Thanks. Then it was poor form by the poster suggesting that.Smith wasn’t even on the end of season trip in question.
I am pretty sure that the umpire that paid that free also had complete line of site of Jai getting head high contact later in the game and let it go.As I posted on the main board, I can take an umpiring mistake, just as I can take player mistakes, that's life in a sport contested by humans. However, Hawkins' stage was so obvious, how could three umpires not see it? How could all three umpires lack the perception as to not see it?
This is a big issue. For the most part players will adapt and curb what they call their "spontaneous insticts". However the moment a player won't maintain control will be precisiley when the absolute shocker is given at a crucial moment, and the follow up 50 will just exaggerate the initial umpire howler.And rather than take the players protest as “mmm maybe I got that wrong”, they belligerently double down and give a ridiculous 50. Infuriating everyone. It’s unacceptable.
Now that the Scott brothers have doubled down on the rules being clear and hunky dory I want to know why Sicily didn't get a second 50m penalty when Hawkins approached the umpire and raised his arms in protest.
Could have iced the game earlier, been good for my SC team, probably provided another Chris Scott meme but importantly been a consistent decion.
This is key for me. Given this is the case, why do players say or do anything in response to a decision? it is simply a waste of energy and headspace, focus on what you‘re out there to do.I have a mate who is part of the umpiring fraternity (not a field umpire I must point out).
We were discussing all of this last night.
Everybody knows the golden rule is that an umpire won't change their mind on a decision. This should be exploited by them IMO. The biggest frustration is when they try and explain why a free kick was or wasn't paid when it was obviously incorrect. The amount of respect that would creep into the game for umpires from fans and players alike if, in the Tom Hawkins situation, rather than say 'umpire dissent, 50!" when Tom Mitchell points to the big screen at the obviously incorrect call is to say 'I may have gotten that wrong. We'll address it in our review. I can't change it now'.
Brilliant post! Absolutely agree. Act like a grown up if you want to be treated like one.I have a mate who is part of the umpiring fraternity (not a field umpire I must point out).
We were discussing all of this last night.
Everybody knows the golden rule is that an umpire won't change their mind on a decision. This should be exploited by them IMO. The biggest frustration is when they try and explain why a free kick was or wasn't paid when it was obviously incorrect. The amount of respect that would creep into the game for umpires from fans and players alike if, in the Tom Hawkins situation, rather than say 'umpire dissent, 50!" when Tom Mitchell points to the big screen at the obviously incorrect call is to say 'I may have gotten that wrong. We'll address it in our review. I can't change it now'.
This is key for me. Given this is the case, why do players say or do anything in response to a decision? it is simply a waste of energy and headspace, focus on what you‘re out there to do.
I am pretty sure that the umpire that paid that free also had complete line of site of Jai getting head high contact later in the game and let it go.
Geelong have been sooking about decisions and collectively, intentionally trying to influence umpires for the last decade or so.
It's actually worked to a large extent.
I hate seeing players concerned with umpiring. I like Jai Newcombe's approach to footy. Goes hard. Gets his head ripped off, keeps going. Has no idea where the umpire is, just keeps at it.
Compared to other players who cop a slightly high tackle and whip their head around to where the umpire is pleading for free kicks. And then wave their arms around when they don't get one.
If this new rule weeds out that second type of player then good. I'm happy about it.
If the new rule instead weeds out players genuinely asking for clarification then I'm not happy about it.
This will be an unpopular take - but what were Gunston and Mitchell hoping to achieve? They were clearly saying to the umpire it was a bullshit call. They weren't asking for clarification so they could better engage in the next contest. They were pointing out bullshit. I would much rather they didn't.
2 experienced players and 1 of which is a Brownlow medallist both expressing confusion or seeking clarity on a decision made that appeared to be wrong.but what were Gunston and Mitchell hoping to achieve? They were clearly saying to the umpire it was a bullshit call. They weren't asking for
2 experienced players and 1 of which is a Brownlow medallist both expressing confusion or seeking clarity on a decision made that appeared to be wrong.
