Preview Round 21 2024 – GWS Giants vs Hawthorn, Sunday August 4, 1.10pm AEST, Manuka Oval

Sep 6, 2012
GWS
Thunder
A massive relief to get four points at the MCG, in front of a crowd that would not even make the top ten at Homebush.

While we did enough to get in front after a bad start and then manage to hang on, we’re still not consistent over four quarters. That said, when we turn it on, we really turn it on. We require a bit more work on the midfield, something that ultimately needs the return of Coniglio and Kelly.

A special mention for James Peatling, who played his best game for us last night. Top four in disposals and intercept possessions. Second in kicks, clearances, centre clearances and inside 50s. First in contested possessions (!) and tackles, two of them critical. And all this from just over 70% time-on-ground. Well done, James, that was quite a performance.

Sunday against the Hawks is a chance to make up for the loss in Round 13, and another step on the road to a top four finish. But it's not going to be easy.

Here’s the probable line-up:

[27] Harry Himmelberg, [15] Sam Taylor, [39] Connor Idun
[6] Lachie Whitfield, [44] Jack Buckley, [36] Harry Perryman
[8] Callan Ward, [12] Tom Green, [33] Xavier O'Halloran
[16] Brent Daniels, [26] Jake Riccardi, [28] Harvey Thomas
[2] Darcy Jones, [23] Jesse Hogan, [4] Toby Greene
[32] Kieren Briggs, [17] Finn Callaghan, [14] Toby Bedford

[31] Toby McMullin, [5] Aaron Cadman, [20] James Peatling, [7] Lachie Ash

Apart from questions over attitude, there were some big outs last time. No Perryman, Buckley, Ash, Coniglio, or Darcy Jones.

With Coniglio, if there’s even the slightest doubt over his fitness, I’d rather he didn’t play, given the form the Hawks are in. We need the fittest team possible. If he’s good to go, he can start on the bench and I’d replace X with Peatling.

I also don’t see any point in dropping Cadman. Kingsley prefers like-for-like replacements and there’s not really anyone who would make that big a difference. At this point I think we’re better off with the most settled and experienced line-up possible.

Kelly won’t be back until either Freo or the Bulldogs. As for Briggs, his shoulder needs as much rest as possible. We can't afford to lose him now.

Looking ahead, this may well be the most consequential game at Manuka since we’ve been playing there. We might even set a new attendance record.

Redemption awaits in Canberra, Giants. Take the Hawks on, and make a statement.

Looking ahead, this may well be the most consequential game at Manuka since we’ve been playing there. We might even set a new attendance record.

Redemption awaits in Canberra, Giants. Take the Hawks on, and make a statement.
We have only played Hawthorn at our Manuka home once in the 13 year history of our club - that was the famous “snow match” where we were comprehensively outplayed by Clarkson. I agree that the attendance of 11,741 set in the 2019 game will be exceeded. The club also offered Giant Recruits a chance to get 2 additional tickets last week, and it would not be surprising to have our third consecutive sellout at Manuka this season. However, a lot of things will need to work for our Manuka AFL record crowd of 14,974 (against Richmond in 2016) to be exceeded.

Had $100 on Tim O’Brien to be first goal scorer that game. Collected $2000.

Had 8 beers up to half time and left to go to the casino because it was too bloody cold at the game.

Great decision to leave as we only got worse after halftime.

Yum Cha the next day was particularly lovely - seeing as though Ladbrokes was paying !

"Famous" snow match?

I think you mean "Infamous", given the way we played.

For anyone coming to see the Giants play their final home match of the season in Manuka on Sunday, a list of things to do if people want to make a weekend trip out of it.

Is Dildo racing at Hopscotch on a Thursday still a thing to do in Canberra ?

This is such a massive game for us given the difficulty of the rest of our draw. Win this and we set ourselves up for a good run into finals.

That said the Hawks look pretty bloody good ATM and we have kinda been putting a quarter together every now and again.

Taylor will be better for the run.
Peatling was good but you'd have to back Cogs to take his spot back.

