Preview Round 22, 2023: St.Kilda v Richmond - Marvel Stadium, Sunday 13th August, 3:20PM AEST *MADDIE'S MATCH*

Who Wins?

• Saints

Votes: 32 66.7%
  • Tigers

Votes: 16 33.3%

Probably the wrong thread for this, but there is a whole generation of players drafted or recruited in a 3-4 year window that were completely Richo'd.

Think Billings, Dunstan, Weller, Acres, DMac, White, Ross, Newnes etc

All had strengths and talent. All were turned into the exactly the same vanilla, B/C grade plodders playing safe, boring, effort-based football.

To me, they are a collective of bland players that had no clear position or role. All character and instinct completely coached out of them

They just turned up and rolled out the same 10-20 disposal, zero impact games week after week after week
Funny thing with Richo is his strength when he was appointed was meant to be development of young players - should have done a better reference check!

Clark did **** his knee a few weeks back remember.
But that is in no way an excuse for the lack of a tank at this point in his career.

If we dumped Clark this off season would you really be concerned? I mean, really?

Bottom line is that he is an underperforming list clogger that is a reasonable player, but just at gop levels of averageness.

One more preseason away? Nah he's done. He has an excellent pair of hands and is a one touch player. But after watching his entire career, he is one of those guys that really looks like the effort is just not to the level. It would probably take shipping him off somewhere for an abhorrent second round pick or something to create that lightbulb moment for him to realise just how close to the fringe he is.

Gresham is the same. Just too many flaws.

For whatever reason, be it the procession of shit coaches, shit environments and shit culture across their careers, they have just not been able to take that next step.

These blokes are stamping their own papers. Maybe they just want to gtfo.

Either way, we need to stop hitching our wagons to these blokes that just cant get it done.

Petracca as well who is similar to Bont, two A grade bull midfielders that helped turn their struggling clubs around and we missed out on both of them.

Instead we got Billings who has been a massive disappointment and McCartin who may as well have been a rookie pick for all the good he did for us.
Gee mate you reckon we should have taken Bont and Petracca? Reckon you could be onto something here, has this been discussed previously?

Probably the wrong thread for this, but there is a whole generation of players drafted or recruited in a 3-4 year window that were completely Richo'd.

Think Billings, Dunstan, Weller, Acres, DMac, White, Ross, Newnes etc

All had strengths and talent. All were turned into the exactly the same vanilla, B/C grade plodders playing safe, boring, effort-based football.

To me, they are a collective of bland players that had no clear position or role. All character and instinct completely coached out of them

They just turned up and rolled out the same 10-20 disposal, zero impact games week after week after week

Probably a bit of that. We didn't have anyone training proper skills or much of a footy department to work on them but playing in poor sides with no reward probably beats the competitiveness out of you too.

JB deserves a spot over Gresh. But Seb needs to come in if fit. Change the midfield dynamic a bit. At least he can run out a game unlike Hunter.

Clark had 67% game time (total). and 1 disposal from 20min game time in the last quarter!!

Deserves to be dropped
Hardly Billy no mates on that front.

I know for a fact that if we had not taken Billings @3, the Dogs would have.
Obviously Bont is better but I give the recruiters, at the time, some slack on that.

Paddy over Petracca was inexcusable on the night and still is.

On SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app

I’ve delved a little deeper into Clark.

He is clearly no where near fit enough aerobically for AFL footy.

Last month of footy

GC - 36% game time (wasn’t even sub or subbed)

North - 60% game time and 1 last qtr disposal from (70% tog)

Hawks - 67% game time

Carlton - 67% game time and 1 last qtr disposal from (77% tog)

There’s clearly a reason for this.
Dim sims?

I know for a fact that if we had not taken Billings @3, the Dogs would have.
Obviously Bont is better but I give the recruiters, at the time, some slack on that.

Paddy over Petracca was inexcusable on the night and still is.

On SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app

It was well known long before the night. So your talking crap.

People talking about Billings.... Gresham has been putrid and he still gets games.

I'd much rather see Billings picked. I'd trust him to hit up a 30 metre pass to a player on his own inside 50.
💯

Clark did * his knee a few weeks back remember.
But that is in no way an excuse for the lack of a tank at this point in his career.

If we dumped Clark this off season would you really be concerned? I mean, really?

Bottom line is that he is an underperforming list clogger that is a reasonable player, but just at gop levels of averageness.

One more preseason away? Nah he's done. He has an excellent pair of hands and is a one touch player. But after watching his entire career, he is one of those guys that really looks like the effort is just not to the level. It would probably take shipping him off somewhere for an abhorrent second round pick or something to create that lightbulb moment for him to realise just how close to the fringe he is.

For whatever reason, be it the procession of s**t coaches, s**t environments and s**t culture across their careers, they have just not been able to take that next step.

Either way, we need to stop hitching our wagons to these blokes that just cant get it done.

100%

People talking about Billings.... Gresham has been putrid and he still gets games.

I'd much rather see Billings picked. I'd trust him to hit up a 30 metre pass to a player on his own inside 50.

you realise they play different positions?

He can't roll through the midfield. If we weren't struggling on ball I reckon he'd be out and JB might be a chance. He's more high half forward though and so competing with Phillipou and Owens types and possibly Membrey. Billings is going to have to work hard and wait for opportunity. Don't mind that to be honest.

Play Owens in the midfield

It's pretty simple really

Play Owens in the midfield

It's pretty simple really

They have been lately but he seems to fade after bursts. Doesn't look ready to play more than spurts through there. Richmond have so many ball winners inside now. We are going to have to roll players through. Hopefully Seb takes a more defensive role so that we free up Steele.

He's better than Gresham in there

Gee mate you reckon we should have taken Bont and Petracca? Reckon you could be onto something here, has this been discussed previously?

Yeah I know it's a cold take, we can't all have hot takes like Kane Cornes.

My Kane Cornes hot take is that we should look at trading Steele for a first rounder to see if we can get a gun young midfielder like Rozee or Butters.

Clark did * his knee a few weeks back remember.

For whatever reason, be it the procession of s**t coaches, s**t environments and s**t culture across their careers, they have just not been able to take that next step.

Agree completely. Clark is as good as he will ever be.

Will be out of the AFL within 3-5 years. Will go on to have an incredible county footy career, and will be a complete blimp shortly after.

We should just get our draft picks right. Mitch Lewis (pick 76) was the last pick in his draft and he's better than Max King. Tim Membrey was the last pick in his draft. Johnno O'Rourke was pick 2 in that draft....he played 21 games over 2 clubs. Jimmy Toumpas was pick 4 that year.

Paddy McCartin was a fat diabetic undersized tall forward with an inaccurate set shot. Collingwood in that same draft took Jordan DeGoey, Darcy Moore, Brayden Maynard. We took Paddy, Hugh Goddard, Dmac and Lonie. Melbourne Petracca, Brayshaw, Neale-Bullen and Oscar Mc Donald.
Pass me the Envy Poison

That is true, but to his credit, Gresham has x factor, his involvements are as likely to result in Saints goals as they are to be turned over. I'm not a fan but he gets involved, is fast and makes things happen.

The last time I remember anything that NILlings did was that snap from a deft Ryder tap in a game last year. He is he very definition of a a GOP. Pick 3 faaaaaaaaaaaarkinell