Preview Round 22, 2024: Carlton v Hawthorn, Sun 11 August, 1.10pm AEST @ MCG

Weddle might be exposed again on Curnow this week- massive worry

It’s the midfield that will win this for us. If we limit Carlton’s supply then Curnow can only do so much damage. And if we can maximise our own supply, then we can limit their options with good scoreboard pressure.

That’s been our winning formula the last few months. Win the contested ball, limit their forward opportunities, score quickly to make them take more risks and make it easier for our midfield to win the contested ball. Rinse and repeat.

If a team gets through our midfield too easily (be it defensive play as per Port or just plain outclassing us for a quarter as per GWS) then they get too many opportunities and we get in trouble as we leak scores a bit too much when the ball does get back.

I’m not worried about Curnow, personally. I’ll have my eyes on the evenness and consistency of the our midfielders. If we’re getting on top of the ball and Cripps and Walsh aren’t as much, then we’re golden. (Do Carlton have any mids other than Cripps and Walsh?). If, on the other hand, we don’t have all the mids contributing and the tackle pressure everywhere, then we’re in for a struggle.

It’s the midfield that will win this for us. If we limit Carlton’s supply then Curnow can only do so much damage. And if we can maximise our own supply, then we can limit their options with good scoreboard pressure.

That’s been our winning formula the last few months. Win the contested ball, limit their forward opportunities, score quickly to make them take more risks and make it easier for our midfield to win the contested ball. Rinse and repeat.

If a team gets through our midfield too easily (be it defensive play as per Port or just plain outclassing us for a quarter as per GWS) then they get too many opportunities and we get in trouble as we leak scores a bit too much when the ball does get back.

I’m not worried about Curnow, personally. I’ll have my eyes on the evenness and consistency of the our midfielders. If we’re getting on top of the ball and Cripps and Walsh aren’t as much, then we’re golden. (Do Carlton have any mids other than Cripps and Walsh?). If, on the other hand, we don’t have all the mids contributing and the tackle pressure everywhere, then we’re in for a struggle.
also I think our forward pressure needs to get back to what they were doing (or being allowed to do) - it was just streaming out of our backline in the last quarter vs Giants, so frustrating.

i.e. if not marking/ goaling from KPFs, then bring to ground and smalls keep it locked in

Analysis about Carlton I've heard in the last few weeks is that they are poor at defending scores from stoppage.

Looking at some relevant stats, over the past 5 weeks:

Carlton have conceded the most scores from stoppages of any team. And the second most (after North) from centre clearances.

In their favour is they've been 4th best at preventing scores from turnovers which is our main way of scoring.

How do replacement games work in terms of revenue for Hawks? Do we get a portion or do the Hawks pay to the home team for any members who attend?

Still showing GA tix from $16 on Ticketek website mate.

Heaps going if you want to pay more.

Hawks members still ok for a GA entry - no way this gets 100,000 sell out on a Sunday arvo slot.

I'd probably not leave it to 5 mins before bounce down though.
Just checked and GA allocation is showing as all sold out on Ticketek website (and what a piece of c..p that website is by the way).

Will be an absolutely massive crowd this Sunday, will easily beat the record for a H&A match between these two sides I predict.

also I think our forward pressure needs to get back to what they were doing (or being allowed to do) - it was just streaming out of our backline in the last quarter vs Giants, so frustrating.

i.e. if not marking/ goaling from KPFs, then bring to ground and smalls keep it locked in
Some of that streaming out of defence by gws in that last quarter was from dubious umpiring decisions and non decisions.

Just checked and GA allocation is showing as all sold out on Ticketek website (and what a piece of c..p that website is by the way).

Will be an absolutely massive crowd this Sunday, will easily beat the record for a H&A match between these two sides I predict.
Should be able to access tickets with a membership barcode of either team.

How do replacement games work in terms of revenue for Hawks? Do we get a portion or do the Hawks pay to the home team for any members who attend?
We pay Carlton the GA fee (the $27 discount that members receive when buying a ticket). So, if 20k Hawks members go, it costs the club about half a million.

God I hope we bounce back and bounce back hard. I'm not so stressed about missing finals if we do, but I'd hate to go out of our final two "really important" game with whimpers. I wouldn't know what to think going into next year!
Are you referring to GWS as one of the two games?

If so, I'd say we ran out of steam which is what happens at the back end of a season with a young group. But when you add the shorter breaks compared to your opponents plus back to back road trips (which no-one except for us ever have) you can really understand the result.

Buy saying we went out without a whimper is a little unfair.

Ward omitted.

Ins are Mackenzie, Serong, Maginness and Morrison.
Predictable out, if Cam comes in and has an average game, he will probably be out next week. It seems as soon as either of them have a poor performance, they are gone. Ward didn’t even get 1 CBA last week. CJ on the other hand gets multiple free passes.

Would like to see good consistent lower level form over time rewarded with Maginness and Morrison in. Sends the right message to those fighting for spots. Fully expect instead it’s Mackenzie for Ward. Not to say Mackenzie hasn’t played well but the others have done it for longer. Would also like Maginness to run them ragged as a 2 way defensive forward. Worrying times for Ward needs to be settled as a mid and have a huge pre season.

He's 20yo mate and has a lot of decent competition fighting for the same spot as him so he's got time. The pressure will start after the upcoming offseason to see how much he's improved compared to all the others. I don't think he's declined but rather has just struggled to replicate his form at BH in the 1s.