Preview Round 16 vs. Gold Coast, PFS, 4:35pm Saturday 29/06

That’s what everyone said about Mitchell last year against Brisbane .. then
Grand final day v Lachie Neale .. bang
A) It is 2024 now

B) Mitchell is coming off a significantly more serious injury than he ever experienced last year

C) Our midfield has gone from one of the worse centre clearance groups to the 2nd best this season, predominantly without Mitchell

D) He is likely slower now than then

Finals are often contested slog fests which Titch is made for
They are, but he's currently clearly behind Nick, Crisp, Pendlebury and De Goey for centre bounce work, and he has no positional versatility. Hard to fit

A) It is 2024 now

B) Mitchell is coming off a significantly more serious injury than he ever experienced last year

C) Our midfield has gone from one of the worse centre clearance groups to the 2nd best this season, predominantly without Mitchell

D) He is likely slower now than then
I’m backing Mitch to get back and fly loves him
Even as sub his experience hardness ability to neutralise big names should hold him in good stead
Agree tho he’s up against it

Crows mate. There wasn't much happiness in this house about 4 weeks ago. The replay a few times didn't help. :tearsofjoy:
I don't know about you, but I reckon I would be bouncing it, because no way am I running as far as Rankine can :drunk:

Only ask because the Missus' brother-in-law (not mine, fortunately) keeps bringing up every win we have been "gifted" by the umps. He's a Bombers fan, so go figure, and was "unaware" fox footy had measured Rankine's run to 25 metres!

Why is everyone hopping on the bandwagon for North, anyway? Weren't we the little darlings last year? It's not like we have become insufferable, like the Dees and Tuggers fans became after their success...

Is that even legal? Feel like the Suns should be gifted a 50 point handicap /sarcasm :drunk:

No stress on the fact we won last year. So far the Suns have a different coach, so are less of a basket case. Given the different weather up there, out of a frigid Melbourne winter, we don’t want to turn into Geelong, and get slaughtered in the tropic thunder…

Glad they don’t have Gary Ablett Jr anymore, either. I still haven’t recovered from 2013-14, and 2021 during COVID, at the ‘G 😭

Shout out to mods as well. Why am I getting roped into Sydney swans threads still? I’ve never even been onto their board, let alone any other board than Collingwood. I can’t seem to unsubscribe to them, despite having never subscribed?
Yeah that Swans board thing was happening to me too

Out: Dean, Jiath, Macrae
In: Checkers, JDG, Markov

Jiath for Markov is like for like running defender.
Dean for Checkers allows Frampton to play back in Dean's role and Checkers to take Framptons key forward role. Kreuger to take the 2nd ruck/fwd.
JDG for Macrae is like for like mid.

Assuming Pendles needs another week. If Pendles is back Sullivan should go.

Reef the sub again provides flexibility.

They are, but he's currently clearly behind Nick, Crisp, Pendlebury and De Goey for centre bounce work, and he has no positional versatility. Hard to fit
I think it’s possible he gets overlooked not because he isn’t up to it, but rather the function of the midfield group. Since he went out the mix has looked the best it has in years.

As the seasons wearing on it feels to me that those discussions on player x or y coming in to make us better in a few cases are becoming semi redundant as others have stepped up. In this case it’s Crisp and Naicos. The other is HH in Elliott’s absence. Then there’s potentially Krueger taking Cox’s spot. None of that is a preference on who I’d go with rather a sign of the growth we’ve seen this year. To my eye we’re currently playing better footy than we were late in 2023 and I can’t wait to see how we go v Carlton and Sydney over the next month.

Assuming that De Goey is fit to play, I'd love to see him actually play a little more forward. we have proven that our midfield has more depth then perhaps initially thought and Crisp provides that same burst our of stoppage that De Goey brings. for mine I'd actually like to rotate N Daicos a little more at high half forward which would also ease is load leading into finals and during this time De Goey plays on ball. this provides us a a constant A grade mid always around the ball but also it keeps the Opp defenders on notice because having N Daicos or De Goey floating around in the forward means that they can't just play 3rd man up.

Out: Dean, Jiath, Macrae
In: Checkers, JDG, Markov

Jiath for Markov is like for like running defender.
Dean for Checkers allows Frampton to play back in Dean's role and Checkers to take Framptons key forward role. Kreuger to take the 2nd ruck/fwd.
JDG for Macrae is like for like mid.

Assuming Pendles needs another week. If Pendles is back Sullivan should go.

Reef the sub again provides flexibility.

Exactly what I’ve got.

giphy.gif

I can live with him going to King and just shutting him down. Like dont worry about touching it. But the amount of turnovers lost contests etc is infuriating. Good on him but not AFL standard imo
Disagree. As a backline player especially he is very good. Kept Harris Andrews goalless in the GF.
IMO he was one of our best and most reliable in the first part of the season down back.

Disagree. As a backline player especially he is very good. Kept Harris Andrews goalless in the GF.
IMO he was one of our best and most reliable in the first part of the season down back.
Of course Harris Andrews was goaless. Frampton was playing as a defensive foward. HA at full back.
HA cut loose in the 2nd half and nearly won them the game
I agree thou defender or nothing. Tried again as a foward on KB and it didn't work

We've been blocking for Nick to flash through the ball drop and then continue to track the footy. You don't think Jordy could block for Nick and then provide a better contest if it doesn't fall for Nick than Sullivan and Finn offer?
I think getting Jordy to block for Nick is a waste of Jordy’s talent. Better off having others block for Nick so he can kick it to Jordy IMO.

