Autopsy Round 2, 2025: Hawthorn give Carlton the Blues

Just keeps looking more and more like a young Sam Mitchell.

Sent from my CPH2343 using Tapatalk
McKenzie looks more like an old Sam Mitchell with the kicking skills and side steps.

Young Sam Mitchell was just get it and hack it forward. Took time to make space for himself and become an elite kick.

Don't know about you guys, but a few on here were saying they wouldn't mind being 3-3 after 6 games. I bloody hope not.

Every time Hawthorn has started 3-0 in the last 50 years, we've made it at least to a prelim.

We did get the rub of the green overall. However, our pressure rating was over 220 for most of the game. I would argue when you’re applying that much pressure you should be rewarded.

Blues got 5 goals from frees, we received similar.

I’ve heard them complain about the overturned goals but…that’s the point of the system. It would have given them three goals they didn’t kick.
I'm keen to watch the replay as i was genuinely mystified by some of the decisions paid against us

Got this from a mate. Mighty proud of this team.
Found a way to win and are having their characters being forged in fire as rest of comp hunts for them.

Love them all and most impressed with Jai, Battle, Chol, Wizard, Ward, Mass and my 3 votes in that order but I am sure Cripps is stealing one of those, hopefully the last one.

Attachments

• walkthru.mp4
    5.8 MB
I know its a lot of fun to talk about the perceived umpire love fest for Cripps. I do think their love for him is largely justified - he is absolute gun player - his impact and effectiveness is pretty immense much more so than Judd when he played for Carlton (him winning the 2010 brownlow when players like Hodge and Swan had way better years kills me).

Anyway if Carlton lose any of Weitering, Cripps or TDK they are absolutely ****ed.. more than they might already be
Mate, he got 1 million votes last year in 5 games and Carlton lost all of them.

Our Depth of the bottom 10 every week shows we are building a serious team

Also at what point are the umpires going to pay Watson a free kick for having his throat targeted by an opposition player

Twice in 3 weeks this year, an opposition player has deliberately done so with no repercussion.

Positives from the game:

• Chol was absolutely immense. The last two weeks, not only is he impacting the packs but he's now also clunking his marks and kicking goals.
  • Watson is proving once again that he needs little of the ball to cause damage - there's a real Cyril vibe to the way he goes about this business.
  • Newcombe and Mackenzie stepped up huge in the second half.
  • I said this previously during the game but thought CJ lacked a bit of crisp across halfback early on but the bloke honestly never stopped running and when you refuse to be outwork, eventually everything else will fall into place as his skill work improved significantly second half.
  • Barass and Battle once again, what a defensive partnership.
  • Ward has slotted in seemlessly for Worpel. Once again, ran himself into the ground and kicked an important goal.
Improvement areas:

• Meek was thoroughly beaten by TDK. However, TDK is a class player though and Meek never stopped competing.
  • Moorey had an unusually quieter night but good to see us bank the win when his influence is curbed.
  • Croc's injury.
Meek wasn't though. I reckon TDK wasn't as dominant as people are making out. He was winning till 3 qtr time but I don't remember too many clean clearances , lot of rushed snaps. Grabbing the ball out of the ruck only impacts in a positive way if you do something with it. Meek did it a few times but dished it off to a teammate and we got the ball going our way because of it.

Meek stood up in the last quarter in a HUGE way. Swung the momentum our way so much.

Really awesome effort after being out-done for 3 quarter.

KARLton fans spitting chips over umpiring, on the radio. I thought that hawks got the wrong end of things, at the ground.

Replay will be interesting.
There were some shocking calls and non-calls both ways. Take the rough with the smooth and move on.

Our Depth of the bottom 10 every week shows we are building a serious team

Also at what point are the umpires going to pay Watson a free kick for having his throat targeted by an opposition player

Twice in 3 weeks this year, an opposition player has deliberately done so with no repercussion.

Can’t wait for the moment where he hasn’t got one all year, but gets a crucial one in an important final if we make it.