If the AFL want to set an example about dissent towards umps won't be tolerated and if that includes raising of arms (what next, eyebrows?) Perhaps they should get to the source of the dissent or questioning of the umps and have them make better decisions?
Not me, I was taught from a very young age that you've gotta get down low and put your head over it.Think we're all guilty of that, mate!
Part of the issue is, umpires never reverse a decision even when they're blatantly wrong. I don't mind them making the wrong call in the moment, it's not an easy job and they can't see everything. If, however, they look at the replay, see it's wrong and still stick with it, then that's just puts players and fans more offside. I don't see an issue whatsoever with Mitchell and Gunston going "Hey, look at this, maybe you need to revise the call". Penalizing them 50m is the wrong solution and only makes umpires more hated. How can you possibly show them more respect when they act beyond reproach? Respect is earned, not demanded.This will be an unpopular take - but what were Gunston and Mitchell hoping to achieve? They were clearly saying to the umpire it was a bullshit call. They weren't asking for clarification so they could better engage in the next contest. They were pointing out bullshit. I would much rather they didn't.
I disagree, senior players should have the ability to call out bullshit calls, it could have cost us the game and the umpires are at this point inept at identifying right from wrong, so the ability to communicate that Hawkins is floating in the air like a fairy should be allowed, to not have that allows for the umpires to continue with the bullshit on the dayGeelong have been sooking about decisions and collectively, intentionally trying to influence umpires for the last decade or so.
It's actually worked to a large extent.
I hate seeing players concerned with umpiring. I like Jai Newcombe's approach to footy. Goes hard. Gets his head ripped off, keeps going. Has no idea where the umpire is, just keeps at it.
Compared to other players who cop a slightly high tackle and whip their head around to where the umpire is pleading for free kicks. And then wave their arms around when they don't get one.
If this new rule weeds out that second type of player then good. I'm happy about it.
If the new rule instead weeds out players genuinely asking for clarification then I'm not happy about it.
The decisions made. Pretty much no ump ever looks up at the big screen, they just get on with the game. And they definitely can’t change any decision based on a tv replay.Part of the issue is, umpires never reverse a decision even when they're blatantly wrong. I don't mind them making the wrong call in the moment, it's not an easy job and they can't see everything. If, however, they look at the replay, see it's wrong and still stick with it, then that's just puts players and fans more offside. I don't see an issue whatsoever with Mitchell and Gunston going "Hey, look at this, maybe you need to revise the call". Penalizing them 50m is the wrong solution and only makes umpires more hated. How can you possibly show them more respect when they act beyond reproach? Respect is earned, not demanded.
If I'm a player I wouldn't question the decision. I'd now just ask the umpire that going forward that it will be paid for all.The decisions made. Pretty much no ump ever looks up at the big screen, they just get on with the game. And they definitely can’t change any decision based on a tv replay.
Players also need to get on with it. Just focus on winning the ball at the next play. Sometimes the umps decision goes against us, sometimes it goes our way. It’s just the way AFL is.
The only thing the players should focus on is what they can control.
Certain players or teams might get lucky with the umps. But I can’t see what gesturing to an umpire is going to do about it. Apart from give up a 50.
Accepting the way it is is what makes it so broken. Controlling players' hand movements is not a good direction for the game. We're not talking about a 50/50 HTB decision here.The decisions made. Pretty much no ump ever looks up at the big screen, they just get on with the game. And they definitely can’t change any decision based on a tv replay.
Players also need to get on with it. Just focus on winning the ball at the next play. Sometimes the umps decision goes against us, sometimes it goes our way. It’s just the way AFL is.
The only thing the players should focus on is what they can control.
Certain players or teams might get lucky with the umps. But I can’t see what gesturing to an umpire is going to do about it. Apart from give up a 50.