Preview Round 21 - Essendon VS Fremantle - MCG - Sunday 4/8/24 - 3:20pm AEST

Should Windyhill go to his sons prelim or Ess vs Freo?

Good changes. Don't mind Hobbs and Tsatas staying in the 2's for now and getting a good run on the ball. They'll both get their chance. Maybe even next week if there a still some passengers not pulling their weight this week.

Giving up my sons prelim for this game. There is some strange magnet type thing that keeps drawing me to Essendon. Be us being a ****ing disgrace or be us flying, I keep showing up.
My boy is not happy, he’s sort of understanding, so, anyway, I will be there. If I ever miss us playing in a GF, I will remember these years,these drug years, these years of hopelessness, giving up numerous family engagements, boys prelims, etc etc.
You ****ing owe me Essendon.
Following a footy team is an escape. Watching your son play a significant game of anything is an investment in a relationship that gives meaning to life.
Just my two cents while not knowing the whole story

Giving up my sons prelim for this game. There is some strange magnet type thing that keeps drawing me to Essendon. Be us being a ****ing disgrace or be us flying, I keep showing up.
My boy is not happy, he’s sort of understanding, so, anyway, I will be there. If I ever miss us playing in a GF, I will remember these years,these drug years, these years of hopelessness, giving up numerous family engagements, boys prelims, etc etc.
You ****ing owe me Essendon.

Go to your son's game.

Following a footy team is an escape. Watching your son play a significant game of anything is an investment in a relationship that gives meaning to life.
Just my two cents while not knowing the whole story
Yeah windyhill go to your sons game…much better use of your time.
Still appreciate my folks driving an hour out into the bush to watch me play cricket finals even though I was in my mid-thirties and would have understood if they couldn’t be bothered

If it was Hird's first game back coaching us I would understand, but go to your son's game!

Ok, some detail. Young Nick ran in Perth in November. (Can run the boy) My very good mate lives in Perth so it was a brilliant chance for a catch up. We lobbed in Perth and I’ve had the old gout/arthritis attack. I could barely walk, had a chance to watch Pikey in the last. Couldn’t do it. Couldn’t catch up with my mate. When your hobbling around like a cripple the worst thing you can do is get on the piss.
So I didn’t catch up with my mate. Didn’t call him because I knew the reaction I’d get. “ **** you, I’m coming to get you, **** the gout”
So did Perth, hobbling around like a cripple.
Come home,two weeks later ,mate rings, I was expecting it. Laid into me. Fair spray and fair enough, I deserved it, probably could’ve pushed my way through. Weak as piss, no argument.
So fast forward to this week. “ I’m coming over, we will be at Freo v Ess,you stitched me up last year”
Young blokes team plays this Sunday, a prelim, Lysterfield Wolves v Rowville hawks, yes I’m torn, if it was a GF no problem. But I do have this fairly impressive record of attending Essendon games. I have my mate breathing down my neck. In his defence he wanted to go to both.
Lysterfield are the outsiders, more than likely will get pumped. I’ve been time keeper, goal umpire, umpire escort, love the Wolves.
Young bloke says “ go to Essendon dad, Arch is debuting, one of us has to be there and we are going to get pumped.”
GF would be different, what day do we play next week ?

Ok, some detail. Young Nick ran in Perth in November. (Can run the boy) My very good mate lives in Perth so it was a brilliant chance for a catch up. We lobbed in Perth and I’ve had the old gout/arthritis attack. I could barely walk, had a chance to watch Pikey in the last. Couldn’t do it. Couldn’t catch up with my mate. When your hobbling around like a cripple the worst thing you can do is get on the piss.
So I didn’t catch up with my mate. Didn’t call him because I knew the reaction I’d get. “ ** you, I’m coming to get you, ** the gout”
Come home,two weeks later ,mate rings, I was expecting it. Laid into me. Fair spray and fair enough, I deserved it, probably could’ve pushed my way through. Weak as piss, no argument.
So fast forward to this week. “ I’m coming over, we will be at Freo v Ess,you stitched me up last year”
Young blokes team plays this Sunday, a prelim, Lysterfield Wolves v Rowville hawks, yes I’m torn, if it was a GF no problem. But I do have this fairly impressive record of attending Essendon games. I have my mate breathing down my neck. In his defence he wanted to go to both.
Lysterfield are the outsiders, more than likely will get pumped. I’ve been time keeper, goal umpire, umpire escort, love the Wolves.
Young bloke says “ go to Essendon dad, Arch is debuting, one of us has to be there and we are going to get pumped.”
10th in the evening

So I didn’t catch up with my mate. Didn’t call him because I knew the reaction I’d get. “ ** you, I’m coming to get you, ** the gout”

Yeah... Nah.

Go to the kids game. Take your mate.

In footy you do not want to hit your peak too early. You need to time your run into finals and hit it with momentum. The time is perfect to go on a tear. It starts tomorrow for us.

I'm delusional.
Agree, I believe in Windy's son.

Nah. Windy's son more than likely had a messy bedroom. didn't clean the kitchen when asked, left his clothes all over the bathroom floor. Windy should go see the Dons if he feels like it.
Is my house being live streamed ?

Not for anyone to judge.. but I reckon most of us that bother to post regularly on a footy forum have probably planned our lives around the EFC schedule most of the time. That means missed family events, lame excuses and 'potentially' an angry spouse from time to time as we ride the rollercoaster.

For 20 years this footy club hasn't rewarded our faith, hasn't repaid our efforts and hasn't given anything in return. It is unlikely to change tomorrow.

Likely scenario is you will spend tomorrow sitting watching the bombers get smashed by Freo.. Scott trotting out more excuses and you knowing that you missed your son's prelim for absolutely no reason at all.

Not for anyone to judge.. but I reckon most of us that bother to post regularly on a footy forum have probably planned our lives around the EFC schedule most of the time. That means missed family events, lame excuses and 'potentially' an angry spouse from time to time as we ride the rollercoaster.

For 20 years this footy club hasn't rewarded our faith, hasn't repaid our efforts and hasn't given anything in return. It is unlikely to change tomorrow.

Likely scenario is you will spend tomorrow sitting watching the bombers get smashed by Freo.. Scott trotting out more excuses and you knowing that you missed your son's prelim for absolutely no reason at all.
…. And it was a chance to actually see what a preliminary final looks like 😎

does your kid play for Lysterfield under 12s?

maybe tell the coach to get them to dial it down a bit