Review Round 18 - Carlton v North Melbourne

I still can't believe how blatantly bad the umps were.

They say Friday night sets the tone for the umps on the weekend...so it's gonna be an interesting round I guess.

I'm suffering mixed emotions. Like most glad we won, like most realise we had some luck (no thanks to the shocking shyte umpiring!).

• We had a 30% different team with 6 changes... I think the constant swings of 4+ changes a week should stop.
  • Jamison is important.... and yet again pulled out prior to the game... hopefully he was rested for next week!
  • Thornton brave and Bower..... our season would of been over if their injuries were more serious.
  • Now what do we do? We got run into Robinson, Hadley, Walker, Setanta back in.. all a bit rusty... will we settle them or more changes again?
  • Eddie, Fev both out of consistant touch
  • First time in a while both Gibbs and Murphy had an A-Grade game.
  • Houlihan did some tough things :thumbsu::thumbsu: and didn't cry when he broke a nail in the process.
  • Thank god we'll be underdogs next week... I bet you our intensity will be 10times better next week... and wouldn't surprise me if the good-carlton comes to play next week.
Carlton V Geelong...
in: Jamison, Browne
out: Carazzo, Austin

Hadley is too slow, can't kick and isn't big enough or good enough.

Walker is very underdone.

Stevens went about it well.

Robinson was flat.

Carrazzo is soft, avoids body contact and only attacks the ball at half pace.

Shepherding is non-existant.

Thornton offered something up forward.

Joseph looks a bit burnt out, and struggles in marking contests. Is not a back pocket, is a midfield tagger. pity we have Geelong...

Austin needs to learn how to play on massive blokes and get a jump at them.

Our midfield set up and how we rove is no good.

Armfield was great.

We don't naturally select the best target when we go forward (poor decision making).

We need Jamison back.

did anyone notice the complete lack of enthusiasm in singing the song by the boys after the game? they almost looked sheepish or embarrassed that we won a game that we played so averagely.

i, for one, am glad to see this reaction, rather than getting carried away over a (as someone else mentioned) bradbury-esque win.

The way we have been playing lately against very average sides has been shocking, but it is teaching us how to grind out wins from nothing. That is more important than handing out 10 goal drubbings to crap sides like Richmond and Melbourne.

I will take the win over a loss any day.
True but they could/should have won if the kicked straight.

They lost the game we didn't win it.

We didn't win it, North lost it!

Well another night of fumbles and poor disposal by foot and by hand.
That makes about 10 weeks we have been like this yet every now and then we manage to steal a game.
I think Armfield, Murphy & Stevens played quite well. The rest, well I just don't know? Our midfield did not win any part of the game. Our forwards were all harrassed and couldn't handle it. Our backs were terrible. Yet we won ther game. Buggered if I know how other than North kicking all those "gettable" points.
By the way you will notice they sent O'hAlipin down back to look after
Petrie & McIntosh. His height is needed down back when playing teams with big 200cm forwards.That's what I mean about next year playing our 4 Ruck type players. I rest my case!;)

Not a great game, far from it. Took us a 1/2 to wake up in the middle. Controlled it after half time but couldnt put them away (luckily neither could they, still thought we controlled it though after half time)

Armfield should be dropped. He was pathetic and if he plays he should NEVER take a kick in, along with Bower. Leave it to Hoops or Stevo.

Joseph is struggling. Seems he may be running out of legs as its his first AFL season. Maybe a rest for a week might come in handy.

