Autopsy Round 5, 2022: Hawks skin the Cats

On Miers, does anyone else get a mental image of a sand wedge whenever he kicks? So much shallow leg swing, so little penetration.

Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk
He looks and plays like a suburban footballer. The way he kicks is how I used to kick the ball in the Ressies 15 years ago. Doing very well with the limitations he has TBH.

He’s a ripper bloke and will be welcomed back to the club anytime. I never begrudge a player taking the financial security given the chances of long term injury.
He chose GEELONG. That's what he did, not financial gain, not security, GEELONG!

Reckon the posters bagging Hodge’s commentary are being a bit precious. Think he is one of the few who just calls the game and doesn’t crap on about how great Hawkins, Selwood and Danger are the whole game.

Gave credit where it was due without going overboard like Huddo or Dwayne. Also highlighted things Cats did well which he should do.

Even Ling (who was an absolute flog last week questioning every free kick we got) wasn’t too bad.
Hodgey was just wearing his commentator hat. He's just being professional.
I do remember last year he was getting frustrated in one of our games at tactics we had. He let his hawk side show a bit then.

On SM-G950F using BigFooty.com mobile app

What a joke.

Yeah, that’ll learn him. He won’t be ”exaggerating“ any more, will he? 😏
An action that does far more damage to umpire’s respect and the game than pointing to the scoreboard and the AFL ticked it off. Tantamount to cheating just like Selwood throwing his arms out after dropping the ball. Free kick to Selwood and 50 against Phillips for “dissent”.

The AFL are aiding and abetting these acts are are responsible for the demise of this game.

Reckon the posters bagging Hodge’s commentary are being a bit precious. Think he is one of the few who just calls the game and doesn’t crap on about how great Hawkins, Selwood and Danger are the whole game.

Gave credit where it was due without going overboard like Huddo or Dwayne. Also highlighted things Cats did well which he should do.

Even Ling (who was an absolute flog last week questioning every free kick we got) wasn’t too bad.
Did anyone hear Hodgey shit stir Ling when we were coming over the top of them?. " How you going over there Lingy?" Was piss funny. Ling was borderline about to say " Yeah rack off Hodgey", He loves his Hawks. Don't mistake his commentary for anything else other than frustration at what we should be doing. Almost like a supporter would.

It felt so good to be on the right end of another tight easter monday classic.

To smash them early and then run over them late was great to watch. Our supporters found their voice after the Hawkins dive and the atmosphere was amazing.

Duke announced himself. Not only to the masses but also to the hawks faithful as our new spiritual leader. Our next 'Hodgey'. Bit rough around the edges but as hard and courageous as any. His kicking is hit and miss. If he can start to hit more than he misses he'll be a hell of a player.

Such a shame about Reeves he was so dominant before going down. Was set for a breakout game also.
His kicking is actually good. It's the decision making that lets him down at times. He fixes that up and it will elevate him as a player. Scott actually showed respect to the kid and the influence he was having by shifting Selwood onto him yesterday. Clearly a plan to try and draw Jai into a more defensive role and focus on Selwood. Didn't work Jai still did his own thing.

I think Holmes is going to be a good player. Looked easily the best of their younger players yesterday. The issue is their other younger type players like Parfitt and Miers are decent players but are not players you can rely on to turn games for the team. There just middle of the road type players who in poor teams will not have the same impact there having in Geelongs ATM. They need more Holmes and De Koning types coming through to help arrest the slide that is inevitably coming.
Miers is a shit truck - would not get a game at Hawthorn

Rewatching the final QTR and boy do McDonald and Ward have some composure.

All our Mids tend to be trigger happy with long bombs except Mitchell to an extent and McDonald and Ward just make the right decision at the right time.

Also loved Ward getting around Jai have that howler of a defensive 50 kick in the last, shows strong leadership and I maintain Sicily as our next captain and Ward as the successor.

Also shoutout yo Kozi and Nash. Playing against Stanley and Blicavs and not genuine ruckman but held their own and tougher it out. Just like Reeves against Marshall and Ryder, our young players have sone toughness about them and you love to see that spirit

His kicking is actually good. It's the decision making that lets him down at times. He fixes that up and it will elevate him as a player. Scott actually showed respect to the kid and the influence he was having by shifting Selwood onto him yesterday. Clearly a plan to try and draw Jai into a more defensive role and focus on Selwood. Didn't work Jai still did his own thing.
I agree his kicking is good, very good in my view. I also agree it's decision making at times, but also composure that will come with more experience. Josh Ward a bit the same, very good kick, needs more experience / composure that will take time. Can't buy experience, tracking nicely at this early stage

Hodgey was just wearing his commentator hat. He's just being professional.
I do remember last year he was getting frustrated in one of our games at tactics we had. He let his hawk side show a bit then.

On SM-G950F using BigFooty.com mobile app
If I recall it was to do with slow ball movement and the fact no one on the ground was taking responsibility for changing things up.

Autopsy Round 5, 2022: Hawks skin the Cats