Preview Round 16 vs. Gold Coast, PFS, 4:35pm Saturday 29/06

Manic, fair dinkum, any time I meet a Crow's "fan", they climbed on the bandwagon 97-98, and have clung on since. Even Port have won a flag in that time 🤡

Went over for Gather Round when my daughter was one and a bit. Great footy state, but yeah, very easy to hang sh1t on my Missus Mother for being born over there 🤣

Can we give sr36 a pass for barracking for the Pies? He'll have to heckle me a bit before I can know what sort of bloke he is...
sr36 is a good bloke but I just can't get away from the fact that he's a school teacher. Even at my ripe old age of 62, he still feels the need to correct my mistakes.

I learn so much from BF. I just always assumed that people from Adelaide were naturally unattractive but that's only because sr36 lives there
The last police report described me as Tasmanian in appearance, but Victoria is actually to blame.

Confounding factor, you keep going to AO, and we have a 75% plus winning record there 🤣

What was it like at the Port game last year, walking out with the prison bar wannabes?

The last two times I have been, which wasn't the case 2022-23, we have gotten absolutely ambushed. I have addressed elsewhere the only reason we probably won Sunday, was because the foreign legion security Corp escorted me out, in the direction my Missus and 3 year old were forced marching. Otherwise, I stayed at the Sydney game round 1 until we had no hope coming back.

I'm starting to get Cousin of Daicos tier superstition here, and wondering if i risk going at all for the rest of the year. Should I chalk my membership up to a donation to the club? 🤔

Haha well yeah I live here, so I'm not spoilt with always going to the G unfortunately.

The port win last year was magnificent though - I gave it to every idiot I saw stealing our colours and given the context of the result I went home that night and forked out $4.5k for GF tickets. I've lived by the sword with this team and they've paid me back in spades. Still haven't heard anything louder than the Jamie sealer in 2022 though 🖤🤍

I think they’d prefer his 400th against Carlton, but if not I reckon they’ll engineer it so that it falls against Brisbane at the G the week after the Sydney game.

Gee I hope Pendles’ 400th is against the Blues. For starters, my family and I are coming down to Melbourne specifically for that particular game.

How about naming him as sub for the GC game? If we’re in control of the match, leave him on the bench for the whole match or activate him with 5mins to go, just so he actually takes to the field.

And before all you party-poopers rain on my parade, yes, yes, I know I’m selfishly putting my own interests ahead of the team’s! 🤣

Richards showed enough to indicate he could be a potential A grader Sullivan probably maxes out at a B grade. Different players though.
I think Sullivan is probably a bit knocked about after his first foray. The bye will freshen him up and he'll likely keep his spot until Pendles returns.

It's Harrison I want to keep in our side. He is a yuuuge upgrade on Ginnivan - same hairband, but gets into better position and doesn't rely on the old limbo move to win the ball. Just muscles in or runs to the right spot.

I think Sullivan is probably a bit knocked about after his first foray. The bye will freshen him up and he'll likely keep his spot until Pendles returns.

It's Harrison I want to keep in our side. He is a yuuuge upgrade on Ginnivan - same hairband, but gets into better position and doesn't rely on the old limbo move to win the ball. Just muscles in or runs to the right spot.
I agree - he's a powerful unit with with great footy smarts.
We need to fast track him to 50 games.

They're not blocking for Nick after the initial ball drop. Say plan a works extremely well and Nick gets it first touch 1 in 4. The other 3 out of 4 times Jdg is competing after first touch and increasing our chances of getting it forward.
Is Jordy a better chance than Crisp and Pendlebury to win that ball though?
Meanwhile, if he's forward, how often does the ball come to him from stoppage? Maybe one in 10.

The best game he played all year was forward of centre. I think he’ll find enough opportunities to impact the game at half forward with the occasional on ball stint.

IMG_6060.jpeg
He's impacting a lot less contests as a forward. If we short on dangerous forwards - fair enough, but we're not. Play him at stoppage.
If we were getting smashed at the stoppage fair enough, but our stoppage game has looked it’s best without him there.
Hasn't hurt Crisp or Pendles.
Firstly they’re different players with characteristics who’ve always been more defensively minded than De Goey.

Secondly, if they’re going so well in that role why force De Geoy there?

Is Jordy a better chance than Crisp and Pendlebury to win that ball though?

The best game he played all year was forward of centre. I think he’ll find enough opportunities to impact the game at half forward with the occasional on ball stint.

View attachment 2024141

If we were getting smashed at the stoppage fair enough, but our stoppage game has looked it’s best without him there.

Firstly they’re different players with characteristics who’ve always been more defensively minded than De Goey.

Secondly, if they’re going so well in that role why force De Geoy there?
The more quality you can use through the midfield, the harder you are to beat

Not quite relevant to this thread, but going into this game, we appear to be able to have a ladder position of anything from 3rd (if Carlton beat Geelong, or if Geelong beat Carlton by a margin that drops their percentage below ours, Essendon lose to West Coast, and GWS lose to Sydney)

Lowest I think we can drop to is 6th if results go against us.

That's an ok position to be in, at the end of the bye rounds. Absolutely in touch with top 4.

My main three would be Naicos, Crisp and Pendlebury with Mitchell as main rotation and De Goey available for tactical switches and clutch moments.
Mitchell is irrelevant for the time being. It will get interesting when he's ready to play.

But at the moment, assuming no more injuries, once Pendles and JDG are back we're probably looking at a choice like JDG in the middle, Harrison up forward with Sullivan missing out - or JDG up forward, Sullivan in the middle with Harrison missing out. Give me the former very comfortably.

Mitchell is irrelevant for the time being. It will get interesting when he's ready to play.

But at the moment, assuming no more injuries, once Pendles and JDG are back we're probably looking at a choice like JDG in the middle, Harrison up forward with Sullivan missing out - or JDG up forward, Sullivan in the middle with Harrison missing out. Give me the former very comfortably.
I’d move Harrison to half back in place of Jiath instead of bringing back Markov.

Interesting that last injury report wade said all the injured players will train over the bye week while other players have it off, and Pendles is away interstate, and the injured players are training today at AIA centre. Hopefully this means he is more likely to play against GC.

Harrison is a natural foward. I'd leave him there. Jiath I'd leave for now. Depends who is available thou
He’s a natural forward but there’s gonna be a selection squeeze at half forward. He’d cement himself easier at half back where his competition is much less since Crisp and Naicos aren’t going back there anytime soon.

Jiath I liked the traits he’s shown but he definitely isn’t ready.