Paul Bower- Played well after being injured.
Bret Thornton- Played well and good move of ratts to put him forward.
Nick Stevens- Fantastic. Great skills, worked hard and kicked goals.
Ryan Houlihan- Beaten early, second half better.
Mitch Robinson- Just average if that. Didnt do alot, good pressure in forward line though.
Andrew Walker- Bit quiet but will be good for the run.
Richard Hadley- Was ok but skills were poor and didnt chase enough.
Eddie Betts- Very quiet, offered nothing tonight, allowed a quiet one once in a while.
Bryce Gibbs- Great game, kicking beautifully and kicked goals. real good link man.
Kade Simpson- Offered nothing, terrible shot at goal.
Aaron Joseph- Got flogged by Harvey and then by one of their little men. Seems to be struggling of late.
Setanta O’hAilpin- Quiet but did ok on petrie late.
Chris Judd- Quiet, beaten by a first year player. Good move by ratts to put him fwd. Good to see we can win with him being quiet (again stevo stars when this happens).
Marc Murphy - Great Game, BOG. Played 4 qtrs and used it well.
Brendan Fevola- Had probably 7-8 shots but missed sitters. His kicking has been letting us down alot this year. Still kicked 3 and gave off a couple.
Jordan Russell- Did some good things. Kept Harvey quieter for last 1 and 1/2 quarters. Made good position (not always rewarded) and disposal was good.
Heath Scotland- Didnt notice him much and didnt use it as wel as he can.
Matthew Kreuzer- Second half was brilliant. Didnt get a heap of the ball but ruck work was great.
Dennis Armfield- Shocking. Gives good run but disposal is abysmal. Makes dumb decisions in backline like little handballs and kicks to ground and it turns over
Shaun Hampson- Ruck was good, needs to do more around the ground
Austin - Struggled on big men but did some nice things. Umps hated him and gave away some holding the balls that werent there. Hurt that we had to play him as key big man when he is a number 3 big man

Next Week:
In - Grigg, Jamo (need him back badly)
Out - Armfield, Joseph (rest)

Re: We didn't win it, North lost it!

By the way you will notice they sent O'hAlipin down back to look after Petrie & McIntosh. His height is needed down back when playing teams with big 200cm forwards.That's what I mean about next year playing our 4 Ruck type players. I rest my case!;)

You are so far off the money it's not funny :thumbsdown:

That performance was embarrassing, if we make finals we will be the odd team out.

Fevola was a disgrace, his mental capacity couldn't overcome Scott Hack Thompson.

Hadley's disposal was woeful, has no long term future with us.

Armfield was a positive.

Austin made some good spoils.

As usual we were carried by Judd,Gibbs,Murphy,Kreuzer.

This was an absolutely outstanding effort, because we fought out a tough win despite being hopelessly out of form. Well done Blues. Oh, and ignore the footy media junk journo's pointless anti-Carlton opinions. This team has serious talent, and we only need to regain form for the finals series, and then we can start inflicting some pain. :)

Is Parrot a troll sending us up :eek:

Hadley is too slow, can't kick and isn't big enough or good enough.

Walker is very underdone.

Stevens went about it well.

Robinson was flat.

How did Alpha say he and Eddie had solid games and yet canned Hoops - playing favs Alpha

Carrazzo is soft, avoids body contact and only attacks the ball at half pace.

I am starting to wonder a little myself

Shepherding is non-existant.

Thornton offered something up forward.

Said it weeks ago - can mark and down back he moves it on too slowly so a win win move

Joseph looks a bit burnt out, and struggles in marking contests. Is not a back pocket, is a midfield tagger. pity we have Geelong...

Yep - if he did not have the GA form on board would be due for a rest

Austin needs to learn how to play on massive blokes and get a jump at them.

I am sure he would love such coaching as he does not look like he believes he can beat big blokes (I have seen/said this before)

Our midfield set up and how we rove is no good.

Sadly true - we have Juddy and Ratts - how can this be so :confused:

Armfield was great.

and for all the knockers he only did a couple of bad kicks - sadly no dashes from him or Joseph

We don't naturally select the best target when we go forward (poor decision making).

and Fev (kicking) was so bad early - I was starting to believe he was on the take :eek:

We need Jamison back.

I was just glad to win a game that usually wouldn't have gone our way..... instead of losing a game that should have gone our way!

