Game Day Round 22, 2023: St.Kilda v Richmond *MADDIE'S MATCH*

Anyone else wondering what happened to the clubs effort in promoting Maddies Match? Or the Pride Game for that matter?

It's like they are a complete afterthought now and neither the club or the media care to promote them.

You hazard to think what will happen with it next year when Jack is no longer at Richmond.

Everything at stake today.

If we play anywhere near our best, we will win.

We will need to bring our best as it's a must win game for Richmond so I expect them to be desperate and play better than they did against the Dogs.

Thankfully this game is played at Marvel, if it was at the MCG Richmond would probably be favourites but we can't rely on the ground winning it for us.

If we can't beat this mob on our home deck then there we don't deserve to be in the finals regardless.

They have an aversion to playing at Marvel. Their fans don't turn up.

To be honest regardless of finals. We just have to win this. The captain actually has to step up. Gresh needs to hit targets.

Saying all of that. I won't be shocked if we **** it all up!

Can't see us winning today. Dusty has had a freshen up and I feel like their veterans will get the job done and keep themselves in the hunt. And to think we'll lose twice in the season to Mini Macqualter, who would be a Saints premiership player if he'd kicked accurately in the 2009 Grand Final.

I cannot understand how anyone can go and watch a game sitting with a friend going for the opposition team.
It is so far beyond the realm of possibility for me to do. I’d be such a sore loser it would probably kill the friendship.
Besides most of my friends are Blues supporters, which is definitely a bridge too far.
You'd think you'd be used to it by now being a Saints supporter mate

Any side we play in probably the first 10 positions on the ladder, which has quality in the midfield, will be a tough game to win- we are just so slow and fumble too much

I cannot understand how anyone can go and watch a game sitting with a friend going for the opposition team.
It is so far beyond the realm of possibility for me to do. I’d be such a sore loser it would probably kill the friendship.
Besides most of my friends are Blues supporters, which is definitely a bridge too far.

Lip biting and alcohol. Most of my mates banter about how much we hate each others teams and blame the umpiring for everything anyway. Most are pretty good natured. Last week we went at half time to see my brother in law who is a Carlton supporter. We were meant to catch up afterwards but I was in too much of a shit mood to talk to him so texted to tell him to **** off instead. At half time we were both trying to convince each other of why our own teams were going to lose. He was with mates that were Saints and Blues fans and were doing it too. Pretty funny.

The worst experience I had was going to that Dogs prelim finals game with free corporate tickets with the wife's senior partner at the law firm who was a Dogs powerbroker type. Rooey got that free kick and I nearly jumped out of the chair and started cheering. Had to sit like I was in church the whole time instead. One of the best games I've seen and couldn't enjoy a second of it externally. Everyone else in the area were Dogs supporters and sour as ****.

Most of my family are Blues supporters. I know your pain. They are the only joy I get from footy. Watching them flounder is pure schadenfreude and I fear our run of joy is coming to an end. I can handle getting jumped by just about anyone else but not them.

It's so hard to win from outside the top four though. They could easily end up playing Geelong and losing in week one of the finals

I reckon they look like the side that can do it. No-one else is playing close to their best at the moment. They have knocked off most of the top teams recently and look like a step up from them. Collingwood are the side everyone expects to win but they are vulnerable. Peaking early rarely work out in footy for some reason. They look certain to finish in 5th which is their only impediment. It's a long way to the premiership but they are 8 straight with the hardest part of their fixture in there.

Anyone else wondering what happened to the clubs effort in promoting Maddies Match? Or the Pride Game for that matter?

It's like they are a complete afterthought now and neither the club or the media care to promote them.

You hazard to think what will happen with it next year when Jack is no longer at Richmond.

I think it will stay in the fixture but it's not really a draw card game. It's a bit of fundraising for a cause like Spud's game. Looks a bit like the Police game against the Hawks. No one is coming just for the event. The pride game had about 5 minutes of interest where a few extra people turned up but footy doesn't really sit front of mind for most gay people. It's more a bogan novelty to most.

Ffs what a bunch of sad sacks you lot are

Meh Chelsea Peretti GIF by Brooklyn Nine-Nine

I think they trying to focus more on the game and less on the cause. Wasn’t that what was said in the review last year - that the causes (Maddies match, Spuds game, pride game) had over shadowed the actual game itself?

One of the more juicy subplots today will be how Steele performs, Ross appeared to send him a few messages in yesterdays presser, words to the effect of "Steele overplayed it a little bit", and looking to get Steele back to "his best", and the most poignant of comments was "just light us up a bit".

Hopefully he can respond and "light us up a bit" with some being first to the ball which will mean his tackle count will go down but at least if he can be first use of the ball and drive us forward with his kicking and also attack the goals when the opportunity presents.

Clearly Ross has put it on him so lets see how the Captain responds.

I'd also like to see us play the way we did in the last 20 mins of the 1st quarter against the Hawks and move the ball quickly and forward at all costs.

You'd think you'd be used to it by now being a Saints supporter mate
Yep but that’s why I have a reserved seat with 9 other Saints mates. If any of them can’t come I will invite other friends - but only ever Saints supporters,