Meek was pretty good. Ruck is a strange position, probably the only one where both players could have great games respectively.

Though TDK absolutely bested him, which isn't a big deal as TDK is probably going to develop into the best ruckman in the league.

Not a flashy win but we got the job done, which is a sign of a good team.

Our composure this season so far has been superb. As soon as the opposition get a sniff, we don’t panic, and we kill their momentum. Our handball transition game on the counter has also gone up an extra notch this year. You could see the pieces there a couple of years back, but it just wasn’t quite there yet. However the boys do it so seamlessly now, especially under pressure!

These extra long quarters are a killer though for night games. Back home from the G just before midnight. As much as I’m loving Thursday night footy, I’m glad it’s our last Thursday night game in Melbourne for a while.

Hopefully I dream of the replay to wake up somewhat refreshed for work tomorrow. 😌

Don't know about you guys, but a few on here were saying they wouldn't mind being 3-3 after 6 games. I bloody hope not.

Every time Hawthorn has started 3-0 in the last 50 years, we've made it at least to a prelim.
Thou shall have faith - why not 6 - 0?

Meek stood up in the last quarter in a HUGE way. Swung the momentum our way so much.

Really awesome effort after being out-done for 3 quarter.
I know next to nothing about ruck craft, but at the game it appeared the Meek was being outright shoved by TDK in plenty of ruck contests. Unsure what the rules are here, but TBH I was surprised that TDK got away with it. Or it could be that I know SFA and that's outbodying rather than shoving.

P

Just got home from the game and my thoughts are as below.

. Won by 20 without looking that good to be honest
. Battle's second half was great and probably his first above average hf since joining us
. Love Weddle's enthusiasm and effort but needs to start using some grippo on marks
. Gunston is a great " break in case of emergency" player. Was decent when he came on and provided support to Chol
. Ward and McKenziestarting to look like first round draft picks. Dont think either will be stars but will be solid 200+ game players
. Meek did his best but TDK clearly came out on top. Second game he's lost the ruck. Did I overrate him or is Grundy just cooked?
. Hope Cmac is ok. Looked to be moving well and smiling after the game. Injury looked similar to Worpels

Onwards and upwards. GWS next week will be tough

Three weeks in and we’ve had three games where the opposition has thrown everything at us and we just keep responding.
A massive effort from the team this evening against a Carlton side who were desperate to win.
  • Our pressure rating in the second half was unbelievable - we pressured them into mistakes and capitalised.
  • Josh Battle in defence was enormous - his one on one effort against Currie were huge and you can see the boys respond.
  • Josh Ward in the middle more this week and he showed that that is his spot - such a great game against a top class midfield.
  • Jai Newcombe was again sensational in the middle - he refuses to beaten.
  • Mabior Chol was sensational as our big focal point all evening - worked hard in defence, gave options and took his chances.
  • Cam Mackenzie has an eternity with the ball in hand and makes good choices more often than not.
  • Gunners coming on as the sub - kicks two, has a goal assist and three score involvements - did his role.
  • Karl Amon’s tackle to save a certain goal showed his courage and that he is not just an attacking player.
  • Nick Watson terrorised the defenders and his goal to seal the match was tremendous.
  • Meeky battled away until the very ending, refusing to give up and willing himself to every contest.
  • CJ came back in and I loved his second efforts and willingness to get back and help out.
  • Massimo worked himself into the game and his kicking in the last quarter especially was sublime - just so lethal.
  • Loved the work of Jarman in his 200th game - he makes good decisions with the ball and just has so much time and composure.
  • Finn Maginness strength to stand in the tackle means that he can get a quick handball away which can lead to a goal - see Chol’s snap.
  • Nash did another whole hearted effort to nullify Cripps all game and didn’t shirk the challenge.
So many positives and yet we are going at about 65-70% of our capacity at the moment.
3-0 for the first time since 2014 - well done boys 🤎💛
jai necombe was brilliant

Autopsy Round 2, 2025: Hawthorn give Carlton the Blues

Write your reply...