrosio, Morrison, Meek are all good players with more left to get out of them and Mitch Lewis still to fit back in.

They are so much closer to a flag than us right now. They have quietly built their list up quickly by clever trades and drafting. They got a core together while we were bringing in guys like Hill and Howard.

Battle would make them very close to a top 6 side from what is currently a fringe of the 8 side. Development should see them jump hard in the next few years.

+ weddell

More importantly, they play as a side and for each other

Sharman may never be the player we hoped when he played those first few games. But you have to admire his attitude. Just compare it to King's demeanor.

He's been regularly dropped back to Sandy, shunted all around the ground when he does play and often used as the sub. Yet he never seems to drop his bundle and tries his guts out.

He won me over with his recent stints at Sandy when he virtually won us games that looked gone. There was no coasting through. Are you listening Max?

If it was up to me he'd pay every game for the rest of the year, preferably in one position. At least you know what you'll get.

I've got a theory that those taken as Rookies after not making it in the draft, are a lot more appreciative of being an AFL player.
Those taken early in the draft are precious little millennials who think that they should just get a pay rise every contract , and hugs, and play as shit as they like.

You’d think the club would know that though
It’s odd he just will not lead
Higgins s does …Wood does …King refuses
I know he played juniors this way but this ain’t markers up in the playground anymore
Still think a decent forward coach would make a difference
He looked better up the ground in the play
Anyway Sharman was a positive at least you can hang your hat on that …
Re King and not leading.....it is absolutely crazy and absolutely does my head in....along with the people I was with today.....they were going nuts about it.

You continually wonder which one is it:

Is he instructed not to lead and stay parked in or near the goal square or

Is he instructed to lead but just won't to it.........it beggars belief that if would be this option.

I've believed that this season and last,Max should be near the 50 line or a tad higher up the ground....he's a great kick from 50 and his general field kicking is fantastic.

Probably needs a knee clean out but by God he is pitiful
I've always been a HUGE Max fan(I still reminisce about his game in Perth in 2021) but he's really testing everyone's patience......especially mine !!!!!

Just for the record.....he was walking with a bit of a limp after training last Friday.

It was quite noticeable.

King looks really depressed to he honest. See him around Hampton Street regularly, just doesn't look like an upbeat happy person.

Looks like the weight of the world is on his shoulders. Sad really, and I have empathy for him if he is going through any mental health battles. Hopefully I am wrong.

As a footballer, he is never going to amount to much I am afraid. He is a Rhys Stanley type IMO. Has some natural gifts you think would make them a gun, but just not a natural footballer.

Staggering how weak he is in the contest. Not getting the ball is one thing, but the amount of times he let's his opponent mark is frightening. I would be shocked if he isn't the worst full forward in the comp when it comes to the opposition marking it in a contest.

I would put him in the reserves for the rest of the year and see if he can learn some ruck skills. Needs to put on 6-8kg of pure muscle in the off season.

Need to somehow take the pressure of him. It's obvious he is not a star and will never be one. Expectations must change. However, needs to be careful he doesn't fade away into obscurity completely. Can still carve out a decent career if he is up for the hard work.

I'm glad l decided to do something productive and just have the wireless on today.
ABC's commentary team are so much easier to listen to than most of the other garbage. It was pretty funny hearing how terrible the game was and inviting listeners to switch to the other game.
Dunno why peeps are upset. Everyone knows what the problems are and they've been obvious for some time. The good thing is that they're crystallising.
King in the ruck was good to hear. Hopefully he can learn to get his hands dirty, coz something has to click with him or he's gonna get a rude shock one day.

Murdered in the middle for 3 quarters, just destroyed. Something must be done there.

Get King out of the forward line & up the ground permanently. Or to 2nd ruck as Ro is dangerous forward. Or to TBO. We need to get this asset clicking. Play Sharman forward. Not sure what other tweaks we made in the last but they worked.

Good effort really against a desperate side, crowd sounded well involved too

Wood, Marshall, Wilkie, Nas, Battle, Sinclair our best. Steele good moments but has some head scratching moments too, where he just seems to stop running/competing.

Do we need all of Webster Arie & Bonner, seem like similar roles?

Higgo's snap round the corner in the last

TC some awkward moments when not rucking

The umpiring

Wilson could use a spell me thinks, give Hastie a run.

Think it took the boys a while to get back into it after the Bye, Windy especially!

That's only because we ****ed drafting though. That's not a system to plan around.

We haven't drafted well the last 20 years, there is the obvious ones like drafting Billings ahead of Bont, Paddy ahead of Petracca.

We blew two Top 10 draft picks on the Clarke brothers. Xav looked like being a star but injury prone and Raph was OK at best.

Then there was also Fergus Watts who I think we gave up a first round pick for, broke his ankle and never played for us again.

We have been unlucky too.

I am being harsh on Hill but there was an opportunity cost, we lost Acres and potentially another quality midfielder like Serong.

All the talk of us tanking for early draft picks.

Our best 3 players today that look like they care were Marshall, Sinclair and Wilkie and they were all rookie or late draft picks.

Most of our early draft picks have been busts and then you have Hill who cost us a King's ransom in money and early draft picks.

Hill looks like he couldn't give a single f*** about us winning, he is just there for the money and getting a nice easy pay cheque.
just superannuation for hill

I'm glad l decided to do something productive and just have the wireless on today.
ABC's commentary team are so much easier to listen to than most of the other garbage. It was pretty funny hearing how terrible the game was and inviting listeners to switch to the other game.
Dunno why peeps are upset. Everyone knows what the problems are and they've been obvious for some time. The good thing is that they're crystallising.
King in the ruck was good to hear. Hopefully he can learn to get his hands dirty, coz something has to click with him or he's gonna get a rude shock one day.
Game was entertaining enough I reckon, I hate it when commentators trash talk the contest. If both teams had kicked straight it would have been different! Certainly wasn't champagne football though.

You missed Jordan Lewis at his arrogant turd best by the way! Huddo & Sarah Jones I don't mind though.

Starting to think next year will be worse now. Looks like Lyon has broken this group. Pou, Owens, King regressed enormously.

With the young blokes not coming on under Lyon, we need Sincs and Wilkie both playing elite footy to even compete. An off year from either of those and we might just be the worst side in the comp next year. We are pretty damn close now.

Like the umpire that always calls not 15 combined with the one that never does (especially if it’s an 8 meter kick to one or their forwards from the boundary line)?
That was outrageous....I reckon it wasn't even 6 metres and we were at the other end of the ground !!!!!!!

You wouldn't want to be buying real estate off that clown !!!!!!!

Christ you can't read , I never said he was an issue or he is no good, maybe go back and read again before you go off half cocked as always
You need to take a spell old mate, you're going to blow a valve the way you go off , accept that we are rubbish, it's easier

Wow, the melts in here!

Maybe it's easier from a distance, but I don't think it's nearly as bad as a lot of you are making out. Long decades of PTSD flaring up I'd say. Completely understandable. But that's another tight loss in a game we were in all night, against a bogey team now 2 points adrift of the top 4. With a midfield that couldn't get near it for 75% of the night. Dominated them in the last quarter, toss of the coin we win it.

Take a breath, count to 10....

Completely share the frustration with King. He needs to be played in different roles ASAP to see if it works. On consideration, not sure there's a lot of point sending him to Sandy, for the Club or for Max himself. See if another role works for the remainder of the season, if it doesn't, well... plenty of other teams looking for a key forward.

Autopsy Round 16, 2024: St.Kilda v Port Adelaide