Of course Harris Andrews was goaless. Frampton was playing as a defensive foward. HA at full back.
HA cut loose in the 2nd half and nearly won them the game
I agree thou defender or nothing. Tried again as a foward on KB and it didn't work
I was making a joke re Harris Andrews being held goalless 😉
Andrew’s got better in part of the third and the last quarter but was made ineffectual for the first half and part of the third IMO. Still he’s a pretty decent defender who we will need v Caaaarlton and I’d match him up in King.

As long as Pendles comes back I'm happy! Would mean the big 400 against those scummy Carlton bludgers. Am flying over for R21 and I don't want to toot my own horn, but these are the last 8 Pies matches I've attended. There's a common theme :cool:

2024 Hawks - 3 points Rd 4 (AO) - W

2023 Bris - 4 points GF (MCG) - W

2023 Port - 2 points Rd 19 (AO) - W

2023 Crows - 1 point Rd 7 (AO) - W

2023 St K - 6 points Rd 5 (AO) - W

2022 Carlton - 1 point Rd 23 (MCG) - W

2022 Crows - 5 points Rd 18 (AO) - W

2021 Crows - 5 points Rd 12 (AO) - W

I think getting Jordy to block for Nick is a waste of Jordy’s talent. Better off having others block for Nick so he can kick it to Jordy IMO.
They're not blocking for Nick after the initial ball drop. Say plan a works extremely well and Nick gets it first touch 1 in 4. The other 3 out of 4 times Jdg is competing after first touch and increasing our chances of getting it forward.

Meanwhile, if he's forward, how often does the ball come to him from stoppage? Maybe one in 10.

He's impacting a lot less contests as a forward. If we short on dangerous forwards - fair enough, but we're not. Play him at stoppage.

Hasn't hurt Crisp or Pendles.

As long as Pendles comes back I'm happy! Would mean the big 400 against those scummy Carlton bludgers. Am flying over for R21 and I don't want to toot my own horn, but these are the last 8 Pies matches I've attended. There's a common theme :cool:

Please don't go to any games for the next 10 years.

Your wife must be so hot
This...
Or the father-in-law owns a brewery?
And this... Pistol Night , how on God's green earth do you meet a Crow's fan? Pre 1991? Was she a Collingwood supporter then?

Otherwise, per WalterBlaknWhte 's hypothesis, if she is THAT hot, I didn't know they let Ms Universe SA into the Aussie competition, as only hairy and hairier men live West of Broken Hill?

If it's an SA brewery, per sideswipe , then nah... Cooper's 🤢🤢🤢

Not questioning your taste in the bedroom or hydration... yet... so, what do you have to say for yourself?

tom cruise i want the truth GIF

Confounding factor, you keep going to AO, and we have a 75% plus winning record there 🤣

What was it like at the Port game last year, walking out with the prison bar wannabes?

The last two times I have been, which wasn't the case 2022-23, we have gotten absolutely ambushed. I have addressed elsewhere the only reason we probably won Sunday, was because the foreign legion security Corp escorted me out, in the direction my Missus and 3 year old were forced marching. Otherwise, I stayed at the Sydney game round 1 until we had no hope coming back.

I'm starting to get Cousin of Daicos tier superstition here, and wondering if i risk going at all for the rest of the year. Should I chalk my membership up to a donation to the club? 🤔

This...

And this... Pistol Night , how on God's green earth do you meet a Crow's fan? Pre 1991? Was she a Collingwood supporter then?

Otherwise, per WalterBlaknWhte 's hypothesis, if she is THAT hot, I didn't know they let Ms Universe SA into the Aussie competition, as only hairy and hairier men live West of Broken Hill?

If it's an SA brewery, per sideswipe , then nah... Cooper's 🤢🤢🤢

Not questioning your taste in the bedroom or hydration... yet... so, what do you have to say for yourself?

tom cruise i want the truth GIF

Confounding factor, you keep going to AO, and we have a 75% plus winning record there 🤣

What was it like at the Port game last year, walking out with the prison bar wannabes?

The last two times I have been, which wasn't the case 2022-23, we have gotten absolutely ambushed. I have addressed elsewhere the only reason we probably won Sunday, was because the foreign legion security Corp escorted me out, in the direction my Missus and 3 year old were forced marching. Otherwise, I stayed at the Sydney game round 1 until we had no hope coming back.

I'm starting to get Cousin of Daicos tier superstition here, and wondering if i risk going at all for the rest of the year. Should I chalk my membership up to a donation to the club? 🤔
I learn so much from BF. I just always assumed that people from Adelaide were naturally unattractive but that's only because sr36 lives there

Manic, fair dinkum, any time I meet a Crow's "fan", they climbed on the bandwagon 97-98, and have clung on since. Even Port have won a flag in that time 🤡

Went over for Gather Round when my daughter was one and a bit. Great footy state, but yeah, very easy to hang sh1t on my Missus Mother for being born over there 🤣

Can we give sr36 a pass for barracking for the Pies? He'll have to heckle me a bit before I can know what sort of bloke he is...