Preview Round 19, 2022: West Coast v St.Kilda - Optus Stadium, Sunday 24th July, 4:40PM AEST

Who Wins?

• Eagles

Votes: 29 59.2%
  • Saints

Votes: 20 40.8%

I'd say Steele, Crouch and Ross are better midfielders than him.

So by the time you are getting to the 4th mid, I'd rather him playing the position he is arguably best in the competition at.
I suppose that depends on what your definition of a midfielder is.

If it's to get the contested ball & get it out, then Steele & Crouch are ahead.

If it's finding space & hitting up a forward then it's no contest.

I'd say Steele, Crouch and Ross are better midfielders than him.

So by the time you are getting to the 4th mid, I'd rather him playing the position he is arguably best in the competition at.
Ross was out last week tho and won't play full minutes in the midfield anyway. Jones isn't very defensive and the rest are not quick. If Connolly can provide some dash off hbf it will allow Hill to rotate thru wing and half forward and Sincs to rotate with Ross in the guts

Why did we stop playing Hill across half forward? We looked really good with him delivering with time/space.

I doubt it.

Sinclair is arguably the best half back in the competition this year. Moving him to a different position and putting someone who is fairly meh in the VFL in that position instead weakens our ball movement from defensive 50 while only marginally improving the 4th-5th midfielder in the rotation.

Could equally suggest putting your superstar player on the ball makes more sense.

Personally think we bat so deep in the midfield (albeit mostly average at best players) that robbing Peter to pay Paul isnt going to help.
it is indeed a blessing and a curse. having depth means you don't have a huge dip in overall performance when a player goes out but it also means that most times there's not really a huge boost to the team when reinforcements come back. No "oh when X comes back we'll be a 4-5 goal better team" the team's performance is you get what you get. Just single digit percentage differences when Owens comes in for Windy or Byrnes comes in for Wood or Higgins for Butler.

We always fall into the fallacy of believing that whatever player coming in is going to make a huge difference but sometimes they're just marginally better and the team plays about the same. The result in an even team like this is more dependant on gameplan and structure than individual efforts.

Ross was out last week tho and won't play full minutes in the midfield anyway. Jones isn't very defensive and the rest are not quick. If Connolly can provide some dash off hbf it will allow Hill to rotate thru wing and half forward and Sincs to rotate with Ross in the guts
When Ross comes back in, why wouldn't he go back to playing full minutes like he has all season.

I clearly rate Connolly a lot of less than anyone else if people are genuinely thinking he could come in and get anywhere close to providing what Sinclair and an inform Hill does at half back.

Hope Hunter Clark comes in and smashes it (not his face). He must be so frustrated by these injuries, it's not his own body letting him down. He was playing well against Carlton, hope he picks up where he left off

Crazy if we even think about it especially bytel who provides nothing different to our midfield that we already have.
The one potential difference, after being starved of footy for much of the year, is he might bring a desire to win a spot for the rest of the season.

Reckon we could do worse, if Ross is not good to go.

Call me crazy but I want to see us win the next two and get back in the hunt. Most likely it sets us up for more disappointment, but more must-win games against good opposition later in the year should be what the group is aiming for, and hopefully some redemption.

The Eagles are putrid this year and their home form is shocking. I just read Kelly has a corkie. No Nic Nat. Honestly we should put them to the sword, make the most of an opportunity to flog them if nothing else god knows they'd do the same to us given the chance.

Call me crazy but I want to see us win the next two and get back in the hunt. Most likely it sets us up for more disappointment, but more must-win games against good opposition later in the year should be what the group is aiming for, and hopefully some redemption.

The Eagles are putrid this year and their home form is shocking. I just read Kelly has a corkie. No Nic Nat. Honestly we should put them to the sword, make the most of an opportunity to flog them if nothing else god knows they'd do the same to us given the chance.
You're crazy

I and I think everyone on here wants to win the remaining 5 games

But whats been going on the last 5 weeks its not happening