I reckon learning to grind out wins is a valuable skill for our team to gain, but take nothing away from the fact we need improvement in alot of key areas!

Loving the bagging posts towards me. Keep going, it lowers your reputation each time. :)

My reputation :confused: The one of being red carded for posting a close up pic of an anus. :D

Am sorry about the correction but it is hard for an ex-chalkie to watch people misspell words like rediculous (not you) and players' names.

But I do still think you have favourites - you don't think you do :rolleyes:

PS Army and Had's (I'm not normally a fan of his due to an AB bias) played good games for where they are at
Juddy is struggling with tags

Ok I'm going to against the trend and say I'm not absolutely shattered, sooky lala, should of lost, lolz we suck. First things first. Is there any chance in hell we could get some kind of consitency with the umpiring? Was attrocious for the best part of 3 quarters and they finnaly went missing in the last. Can't remember a worse holding the ball then the one against Austin.

Secondly, the younger players had a bit of an off night bar Murph and Gibbs. Probably due to the fact they are actually that, young. Yet to have consecutive preseasons and yet to find a solid spot. Bower was disappointing and looked a bit lost on the likes of Petrie and MacIntosh at times but his disposal seemed alright out of defence. Austin didn't give much run and I'd hoped we'd chuck him up forward but he was just stuck on players far too tall for him. Setanta wasn't the answer and I don't think he was fit. Wasn't really going hard at the contests...

Stevens was great, put his body and life on the line in the 1st or 2nd quarter by diving neck first into Corey Jones. That is the type of stuff we want to show the young boys not cheap kicks outside of packs.

Gibbs and Muprhy were great and both looked a lot more polished and evasive this week. Murphy again showing his goal kicking nous. Judd was a bit off but the treatment at times on him was pretty harsh. Players on him and I think his ankle may have been hindering him at times which we could possibly see by the extended times up forward.

Fev if he kicked straight would have given us a 3 goal lead at half time and a lot more to go on in the second half. Instead we relied on old T-Bird to push forward where he did a great job IMO.

Yes North had too many free players at times and yes they missed opportunities but no one gave us sympathy when we got within 10 points of 4 sides this year. No one said that the sides we lost to "didn't deserve it." To put it into perspective: we've been horrible for the last 6 years. We've lost to North for the last 5. We are still an extremely young side and think, although North are horrible, we still won and you can't really do much more then that. Yes I'd rather a 10 goal win with Juddy doing nothing and Fev working hard but that's not going to happen until we blend the side together and start really thumping a game plan that the boys know they can complete.

4 points: yes please.

LOL @ the fans praising Denise Armfield ...

That bum nearly cost us the game with his deplorable kicking and brutal turnovers to the Roos, and if North Tank-Bourne were fair dinkum and not 'playing for draft picks', we would have been crucified ...

For crying out loud, bad kicking is bad football, and in those brutal terms, Armfield is a bad footballer.
He shoudl not play again this season, and really has to evaluate where he is at as a footballer, and if he doesn't try and improve his kicking skills over summer, he can go back to the WAFL for good.

I'm still so livid, it feels as bitter as a loss tonight, the game, and I agree totally with someone earlier calling this result 'bradbury-esque'

LOL @ the fans praising Denise Armfield ...

That bum nearly cost us the game with his deplorable kicking and brutal turnovers to the Roos, and if North Tank-Bourne were fair dinkum and not 'playing for draft picks', we would have been crucified ...

For crying out loud, bad kicking is bad football, and in those brutal terms, Armfield is a bad footballer.
He shoudl not play again this season, and really has to evaluate where he is at as a footballer, and if he doesn't try and improve his kicking skills over summer, he can go back to the WAFL for good.

I'm still so livid, it feels as bitter as a loss tonight, the game, and I agree totally with someone earlier calling this result 'bradbury-esque'

Be nice. You don't want to receive any threats...

Review Round 18 - Carlton v North Melbourne