I think our defense could win us this one but our mids have to start giving out forward a first crack at it at least half the time.

I understand Ricca and Cadman are running decoys for Hogan but if they could start to slot a goal or two a game that'd be fantastic.

This is such a massive game for us given the difficulty of the rest of our draw. Win this and we set ourselves up for a good run into finals.

That said the Hawks look pretty bloody good ATM and we have kinda been putting a quarter together every now and again.

Taylor will be better for the run.
Peatling was good but you'd have to back Cogs to take his spot back.

I think our defense could win us this one but our mids have to start giving out forward a first crack at it at least half the time.

I understand Ricca and Cadman are running decoys for Hogan but if they could start to slot a goal or two a game that'd be fantastic.
I reckon XOH comes before JP

Considering the amount of times Hogan is taking contested marks in the F50, sometimes with 2 opponents or more, suggests to me that Cadman and Riccardi aren't exactly providing a good enough decoy if that is their role.

It's more due to Hogan being in the best form of his career.

Still don't think we lose anything doing the Gruz / Cadman swap, especially considering Cadman's stats, or lack of, against Melbourne).

Considering the amount of times Hogan is taking contested marks in the F50, sometimes with 2 opponents or more, suggests to me that Cadman and Riccardi aren't exactly providing a good enough decoy if that is their role.

Still don't think we lose anything doing the Gruz / Cadman swap, especially considering Cadman's stats, or lack of, against Melbourne).
If we were going to replace Cadman I'd much rather go with Keeffe than Gruz. Don't feel like Gruz offers anything better than Cadman does.

Fair call.

I want to see our VFL players rewarded as much as cementing the AFL team heading into the finals.

There has to be someone in the VFL team that can do more than Saturday's 3 disposal, no tackle effort and benefit the seniors.

If Callum Brown was able to get back to his form at the start of the year, you might even opt for him as that replacement. Can take a high mark, but very mobile, and able to lay more tackles. It's a real shame that one bad bump has affected him so much.
Might be his inability to stick to the game plan and patterns that are keeping him out rather than form.
I'm sticking with Cadman. He's jumping and competing and bring the ball to ground against good ops.
Persist and we will be rewarded.

Callum Brown kicked 4 vs Hawthorn in the wet in 2022, perhaps we try him again, back him to lift to the level he had first 8 rounds or so.

Might be his inability to stick to the game plan and patterns that are keeping him out rather than form.
I'm sticking with Cadman. He's jumping and competing and bring the ball to ground against good ops.
Persist and we will be rewarded.
He needs another pre season to get stronger. He gets pushed off the ball to easily.
I would like to see Cadman play sometime on a wing in VFL.

He needs another pre season to get stronger. He gets pushed off the ball to easily.
I would like to see Cadman play sometime on a wing in VFL.
Why?
We recruited him as a full forward. We need a full forward.
Just let him learn his craft. He will be a good player....and shows flashes which is more than we will get from Gruz (currently) and Keefe (not it).

Am I right in saying that 3 game GA Members can attend this game despite public tickets being exhausted already? The GA section at Manuka is reserved for Members only?

I believe so.

I couldn't make the Saints game, so I didn't bother with a membership this year. But I couldn't buy a ticket when the Brisbane game sold out, so I bought a membership and had no issues getting in. I ended up behind the goals near the media tower.

I believe so.

I couldn't make the Saints game, so I didn't bother with a membership this year. But I couldn't buy a ticket when the Brisbane game sold out, so I bought a membership and had no issues getting in. I ended up behind the goals near the media tower.
Cheers mate, that was my understanding as well but didn’t want to make the trip down from Sydney just in case there was an issue getting in.

This match may have shades of our Gather Round game vs Suns earlier in the season.

Two teams playing fast, offensive footy with experience and incremental execution being the difference.

Also wary that the VFL green team will leave their fingerprints all over the match as they did in Tasmania.

We’ll have to shift up a gear to get the result.

Hopefully Slammer better after his courageous return last week and Cogs resuming normal service.